We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was very good, but not the very best ;)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Aurora

Restaurant Aurora
Ranked #67 of 110 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A la carte restaurant with table service. International cuisine (Radisson SAS Hotel)
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It was very good, but not the very best ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had lunch in this restaurant with their 'menu of the day' which was beef steak for 195 NOK. Well, the decor is spacious and nice. The potato bread was really good, portion size of the steak was very good considering Norway ;) the taste was good, but not the best! Then the coffee included in the price came with a piece of chocolate which was really nice. Waiters are nice :)

A la carte menu mostly consists fish and costs around 300.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable. Before 7pm specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Dining out in Tromso is a very expensive affair. Most mains were usually above NOK 250 and higher. For a while we wondered if we were going to settle for our Hotel Amalie’s supper of soup, bread and eggs for NOK 75 each night. So we were delighted on our 2nd night to find that the Aurora Restaurant next door had mains and coffee at NOK200 if we ate before 7pm.

Our visit was on 7 & 8 December when many of the other restaurants were fully booked - anyway their prices were also pretty high and so what we experienced at the Aurora "before 7pm" special was considered reasonable for Tromso.

We had 2 very pleasant dining experiences in this restaurant and didn't encounter the negatives which the other reviewers wrote about. The staff esp Saber and another lady were very friendly with us so that made our dining on both nights very pleasant.

If you face Hotel Amalie, the restaurant is the building on the left (part of the Radisson Blu hotel) But from the outside where they placed the menu, the place looks closed and uninviting. You need to enter the door and go up the stairs to get to the restaurant. Once we saw the restaurant, we were really pleased with the spaciousness of it. This entrance door was not the same entrance as their main hotel door.

It wasn’t rowdy or noisy during our visit and we liked the very spacious feel and enjoyed the quieter surroundings. We made reservations for both nights.

The menu before 7pm is a set meal and changes daily. There is only one choice and it includes a mug of coffee. Its best to ask for the coffee as they didn't serve it automatically after our meal. You can also order from the ala carte if you wish but that obviously means a higher price tag. We also tried one of their desserts from the ala carte- quite expensive but very good. Sorry Cant remember the name but please see the photos I posted.

On friday and sat when we were there, they served a very tasty black pepper steak (about 190gms) with interesting sides like mushrooms and nicely cooked potatoes. The sauce is excellent! I

We didn't stay in Tromso long enough to try their special before 7pm meals on other days but would definitely have done so if we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worn out...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Traditional hotel dining room.
The menu needs to be renewed.
The staff needs to be renewed. They all seems to have been working here for a long time, and nothing ever happened. Some people came, some people ordered some food, and some people ate what they were served, paid and left.

Hello! Where's the inspiration???????????????

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank knutmosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best price performance in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pretentious setup and service, food was quite good, but the surprise came with the bill! The other restaurant in Tromso had much better price/performance ratio.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had breakfast here (it's part of Radisson Blu) and while breakfast was OK to good, I'd probably not want to eat here for the food and the views aren't that good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Aurora also viewed

 
Tromso, Troms
 

Been to Restaurant Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing