We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enter Amalie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$155
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$124
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$161
$144
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$127
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smarthotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$71
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
96
120
38
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
120
38
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesindependent hoteltea and coffee facilitiestourist officeroom informationtours leaveevery afternoondecent selectionfriendly hotelparking ticketinformation centrecommon areasthe radisson blu hotelplenty of hot watersingle bedsoupstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 263 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

A comfortable hotel in the centre of Tromso with an especially friendly welcome. We stayed just one night but for the whole of the following day in order to catch the Coastal Steamer at midnight. Leaving luggage and being able to call in during the day despite haveing checked out presented no problem An inexpensive evening buffet is laid on and inall the hotel offers excellent value when set against its competitors

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeringKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Amalie in Tromso in February 2011. The hotel is very unassuming on first appearance, sitting as it does on a street corner next a newly re-opened Italian restaurant. But looks are often deceiving. The Amalie Hotel is a good hotel well located to the local bus terminal, city centre shops and Fjord cruise liners.

The SAS bus from Tromso airport cost 55NK each and we were dropped outside the hotel on our inward journey. The bus departed from the main Terminal and Rica Hotel, both of which were only a few minutes from the Amalie. The journey took thirty minutes and the service was very regular.

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted and the hotel staff were helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast selection included a good selection of hot and cold with bacon, eggs, pate, yoghurts and breads. Enough to set you up for the day. The hotel also has a lift and an internet enabled computer in the reception area.

Our room was very well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, wardrobe space and a multi channel TV. We had noticed previous ‘Tripadvisor’ guidance to ask for a room on the 5th floor to benefit from the great views towards the cable car and over the estuary and the hotel were able to accommodate this request. The view was worth the request. The only slight disappointment in the room was the slightly claustrophobic bathroom. Not many cats were getting swung in this room. However, the room was always spotlessly cleaned.

During our stay I noticed that the Amalie was described as a ‘budget’ hotel in the local travel guide. This is unfair on the Amalie. The hotel is well run and at no time did we regret our decision to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PilgrimPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Very average.
The restaurant had no staff and only a buffet with some cold cuts which appeared to have been there for a long time.
You are advised to find anoter place for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location as mentioned in previous reviews. The hotel doesnt have free wifi but the price was reasonable at 45 krone for 24 hours access with time starting from the purchse time. The room we had was very nice being on the 5th floor we were lucky that we could actually see the water in the fjord as we had the corner room and could look down the street to the harbor edge. The bed had was 2 single mattress pushed together. The staff were friendly and the tourist ofice is right around the corner. The breakfast is a decent selection and they have evening buffet at 75 krone per person. It was quite similar to the breakfast buffet but represents a good cheap option if you are on a buget. Free waffles can be made in the afternoon as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Great location. Only 2 minutes to ferry stop. They give free waffles in afternoon, and have an inexpensive mini buffet in the evenings. They allowed us to use their common room while we waited for our midnight departure.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swannzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews