We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Choose Gunnar

Gunnar goes the extra mile (kilometer) to ensure an excellent experience. Not only a tour to see... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Matthew R
,
Dallas, United States
So Thankful to Guide Gunnar!

So the sky was apparently covered with clouds so wide that the other agency I had booked & paid... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
LexExelero
via mobile
Read all 229 reviews
  
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
196
18
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
18
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guide gunnar hot drinks northern lights post tour aurora chase finnish border camera settings informative video great guide comfortable van great sense of humor frozen lake drop box spectacular display photo opportunities take photos aurora borealis
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 229 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The highlight of our visit to Tromsø was having GuideGunnar provide us with a very memorable and enjoyable Aurora chase tour. Gunnar delivered a complete package: 1-introducing the phenomenon of the northern lights early in the chase with a very informative video presentation in route to his base camp; 2-provided use of a tripod to those that wanted them; 3-helped us in giving really great tips on camera settings for capturing the northern lights; 4-shot beautiful photos of us with the spectacular northern lights as our background and gave us the images a few days after the tour; 5-gave us use of facilities in base camp; 6-had a cozy tent with a bonfire to get warm in; 7-had provisions of some pastries, hot currant juice, and even a taste of dried reindeer heart and salted lamb meat; 7- and last but not least, Gunnar aimed to please all of us, was really helpful, pleasant and has a great sense of humor that entertained us all. We had the fortune of seeing and capturing a spectacular display of the northern lights that night, including a rare occurrence of the corona that Gunnar captured. I highly recommend Gunnar!

2  Thank RamonRdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

I had the northern light tour with Gunnar's new guide. He was a very pleasant and friendly person. He's just still missing some autonomy and training. I was disappointed he had to call Gunnar to know what we should do, where we should go (since the sky was very cloudy). This spoiled the chase a little. Otherwise very nice person. He's the only one who promised a bonfire and actually did it ! And in the end we managed to see some lights, not that bright but still better than nothing.

2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuideGunnar, Manager at GuideGunnar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hello David.

Thank you for your review of my my new guide, Kjell Oddvar.
An constructive feedback is always great to get, so then it`s easier for us to make it all better..;)

If I was a new guide I should also be happy to have someone to call to get some help when the conditions are tricky, but actually that`s what we are doing a lot, also us who are experienced guides, since we are a group of 6 good colleagues who work together out on the chase when the weather are bad, and then it`s great to be our own weather mens.

So, phone calls between us is part of our service which make the chase better, since we can cover a larger area so we know the exactly details from fjord to fjord and over the mountains...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at Gunnar's office and saw the floor-to-ceiling map on the wall, we knew we were in the right place. Gunnar started by giving us an overview of the area and the weather forecast for the night. Using the huge map that covered one entire wall, he showed us where we'd be going for the night and taught us a little about the local terrain and weather patterns. We had a small group - about 15 of us - and we all loaded into his van, which is a specially outfitted Mercedes Sprinter van. As we got outside of Tromso, he played a few videos for us that taught us a little more about the northern lights and the Tromso area. Because the entire Tromso area was overcast, we drove about 3 hours and crossed into Finland. The road into Finland was a very desolate stretch, and as we climbed toward the border, the snow came down heavier and heavier. Amazingly, just a few miles past the border, the snow stopped and the sky cleared. It was as if Gunnar knew exactly where to go and when the skies would open up. It remained very cold and windy, so it was tough to stand outside too long, but Gunnar positioned the van to help block the wind. He also brought out some delicious pastry snacks and warm drinks. We spent about an hour in that spot looking up at the sky, as the lights came and went. Unfortunately, the light activity level that night was low, so what we saw was somewhat faint. Gunnar helped us put our cameras on the best settings to get some good photos. He also set up his own camera to get some great photos of everyone with the northern lights in the background. By the time we left our spot in Finland, it was about midnight, so we had a 3-hour drive back to Tromso and arrived around 3am. Gunnar was kind enough to make a few stops, dropping each group directly at our hotels. Throughout the night, Gunnar was funny, entertaining, informative and helpful. He clearly knows the area, knows how best to find the northern lights, and is very enthusiastic about his work. The entire experience was fun, exciting, and memorable.

1  Thank ERFSU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights in Kirkenes earlier on our trip to Norway, but decided to try our luck again in Tromso. From the moment we met Gunnar, we knew we were in good hands. He was upfront about the local conditions not being ideal, but assured us he would do everything in his power to find the lights. We changed courses several times during the evening to eventually find some clearer skies and a beautiful display of dancing lights. After realising on my first attempt at photographing the Northern Lights in Kirkenes that it was beyond my capabilities, it was reassuring to know that Gunnar was there with his equipment taking photos. We jumped in front of the camera and he took a photo of us that we can treasure forever. He is a great guy, extremely passionate about what he does and just wants you to have the best experience ever. Good luck in Alta Gunnar. We hope to see you there one day!!

1  Thank gabbyharris119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

First of all, Guide Gunnar is a really nice guy - this is important if you're going to spend four hours (or more) hanging around at night when it's -9C! After a briefing, Gunnar fetched his minibus and we were off. The minibus was modern, clean and very well equipped. We watched video clips about the Northern Lights en route, and were warm and comfortable (again important when the temperature drops later in the night!). We couldn't travel to Gunnar's first choice of location as wind was blowing the snowdrifts across the road, so we turned around and parked up adjacent to a lake. We were fortunate to have the most spectacular display of Northern Lights that evening - really breathtaking - and Gunnar helped us set up cameras and advised on settings. He also offered tripods for those that didn't have them, warm suits and snow boots. Later on in the evening, he lit a fire, supplied mats for us to sit on the snow and gave us hot blackcurrant juice and local pastries. Throughout he was happy to talk to us about the best way to capture what we were witnessing and constantly checked that we were warm enough and happy to stay out. He opened up the van for us to shelter in when we were chilly. If you're heading to northern Norway and want to see the Aurora, make sure to get in touch with Guide Gunnar!

1  Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews