We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethereal concert”
Review of Arctic Cathedral

Arctic Cathedral
Ranked #9 of 85 things to do in Tromso
South Bend, IN
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ethereal concert”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our concert performance included a broad spectrum of musical pieces from Norwegian folk music to the tried and true classical. We came by bus from our Hertigruten tour boat, aka ferry, but a very comfortable one. The performers included a vocalist, a celloist, and a keyboardist/composer.The first piece was organ. No performer was at the front of the church. Rather, the organ was heard from behind us at the back of the church. Beautiful experience. Except for the person in front of me who kept standing and taking a flash photo. Well worth the fee and late night participation (midnight).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    810
    534
    118
    46
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stunning church from the outside”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We walked across the bridge from the main town to see the church and go up the cable car, which is very easy to do. The church is one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful modernist church i've seen and the way the sun hit it is very special. Unfortunately the church is surrounded by roads and when we got there it was closed without any signage about visiting times or even a clear front door, so we didn't get to see inside which was disappointing. If you're going to the cable car which I recommend then go and see it, but otherwise just appreciate it from a far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful building best approached on foot across the bridge”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Arctic Cathedral is well worth a visit, especially if you walk across the bridge towards it. The architecture is stunning and there's a small display of photographs about the construction downstairs near the toilets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric concert”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited the cathedral at night for a concert. Building is stark inside but looks great from outside when all the internal lights are on. It is situated in a good place for viewing other areas of Tromso.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fairynuff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice views from the Arctic Cathedral”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There was no cost to enter--a definite plus. The inside provides lots of windows an interesting angles for photography. If you turn back and look west at the city, there are more interesting camera shots. We took a city bus, which made stops at both the Fjellheisen cablecar and the Arctic Cathedral.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lvaldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Arctic Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing