We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
106
139
45
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
106
139
45
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles northern lights tea and coffee facilities budget room large suitcases visitor center decent selection tourist information office souvenir shops luggage storage stayed for one night bathroom floor is heated single room the radisson blu free wifi small hotel common areas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 302 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019

We came in winter - high season - and the hotel was over booked, so they did not have any problem in take our room. We went out from the hotel in the morning to enjoy en tour and arrive back in the evening. When we arrive we got surprise when they told us we did not have en room any more, they took all our things out our room and pack them and give the room to another person. My husband was sick and we had to look for a new place to stay in the evening, reining on winter.
Besides that, the cleanest of the place was terrible, they just made your bed, bud don't clean anything.
We understand that employees can make mistakes the problem is how you manage when something unexpected happen. My worst experience ever.
Besides our room was located with view outside and we heard all noise from there. One of the nights there was a car with problems and we had to heard the fixing and starting the car for more than one hour in the middle of the night.

Room tip: try to get a room inside, the one that we had was out and we can hear noisy from out side.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinam209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

This hotel is cheaper than some of the others in Tromso, however it is more than adequate. We arrived to a friendly welcome from the reception staff, had a comfortable night and a great breakfast the following day.
The hotel staff are friendly and the central location is perfect for exploring - don't forget to have the waffles at 6pm in the afternoon - lovely touch.
Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rachael_browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnterAmalie, Public Relations Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Amalie, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Thank you for your kind words, we very much appreciate it. And an extra thank you from the staff! Welcome back at any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

You decide to go see the Northern Lights and search online for the best places to do so, and Tromso is one of them. First keep in mind that Norway is probably more expensive than other countries you might have visited, so a 3 star hotel might not be as affordable.

Let's look at different angles :

Proximity : A minute's walk to the corniche from one side, and a minute's walk to the main street in the city center from the other. All tour offices and souvenir shops, restos and pubs, are within 5 minutes. There is a bus stop right across the 6 meter wide street, and that'll take you to and from the airport (20 minutes), and almost around the whole city center, if you hop on BUS 42. A one day pass (exactly 24 hours from issuance time) for all buses is around 30 USD (again its is an expensive country). All tours (Northern lights, Fjords photography , reindeer sled tours..... etc ) will charge you extra to pick you up if the hotel is out of the city center, and this one saves you that extra charge.

Facility : Clean, nice and comfy, and spacious enough. We booked a double budget room and it was more than enough for our bags and our stuff. The bathroom was well cleaned and well maintained (no leakage, no broken tiles, no broken shower tub edges,or black spots in the insulation). It was windy outside and our room was quiet enough for us to sleep through the night. At an outside temp of -5 C and no radiator unit turned on in the room, i was feeling warm to the point of sleeping in my undies, half covered .

Food : Breakfast was really good, with a good variety of cut meat and hot dishes to choose from (the sausages were super tasty), and all you need to prepare a small salad, plus jams and sauces and 5 types of bread to choose from. 4 types of juice were available, plus tea and coffee and hot chocolate (cocoa powder).
Everyday from 18:00 to 20:00, they offer you the chance to make your own waffles for free in the restaurant.

Staff : they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, and answered my many many.....many questions about the city , the transport, the things to do. The kitchen staff will greet you and help with whatever they can during breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnterAmalie, Public Relations Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Amalie, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Dear Ralph,

Tahank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate your feedback. And may I just say, answering your many questions was our pleasure, that's why we are here, after all! You're welcome back at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

I knew spending in Tromsø would be expensive so I took a punt on Enter Amalie as it was one of the cheaper hotels in the area. The photos make it look shabby but it's actually quite nice. Best of all the location is perfect. Popular shopping streets and our tour meet-up points were all a short walk away. Whenever I emailed Enter Amalie before arriving they replied instantly, and the people who work at the front desk are friendly. If you visit Tromsø you must stay here, your wallet will thank you later!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Munchaussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnterAmalie, Public Relations Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Amalie, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear guest,

Thnak you so much for your kind words! We're aware of the percieved shabbiness, as you put it, and we're taking steps to remedy the situation. Thank you again for your fedback, and we hope you had a great stay both with us and in Tromsø in general!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

It’s a petite hotel with very hospitable reception and helpful staffs. Check in is very convenient and payment is easy.
Breakfast serves are value for money in a cosy settings.
Rooms are good enough for couple and 2 kids ( with bunk bed ). However, housekeeping can be improved.
Coffee and tea supplies were not replenished and floors not swept. Beds are made and folded properly. Glasses used will not be changed. I think may only be done upon check out ( the 3rd day).
We didn’t asked the front desk if a proper cleaning and replenishing of coffee and tea though we find it sub standard. Generally we were out most of the time and we are easy travelers.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Innerman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnterAmalie, Public Relations Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Amalie, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it! We will take the matters you've raised to the management. We hope your stay in Tromsø is a nice memory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews