We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Grand Tromso
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This hotel is kind of frozen in 1985. The interiors are not very impressing and my (single) room which I stayed in for five nights was really plain. There was no hotel information in the room and the double doors did not stop the noise from the corridor and other parts of the building. The bathroom was ok - clean and bright - but the water pressure in the shower was very low. The staff was rather introverted and not very talkative. The breakfast was nice though - as it usually is in Norwegian hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia_1977_10, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel - we appreciate our guest's honest response.
It has been some years since you stayed here, and lots have happended since. We have renovated the reception, the restaurant, most of our rooms, all corridors with doors and locking system. We have also built a new lift. We are now a top-up-to-date-hotel.
I hope you will consider to visit us the next time you come to Tromsø.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 566 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Washington DC
15
Reviewed May 24, 2005

The room was small but good enough for one person attending an international conference. However, keep in mind that in May, it is still on the chilly side and there is no night! The complimentary breakfast is superb, just as the excellent pre-dinner served from 6 to 10 pm with a wonderful soup, different each evening. The staff is courteous and the service perfect. The hotel is nicely located in the shopping area with many restaurants and stores.

Why is the rating not "excellent"? Who found it smart to allow a night club in the basement? I thought the purpose of an hotel was to get a good night sleep especially if you are here on business. On saturday night, on top of fighting daylight from 10pm to 6 am, you must endure disco music from 10pm to 3am... and in case you don't know, concrete conducts noise very well! Thanks God, the music stops at 1:30am all other days. So my advice: when you arrive inquire where exactly is the club (below the dining room I believe) and get a room on the other side of the building. Given this word of caution, if I need to go to Tromso again, I'll go to the Grand Nordic again!
JLB, Washington DC

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
U.K.
8117
Reviewed April 26, 2003

I can recommend this hotel. My family stayed here for 2 nights end-August 2001. We flew up from Oslo with SAS airlines. Room 318 is a large room (4 beds), ideal for a family. Hotel close to restaurants, main street, cinema and tourist attractions. Buffet breakfast excellent. Hotel web site is nordic and bookings can be made by e-mail. Our only problem was that we came unprepared for the weather and only brought summer clothing. We had to buy jeans and jumpers during our visit - summer ends in Tromso on 16 August!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We welcome you back at a later occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Jojet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Giovanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Opte por quartos nos andares mais altos por causa da discoteca embaixo do hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResepsjonGrand, Receptionist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank 19alexandra49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResepsjonGrand, Receptionist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
397 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Tromso

Address: Storgata 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $126 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Grand Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Grand Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing