We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Grand Tromso
Nearby Hotels
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$123
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$159
$143
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$147
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Smarthotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
220
252
124
35
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
252
124
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightscatch the buscaviaran updatebreakfast spreadquiet roomoutdoor activitiesthe main streetrooms are nicebreakfast was amazingfree tea coffeejunior suitemidnight sunhotel is centrally locatedcity centreaurora chasingreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 646 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location was great, right in the centre close to all amenities. Then again Tromsö is a small town so everything is close by. The breakfast is really nothing special, two choices of bread, two choices of cheese, some cheap cornflakes, stale coffee and orange juice from the machine.
Most of the receptionist were very hospitable, which is not very common in Norway, but one of them, an elderly lady should really be tought some manners! It took her 12 minutes to check us out and couldn't even figure out how to enter a reference number that we requested on our receipt. Not only that, but she kept telling us that she never heard of anyone else asking for reference numbers on receipts (for business accounting purposes). A message to that lady: your job is not to give us your opinion on business matters, you job is to do or at least try to do what your guests ask you for!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfiedwiththebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din anmeldelse. Din opplevelse har blitt tatt opp med vår resepsjonssjef. Vi setter pris på din tilbakemelding og ønsker deg velkommen til en hyggeligere opplevelse ved en senere anledning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes and then some. Perfect location in the city centre (actually the airport fly bus stops right next to it). The room was big and comfortable, enough space for three people with an extra bed. The windows were large, with a nice view over the city. Tea facilities in the room. Big bathroom with a very comfortable shower, good ventilation and heated floor. Very clean everywhere.
The breakfast was among the best I've had. Plenty of dishes to choose from, from warm food to many cold fish specialities, good cheeses, fine pastries, fruits, mueslis, yoghurts and many more. A good feast to keep you going all day.
The receptionist was very helpful, we were three friends sharing the room and we could pay our shares individually. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din anmeldelse! Dine varme ord skal jeg ta videre til de ansatte, tusen takk! Velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

No hesitation of recommending this hotel - its comfortable, in an excellent location and the breakfast is good- we booked a double & a single. The double was large, the bathroom/wet room was a bit slippery when we showered but we had a mat to soak it up! The floor was heated so it wasnt a problem. we had tea/coffee making facilities in the large room but not in the single although there was free tea/coffee in reception. Breakfast had something for everyone. We only had a couple of hangers in the room so if you want to hang your clothes take a couple with you!! We were very near to restaurants, cafes, main street and 10 mins from the airport which had originally worried me but we were not disturbed by any noise. It is a very good location. We stayed over the New Year period 2013/2014 & Tromso was a magical place to see the Northern Lights and experience whale watching - fab trip. Hope this helps

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyTromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Tusen takk for din anmeldelse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The location was great although it's a very small city anyway.
The stuff was super nice and willing to help and answer questions.. they even made us breakfast in a box because we had to leave at 4 in the morning
The rooms were nice and clean
we had fun in our short visit there

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Tusen takk for din anmeldelse! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in deepest, darkest December while we went chasing the Northern Lights.

The hotel was very good with a fantastic location right in the middle of Tromso (and at the time of year when location was essential), just a couple of minutes walk from a number of cafes, restaurants and the main streets. Rooms were also very good with comfortable beds (though two singles pushed together, not a 'genuine' double) and a great picture of Tromso from the top of a local peak covering one wall. Finally, breakfast was good- though with some interesting fare.

We'd strongly recommend Tromso and going to see the Northern Lights. This hotel works as an excellent base to do this from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din anmeldelse. Vi setter pris på din tilbakemelding og ønsker deg velkommen til en hyggelig opplevelse ved en senere anledning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews