We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Grand Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I've stayed at Rica Grand Hotel several times and have always had the nicest stays here. The staff are polite and friendly; front desk personal are welcoming and always doing their very best for the guests. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast is great. The hotel is centrally located in Tromsø.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anahell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Thank you for your nice review! We are happy that you hade a nice stay, and are welcoming you back at your next Tromsø-trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 536 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

One of the lifts makes much noise which was hear in my room which was not very close to the lift. Our room had a decent view in a pretty good location.
Breakfast on the first day didn't go so well, there was no staff controlling who was coming in the breakfast room. Besides its risks to the hotel, this fact made a couple sit in a table which was already occupied by our food while we're getting some more, without asking. They even "stole" our cutlery. So we moved to another table. This kind of situation should never happen in a hotel, and that's one of the reason why there should be staff controlling entrance and tables.
Breakfast was fine but there is lack of pastries. Pastries disappear very quickly.

Room Tip: high room to get best views. Try to have breakfast earlier as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NunoNuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotel Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We are aware of that one of our lifts are making noise, and we are really sorry for this. But this is the reason why we close it during the night. The lift is planned to be shifted during a couple of years.
It is not common in Norwegian hotels to register guests for breakfast. It is not common that people from outside comes and take breakfast. And that guests steal tables from each other is not a usual problem. We are sorry that this happened to you. Despite this we hope you enjoyed out breakfast. We hope to see you again at your next Tromsø visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for four nights in a 5th floor room at this central Tromso hotel. The airport bus stopped just outside and the check in was quick & efficient. The Reception staff spoke very good English and were helpful in printing out boarding cards for our return trip.
The room was compact and had little storage space. There was only hanging room for two padded coats, no drawer space and suitcases had to be placed on the bed to be unpacked/packed.
The shower room & toilet had cosy under floor heating, which dealt with the water that escaped under the screen every time the shower was used. The beds however were very comfortable and the room spotlessly clean.
The short comings in room design were what reduced my overall rating to average.
The buffet breakfast was extensive and had a great choice of food & beverages and helpful staff circulating to top up coffees.
Grunder Café & Bar in the hotel was a pleasant venue for a meal on our first evening.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014
Google Translation

Hei og takk for din anmeldelse. Beklageligvis er nok mange av hotellrommene våre designet for forretningsreisende som bor i 1, max 2 netter. Derfor er det ikke plass til så store kofferter. Men vi er glade for at dere har satt pris på vår frokost, og vårt flotte personell. Vi ønsker dere velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The breakfast was very good and had plenty of variety , the staff particularly at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The junior suites are creatively designed and very comfortable. Even though there were three of us staying in them, it felt spacious enough. Our room had a balcony too. its in the centre of town and close to excellent on all counts

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din anmeldelse av vårt hotell., vii setter stor pris på at du tar deg tid til dette. Ønsker deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss ved ditt neste Troms-opphold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here two nights while my husband had some business in Tromso. The hotel was centrally located and although the room was small the beds were very comfortable. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and there was a bit of noise on the Saturday night. We were on the 5th floor. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and very nice. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a real deficit. I asked if I could organise for an iron in the room, and was advised that this couldn't be done, but that I could go to an ironing room and use the iron there. I was given vague directions and couldn't find it. I asked a house maid who pointed me in the right direction - there was no signage saying it was an ironing room. My key wouldn't open the door so I had to find the maid to let me in. If you are looking for luxury I wouldn't stay here, however the location was so convenient and it served us well. While the rooms weren't cheap they were good value for being in the arctic circle and the location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShineSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din anmeldelse. Beklager at vi ikke fikk vist oss fra vår beste side når dere var hos oss. Kaffe og te fasiliteter har vi kun på våre oppgraderte rom, som koster kun 250 NOK ekstra per natt. Strykerommet skal nå få skilt på døren, slik at det er lettere å finne frem. Takk igjen, og håper at du ønsker å komme tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here one night. I booked a standard room directly online with the hotel website. Room was compact but the bed was very comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast is only offered from 7am so if you're leaving earlier, tough luck. Whilst waiting for my bus I did ask for an orange juice and the receptionist was happy to oblige. Parts of the breakfast buffet were already out so I feel they could've offered a pastry and piece of fruit to go if you are leaving earlier. Something to consider. Location is very central and the airport bus stops just outside. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redjazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Hei og takk for din anmeldelse! Så fint at du hadde et fint opphold hos oss. Beklager at du ikke fikk tilbudet om noe mat i hånda da du dro tidlig, men fint at du iallefall fikk noe å drikke. Våre resepsjonister ønsker gjerne å hjelpe, så neste gang er det bare å spørre om litt frokost tidlig, så skal det nok ordne seg. Alt for gjestene! Velkommen tilbake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

a very well located hotel with great service in the centre of town. The rooms are a bit small but nothing as small as some of the stories I have heard about other hotels.

I liked the fact that the hotel is used more by locals than tourists which gave a more of a local feel.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant. I would pay extra for it (but we wont tell them that). Tea, coffee and cakes available throughout the day at no extra cost

Room Tip: go for a room with a shower. I had a roll top bath which is great if you like baths. I had a wet bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelestialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Tusen takk for din anmeldelse, jeg skal ta det videre til de ansatte. Velkommen tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
345 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Tromso

Address: Storgata 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $127 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Grand Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grand Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing