We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
467
286
73
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
467
286
73
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast restaurant great view breakfast buffet great hotel amazing breakfast busy hotel airport bus meeting point arctic cathedral superior room salmon perfect location couple of nights northern lights family room hotel is situated cable car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Central located in Arctic Tromsø, the Scandic Ishavshotell is a good choice. Reasonable pricet. Good and friendly reception checked me in at 11:30 (ordinary check in 15:00). Good Nice clean double room. The bathroom a little small but good. Very good bed.
Joined the Nice meeting view to the close by sea. The lunch had a good and broad variety - cold and warm things to eat.
Good choice for a pleasent stay in Tromsø. I stayed one night and two days - surely long enough!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 184eirikf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniehsa, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 184eirikf,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review!
I hope you had a great time here in Tromsø :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Friendly and service minded people all around
Fantastic breakfast with a wide selection of food and when I requested something I didn’t find it was arranged in a few minutes
Nice rooms with good beds
Clean and tidy

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank benteelinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniehsa, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Dear benteelinb,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Hope to see you soon again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

As usual, Scandic Ishavshotell is an upscale hotell. The breakfast contains everything you desire to eat after a night in a comfortable bed. When you arrive hotel, the nice staff in Reseption welcomes you with a smile and courtesy, the rooms are excellent, and anyone working at the hotel makes your stay a pleasant experience. The best hotel in Tromsoe and the Nordic countries.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank t0rbj0ern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniehsa, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019
Google Translation

Kjære t0rbj0ern,

Tusen, tusen takk for en fine tilbakemeldingen :-)
Vi elsker å ha deg som vår gjest, og håper du fortsetter å bruke vårt hotell i mange mange år fremover!
Vi sees!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

This hotel room and location is really nice. Breakfast is provided which is great. However, receptionist service of this hotel is below standard. We didn't expect that this level of hotel doesn't have professional service. First, when we arrive, we asked receptionist to booked the hotel parking for us, he said he will book for us but on the next day we asked other receptionist and she said "hotel parking is already full and I didn't book for it". Secondly, on the first day when we arrive, we asked the receptionist whether we can park car in big area in front of hotel, he said yes and didn't provide any further information. Next day we woke up, we got ticket to pay fine. We asked other receptionist and she tell the truth that we need to pay parking fee and she said that our hotel assume that everyone already know this and hotel doesn't responsible for this. How can hotel assume that tourist will know this information, we are foreigner and this is not common knowledge for everyone. We asked about where to pay fine, they told us to go to bank. When we go to bank, bank officer explain us really clear about the system (better than hotel receptionist) and told us to go to post office because we can't pay at the bank. This made us feel really disappointed and it wasted our time of travel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kanga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniehsa, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Kanga K,

Thank you for the review and feedback!
I'm sorry if the information from the reception was unclear.. This was not our intention, and we always try our best to provide the information that is asked for! We hope that your visit to Tromsø was great :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

Out group of 22 was on a tour of north Norway and we were expecting to rough it a bit, but were totally pampered at the Ishavshotel while the snow fell outside. As one would expect, full amenities, great breakfast bar and friendly staff.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor, ours was awesome!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBarry657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniehsa, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear MikeBarry657,

Thank you for the nice review! Hope you had a great time here in Tromsø :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews