We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Tromso
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although the hotel is not in the towncenter the ride on the bus to get to the hotel was beautiful. Then, it is very handy if you need to get to the airport (by bus, it rained all the time and I couldn't walk). The room are very spacious compare to other Scandic hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor were very big, quiet and with a great bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Maria b.

Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you soon again.


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    104
    90
    37
    16
See reviews for
43
70
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stay in Tromso two or three times a year and use the Scandic for all my visits. This review follows my visit between 5th July and 22nd July 2013.

The Scandic is a short hop from Tromso airport. It is about a 40 minute walk along Tromsveien into Tromso and the walk affords beautiful views of the Arctic Cathedral. For those who prefer to use public transport, the bus terminus at Giaverbukta is only a five minute walk from the Scandic as is the shopping mall at the Jekta Storsenter which provides a greater array of retail outlets than you'll find in Tromso itself.

The Scandic is in a beautiful location surrounded by the stunning mountains of Kvaloya. A top floor room at the Scandic overlooking the mountains of Kvaloya provides a perfect setting for your trip to Tromso, with access to the fantastic nature of this part of the Arctic. The Scandic also gives you the best view of the Midnight Sun between the middle of May and the end of July.

The Scandic is not the most modern of hotels and dates back to the early 1960's; and its decor is more 20th century than 21st century, but this is more than compensated for by its stunning location. Having said that, it has all the facilities you would need in a hotel, including a fully- equipped fitness centre.

If you book on the 'Save Discount Web' basis - and book your trip to Tromso in advance - you'll make significant savings. If you book early, you can get a rate of between 600-650 NOK per night which represents fantastic value-for-money by any standards. Breakfast is included in the room rate and offers an extremely extensive choice. You would not get any greater variety or quality in a five-star hotel.

The 'stand-out' feature of the Scandic is the quality of its staff. From the Reception staff through to the restaurant staff and cleaning staff,and at all levels of management, this is customer care at its best and provides the Scandic with a friendly family atmosphere. I cannot praise the Scandic staff highly enough.

All-in-all, the Scandic is the best value-for-money hotel in Tromso.

Room Tip: A top floor room overlooking the mountains of Kvaloya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RDMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyvindVassbotn, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear RDMorgan.

Thank you for your generous review.

We work hard with our staff to provide excellent service, and therefore I am pleased to read your review. I wish you still a great summer and welcome back to us.

Øyvind Vassbotn
Front Office and Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Advertising itself as a family hotel we decided to stay here with our 3 children on our weekend trip. The hotel offers a large parking area and is in walking distance of Jekta - shopping mall.
We had booked the room with an extra bed, but our room had none. The staff however promised to fix it, and a couple hours later it was placed in our room! Most Scandic hotels offers a play area for kids, in Tromsø they had a TV and a playstation set up, most of the games didn't work..

The room was kinda small for a family and the view from the windows wasn't amazing - overlooking a construction area.

Breakfast was good but the lack of baby high chairs suprised me, they had only ONE, and this was supposed to be a family hotel? So we had to wait for our turn to use the chair.. rather irritating! The breakfast area was also very small so I felt we almost had to climb over other people to get seated.

If I were to manage this hotel I would go out and buy baby high chairs as soon as I noticed the problem. It's such an easy thing to fix!! We stayed here 3 days and noticed that this was something that irritated everyone with children! People had to hurry up with their breakfast so other people could take over the chair!
I think this says alot about how they handle problems and complains....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Line K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyvindVassbotn, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Google Translation
Hei Line.

Takk for din tilbakemelding til oss.

Siden sist du var her har vi kjøpt inn nye barnestoler til restauranten, samt oppgradert lekerommet vårt med ny playstation og nye spill. Jekta er og ferdig bygget og området nå er nær ferdigutviklet.

Vi ønsker deg en riktig så fin sommer videre.

Øyvind Vassbotn
Resepsjon og bookingsjef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tromso hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Gave it three stars since the breakfast was okay but the rooms have minimum facilities. No papers / napkins, no plastic garbage bags, no extra pillow, two sheets covers on a queen bed that doesn't fit properly ending up pulling itself off during the night and curling under you. Very averagely cleaned. The price is very little less than the much better ranked hotels so I don't know if it is worth it...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningRainDrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear MorningRainDrops.

Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to be able to improve our service.

Wish you all the best for the summer.

Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are a member of Scandic chain's frequent guest program, as I am, then be alerted. Scandic Hotels no longer offer free early check in or late check out. What a shock I had upon arrival here a Scandic Tromso. I had requested early check in months ago but was instead offered to pay a fee for early check in or I could wait in the bar area (they don't have a proper lobby with chairs here). This is a disasterous move on Scandic's part so I don't fault the hotel per se. I was told I could check into my room at no additional cost after 3pm. After searching for information on Scandic's website, I found that they claim, "The hotel room will be at your disposal from 14.00 pm on the day of arrival." So when I pointed this out to reception the women finagled a bit before finally allowing me to check in at 2pm.

I have stayed here before and reviewed this hotel here on Tripadvisor but this will be the last time I stay here, or perhaps any Scandic Hotel until they do better to live up to the ironic newly changed title of their frequent guest program, "Friends."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Robin Locksley.

I am very sorry for your experience. We have been a little to eager to implement new procedures. Looking back it is easy to see that you should have been offered a room, free of charge, as soon as one was ready. When implementing new standards it is crusial that we use our common sence in the first period of time and your experience gave us a lesson.

I hope you will visit us again and I ensure that next time your early arrival or late departure will be free of charge.

Wish you all the best for the summer!


Best regards

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieterlen
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located near the Airport and a bit outside the City, however, you can reach the City Center within a few minutes. Although close to the Airport, it's very quiet during the night.

The first night we had a room which looked a bit old, but when we came back 2 weeks later we were given a much nicer room and one which was facing the fjord. Okay, you got to be in the third floor, otherwise the big industrial area underneath the hotel might be disturbing you.

The bathroom is not very big and still has a bathtub. So it's a bit tricky to take a shower for elderly people.

Breaktfast was fine. Sometimes we had to wait for a clean table. The tables were free, but not cleaned from the previous guests. The staff was a bit slow.

Room Tip: If you like to watch the midnight sun ask for a room on the Fjord side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjell Olav P, General Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Mizzi22.

Thank you for your review and we wish you a great summer!


Best regadrs

Kjell Olav Pettersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We continued our Scandinavian tour from Kilpisjarvi to Troms, Norway. The way is magnificient. Views are just great and the road goes along the deep canyons, I wouldn't wan't to be a taxi driver here.

The hotel was OK during our stay, the staff helped us tipping about the good activities, thanks

We continued our voyage to south from here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OyvindVassbotn, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tromso, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear FrenchTraveller1.

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Tromsø.

I wish you a lovely trip down southwards.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
1.8 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#5 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
1.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tromso

Property: Scandic Tromso
Address: Heiloveien 23, Tromso 9269, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Tromso Hotel
Scandic Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing