We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
139
140
47
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
139
140
47
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egon restaurant direct access cooked breakfast was cold fantastic buffet breakfast deep sleep polar bear nespresso machine fitness center room was clean city centre nice hotel extra bed close to the airport polar night fresh fruit nice bathroom enjoyable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 347 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2019

A step up from basic, and pretty reasonable for what you get. The rooms are comfortable and certainly large enough for a couple. The beds are very good - although after chasing the Aurora, we barely slept in them! Breakfast is excellent - loads of choice and replenished regularly.
You could do a lot worse! We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianPeace66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn A, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019

Dear Julian

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the room sizes and found the bed to be comfortable even though you did northern lights hunting most of the evening. We are of course also very happy to hear you found our breakfast to be amazing.
Hope to see you again, welcome back

Kind regards,
Linn Alexandersen, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

This is a fair choice. Good location – albeit next door to a shop seemingly selling sex toys!
Our room was a bit pokey with minimal natural light – the window looked out onto pipes and a brick wall. The kettle had a plug that did not fit the sockets. However, the bed was comfortable. Good sized bathroom albeit with unassuming soaps, etc.
The best bit by far was the breakfast - very good choice of hot and cold foods. The staff were friendly.
Value for money? Difficult to say, as coming from the UK, everything is so expensive in Scandanavia.

Room tip: Might be worth contacting the Hotel to get a better (not necessarily more expensive) room
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

A little bit more than an average hotel.It's a very good breakfast - you will never go hungry from here, and if you do - it's Your fault! The room are a litle bit small, but who shall stay on the hotelroom all day? The bed are good, but the pillow could be a little better. It's hard to "form" the pillow the way you want to have a perfect night.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank bjafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn A, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and that you did not go hungry. We are sorry that the pillow was comfortable enough, we will definitely look into this. Thank you again and hope to see you back soon, welcome.

Kind Regards.
Linn Alexandersen, Thon Hotel Polar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

While reviews always play a part in our search for a hotel, we weren’t only looking at luxury accommodation. For this stay, we decided to find a top end room in a less expensive hotel. This led us to the Thon brand, a Norwegian based chain, and chose the Thon Hotel Polar. We went with a business room, which was recently refurbished and gave us oodles of room plus a lovely view of the church and mountains opposite.

Our stay began well with the helpful and friendly man on reception, Christian, who greeted us with complimentary chocolate on our arrival. Our room had a large sitting area with a lounge, coffee table and two chairs, a desk, ample hanging space, and a long wall of windows framing the view. The incredibly comfortable bed was latex, topped with a comforter and the Scandinavian tradition of a duvet each.

The buffet breakfast was very busy, sometimes with difficulty finding a seat, and people rushing to claim extra food to stow in their bags for later on. Prices are so expensive in Norway, that some feel the need to make the most of the complimentary breakfast; however, one nearby embarrassed tourist had to be told not to save food for later as those yet to breakfast would not have enough. However, the kitchen staff did need to ensure that hot food stayed hot – the only time I had food hotter than luke warm was when the kind woman on duty offered to cook me a vegetarian omelette, as there was not one already prepared. There was certainly enough cold fish and cheese choices to satisfy any pescatarian.

Bontaks Travels

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn A, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful and detailed reply. We appreciate it vey much.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the room as well as the view of the church. It is also very nice to hear we could accommodate you with your own omelette. Regarding the hot food we appreciate the feedback and will definitely look into it immediately.
Again thank you and welcome back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar.

Kind Regards,
Linn Alexandrsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

The staff on the reception desk can’t do enough to help make your stay great. The cleaners where happy and efficient. Breakfast was a odd mix of foods but all of them tasty. All round great hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn A, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear Rob

Thank you ever so much for your great feedback and for taking the time to send it. We are very happy to hear that you found the staff to be excellent, that is very important to us.
Thank you also for your recommendation, it is much appreciated. Welcome back.

Kind Regards,
Linn A. General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews