We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norway hospitality”
Review of Enter Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enter Amalie Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We picked the Amalie for an overnight in Tromso based on the reviews we read on TA. The hotel was just as described, warm and friendly, good sized rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, etc etc. but best of all was the extremely helpful and pleasant staff. They took time at check in to acquaint us with Tromso and point is in the direction of the tourist office, and before we ventured out showed us how to make warm waffles (complimentary, as was the tea and coffee). Breakfast was as good as anynof themlarger hotels we stayed in, and if,possible the four or five selections of bread, even fresher and more delicious. Without asking for a late checkout the next day, the owner suggested we keep our room until just before our departure via the Hurtigruten. We recommend the Amalie highly.
PS. The hotel is locatednjustntwo blocks from the hurtigruten dock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Small but cosy hotel, perfectly located in the center of Tromso. Rooms are clean, with enough space for some luggage. Bathroom is quite small, but usable. Sadly, no bidet in it. Curtains don't obscure completely, sleeping in summer could be difficult for light sleepers. Oversized cushion, uncomfortable.
Very friendly staff, breakfast adequate, easy parking nearby, although not free.
Despite a few cons, I would probably return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after spending 2 days in Sommaroy. Amalie has a great location in the city centre. Best of all, it's opposite the airport bus stop, so getting to the airport was not a problem at all. There are lots of eateries around the location as well,
The rooms are small and basic but has everything you need.
What i like is that we can have waffles in the afternoon in the cafe.
Price is reasonable as well. Will certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doraexplorer008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The summer is not high season in Tromsø, and for 695 crowns, this was a bargain. The room was relatively big, had a spacey bath room, a desk, a small table and even a glimse of the Tromsø sound out the window.

I hadn't been in Tromsø for years, and wondered where it might be. I came with the bus, and it's 100 steps from the bus terminal. It's also close to the harbour, the Hurtigruta terminal and the 1,5 shopping streets.

A standard breakfast (which f.y.i. is rather ample in Norwegian hotels), well made. Good coffee. Very helpful staff, as is the norm in North Norway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice little basic hotel, if a bit outdated indoors. Breakfast buffet was good, rooms comfortable. Centrally located for Tromso, yet in a reasonably quiet location when it comes to traffic noise.

If you are looking for just a bed and a breakfast, and get a good price for this, then it'll do the job.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J0hnDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great little hotel. The rooms (I had a single) are a bit small, but everything is there and it is very comfortable. Wifi in all areas although it works best downstairs in the lobby (for picture uploads etc.). Breakfast, now that's something to write home about: great variety, very flavorful. And they will serve it early for those who have to leave early. In general, the stuff is very friendly and accommodating, happy to answer questions, etc. Also, they provide free tea/coffee in the rooms as well as downstairs in the evening. And free waffles in the afternoon, a perfect pick-me-up. The location is great too, right in downtown, on the water, close to everything and the views are awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here mid March for a weekend. It was closely located to the bus from the airport and close to Rica hotel where a lot of activity pick ups are. We arrived early but allowed us to keep our luggage in the luggage room which is appreciated.

Rooms itself were clean and comfortable. Fridge and kettle (with sugar, tea, milk etc) was available. Bathrooms were tiny but had everything you needed.

Breakfast was good as well as the waffles in the afternoon were really yummy!

One thing that was disappointing was when in reception, one of the staff was telling another guest that the northern lights tours were a waste of money, especially when you can see the lights in town. This was when we were sitting in the lobby area, waiting for out tour.... Didn't like that at all!

Despite that, the actual hotel was great.

Some tips! Ask for a room on the 5th floor. We were lucky to get a corner room and had some great views.
Also if you are coming via the airport, by a return ticket, it's much cheaper.
Have a drink at the Rica Hotel at night if you get a chance. The view is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#7 of 18 in Tromso
588 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#6 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Amalie Hotel

Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $105 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Enter Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing