We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tromso Center for Contemporary Art
Open today: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great space. Interesting art

Was nice to go to a free exhibition . Exhibition Seemed very local to Norway. Some great pieces... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2018
MHBOS10
,
Tromso, Norway
A decent small museum

There is no admission charge to visit. The collection is very diverse from older pieces to very... read more

Reviewed January 25, 2018
Kciff
,
Kathmandu, Nepal
Read all 48 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tromso
from $119.37
More Info
from $149.21
More Info
from $225.60
More Info
from $225.60
More Info
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
14
16
9
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
16
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visited this museum small museum worth a visit exhibition collection
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 48 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Interesting trilogy of movies showing but you had to be a contemporary art lover to be fully captivated. We sat through one. The 1865-built building was the original museum, has lovely big rooms & a nice view from the front.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank GnAW480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

We stopped by here because it was one of the tourist places recommended by Hotel staff. At first we thought it was an Art museum, but there was no Art Painting nor sculptures. It is not a standard museum you have in mind. We walked up to second floor and there are a couple short films were played. Very slow motion stories played in black and white by a contemporary film maker. We tried to watch it for few minutes but it took us to no where. Gave up within 15 minutes.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Bonita_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Ok when we went the exhibition was video based whilst I found it perhaps difficult to follow my wife, she has studied art, followed the theme of the two videos we watched and explained to me, entry is free and I assume it's pot luck as to what the exhibition is when you go, gallery is not open everyday so worth checking before you walk there.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016

I am a stranger to Norweigen art, the one Munch being the only recognised name, however some good naturalistic pieces. It was unfortunate that quite a lot of it was closed

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Reuchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

We did not even plan to go to but somehow found ourselves inside and it turned out fun and surprisingly interesting, exhibiting the final MA projects of Tromso's art students. Probably not a highlight as such but BY FAR better than the Polar Museum in Tromso which is just a catastrophe (that costs 6 EUR).

My advice

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank pieush2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews