We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beds and great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beds and great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at Polar for two nights and had an enjoyable stay. The beds were really good and the breakfast was even better.

The room was quite small, but as I was travelling alone it was big enough.

I would not mind to stay here another time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    229
    120
    36
    11
See reviews for
75
168
80
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vadso, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Big room, but we have a baby and had the need for boiling water and there was no kettle in the room. Also no refrigerator in the room. Both are standard in Norwegian hotels, so we did not bring our own kettle. And staff member tried to tell me that hot water from tap was as good as boiled water for our 3 month old baby..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Tjeldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Thon Hotel Polar is an Budget consept in Thon Hotels. Accross the street Thon hotels have another consept and perhaps better suited for you.
You can see some more information about the budgetconsept on our website.
We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My son and I stayed in Thom Polaris in Tromso, Norway and found it to be very good. THe location was very convenient for touring the city. We had no complaints. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is just off the main shopping street and close to the nightlife. Beware beer prices in Tromso are really expensive.
Reception is friendly and efficient.
The rooms are small and basic but spotlessly clean.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but there is a free drinks machine in reception.
Breakfast is in the next door restaurant and is really good. Try their fresh herrings, delicious.
Would recommend staying in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for you feedback and high rating! We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know how your stay at Thon Hotel Tromsø was, and it is great to hear you had a nice time. Welcome back next time you are in Tromsø.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Came off the MS Finnmarken (Hurtigruten) ship and walked ten mins to the hotel through the snow. Although I had asked for a room with a bath the didn't have one but the upgraded us to the 9th (top) floor with great views in a large clean room.
Very central to the town. Must go to a cafe called Knull og Trøtt... best sandwiches ever!
Breakfast is next door.... one of the best breakfasts I have ever had!
Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRichInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

It's my second time in a Thon hotel, after our visit to Alta three years before, and when I saw the availability of this hotel I didn't look for anymore, because the relation between quality and price is very high. The hotel is located in a privilege location, is very comfortable and clean, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is plentiful and assorted. We couldn't see the northern lights but the accomodation was good. A good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank Carles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear traveler,
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here in March as part of a large group and had a great experience. Thon Hotel Polar is basically a 3 star with good clean accommodation. The receptionist is very helpful and there is a bar/restaurant attached (Egon) which is always crowded. Experience was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as there is a club nearby and gets very noisy on the weekends late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear traveler,
We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Polar.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing