We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amalie Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Room: Stayed 3 nights in a budget double room. Small comfortable room with wardrobe, desk, modern TV, mini bar, fridge, small dining setting, tea/coffee making facilities. Free wi-fi with good connection. No safe facilities were provided in the room.

Sleep Quality: Very comfortable double bed (doona only provided). The room was quiet and dark for sleeping. The morning light shone through as the curtains are not full length however this was not unpleasant.

Bathroom: Decent size bathroom although the shower size is actually very small (shower only, no bath). The shower had very good water pressure with excellent hot water. Clean with plenty of clean linen and a selection of toiletries available in the room (although no face washer or bath mat).

Food: Excellent buffet b/fast is served in the restaurant area on the ground floor. Good selection of cereals, breads, cheeses, cold meats, fruit, together with 3 hot dishes (usually of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage). Tea and coffee, juices etc are available here all day. Restaurant advertise lunch packs and also serve dinner (of which I didn’t try).

Location: Very centrally located. Within a 5-10mins radius, you will find the Tromso cathedral, tourist information, major shopping centre, the main pedestrian shopping street Storgata, Rica Ishavshotel (where you can catch the bus to the airport and also Arctic Guide Services), local bus station, and many other shops.

Service: Most staff were excellent and happily gave their time to advise on places of interest. Hotel definitely has a personal feel. English seems widely spoken and understood.

Value for money: 3 nights was NOR $3,885 for one including b/fast. Whilst expensive to other places around the world, this was competitive for Norway (the 25% tax does not help).

Other: Whilst small, the rooms are clean, comfortable and warm. Local staff, good food, terrific location and the most spectacular scenery in the surrounding areas. Would highly recommend it as I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieKC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    94
    29
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
111
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EASTBOURNE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We choose this hotel primarily as it was a family run hotel in central Tromso and not one of the big chain hotels needless to say we were not dissapointed. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfast was buffet style and there was a good choice of hot and cold food. There are hot drinks available in the dining area anytime day or night. In the afternoon there is the opportunity to make waffles which seemed to go down very well with our coffee! We also tried the evening buffet which consisted of hot soup, cold meats,cheese, bread, salad etc all for 75 kroner per person which by Scandinavian standards is very reasonable. Our room was on the top floor so we had a partial view of the harbour. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, there was also tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We did not find anything that would raise any concerns and would quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYANDJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel fitted the bill perfectly for our stay in tromso. It is right next to the rica hotel and radisson blu hotel where lots of tours leave from and right by the shops and restaurants. It was cosy and friendly and the staff were incredibly helpful. It felt like a much more personal hotel compared to the bigger chains. Loved the afternoon waffles! Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Amalie is situated in a very convenient location as you are so near to the main street and to the harbour. Many tours leave from the Rica hotel and that is only about 2 minutes walk away.
The breakfast buffet was ample with a fair choice of dishes and you can help yourself to tea and coffee all day long. The afternoon 'make it yourself' waffles were very welcome.
We were always warm and cosy in the hotel and the beds are very comfortable. The water is piping hot in the showers too.
The staff are helpful and friendly and we felt very comfortable at the Amalie. I would choose Amalie again on any future visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

A lovely hotel in a great location. A much better option than the more expensive chain hotels, Amalie is just down the road from Tromso Cathedral in one direction. the tourist office in another, & from the harbour & the Rica & Radisson Blu Hotels (where most of the tours leave from). Shops are also just up the road, & it is an easy walk to restaurants, many of the museums & to Polaria. Beds are very comfortable, & rooms are reasonably spacious. Afternoon waffles were a godsend, as our tours tended to return mid afternoon, so the waffles tided us over until dinner. It is clean, friendly & the staff at reception are very helpful. Free wi fi. Very good value.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor corner room which was quiet & had some lookout, but top floor would have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeet35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I wondered why there are not too many recent reviews of the Hotell Amalie in recent months but that is (I think) because most of the visitors are Norwegian. This is a lovely, small independent hotel and we had a really comfortable stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Always a choice of sausage, scrambled egg, bacon, lots of fresh bread, good juices, good coffee, cereals and every thing else from smoked salmon, cheeses, jam...Everything hot and fresh.We didn't have the 75 NOK evening buffet as it wasn't available Friday and Sat nights but it would be very good value in a very expensive city. A very clean hotel. Very quiet even though it was busy. The beds were the most comfy hotel beds that i have ever slept in. We were as warm as toast too. Make your own 'free' waffles every afternoon if you like - delicious! The twin room was 'cosy' but we just felt snuggly not cramped. The location of the hotel was great, very close to the TIC, the water and the centre and minutes walk from the Flybussen stop. The only down side was a lack of storage and the wardrobe space was a bit odd. I would definitely stay again - just for a sleep in that lovely bed!

Room Tip: We had 309 and had a mountain view between buildings - occasionally obscured by a passing cruise lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

A comfortable hotel in the centre of Tromso with an especially friendly welcome. We stayed just one night but for the whole of the following day in order to catch the Coastal Steamer at midnight. Leaving luggage and being able to call in during the day despite haveing checked out presented no problem An inexpensive evening buffet is laid on and inall the hotel offers excellent value when set against its competitors

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeringKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Property: Amalie Hotel
Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing