We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Go”

The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet)
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.93*
and up
Essential Tromso: Historical City Walk
More Info
$57.48*
and up
Electric Bike Rental in Tromso - 1 to 8 Day Rental
Ranked #6 of 85 things to do in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Do Go”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

All you wanted to know about Polar expeditions done the low tech way. Excellent - and save money with the ticket that includes entrance to the Tromso University Museum, the Botanic Garden and M/V Pojstjerna.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    781
    267
    45
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The most interesting museum in Trmso”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ground floor deals with the many varieties of shell fish (not very interesting unless you are a marine biologist); first floor devoted to polar exploration which was of more general interest.
Consider buying the dual entry ticket for the University Museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very well set out and informative. We thought we would be going to it on our Footsteps of Amundsen excursion but this proved not to be the case. So we went on our own and were glad to have seen it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“polar exploration”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very interesting, so much to see and learn about. Would visit again. Also a very interesting walk along waterfront to get there from the town centre. Very reasonable entry charge

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“End of the world”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great little museum with lots of informative information on Arctic explorers. This was a highlight for me where I learnt quite a lot of new & interesting things. You do need the handout leaflet to get the best out of the museum

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet) also viewed

 

Been to The Polar Museum (Polarmuseet)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing