We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, and offers everything you would want in a budget hotel. The rooms are on the small side, but well equipped, modern and with a comfortable (double) bed. Check in and reception was excellent. A bonus was the included buffet breakfast in the attached Egon Restaurant.thoroughly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Muzando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    214
    118
    29
    11
See reviews for
68
156
77
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We all know Norway is expensive, so a 'budget' hotel is both a relief and a bit ironic. The Thon Polar was a great base to explore Tromso. My main test of a good room is the bed and this was bliss - when you've been up til 3am chasing green lights in the sky, sinking into a soft cocoon is pretty wonderful!
The real surprise were the staff. Nothing was too much trouble - sink is blocked and maintenance has gone home? Front desk guy is horrified and fixes it himself. Checking out to go on an overnight dog sled and Ned to store bags for 36 hours? Staff said 'no problem'. Their generosity of spirit and professionalism made this a memorable stay - in a budget hotel no less!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shez2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Your positive review has been shared with everyone here. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, US
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is a couple of blocks from the drop off stop of the airport bus. The staff was friendly, but not that helpful as other hotels where I stayed. The room was bigger than I had imagined. Wifi was good and fast. My room faced the square where the church was. It was nice view in winter.

The breakfast was the best I had during my whole trip in Scandinavia. it's set in the nearby restaurant. It had a variety of different bread, cold dished, hot dishes, drinks, cereals, etc.

Tromso is a small town and it is easy to go everywhere including bus stops from Hotel Thon Polar. The tourist office in Tromso is a few blocks away and they have the best staff of all tourist offices where i visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xiongxiong43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We were happy to hear that the overall impression of your stay was good.
Your comment is taken on to the Front Office Manager.
We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Situated a short (100m) walk from the bus stop from the airport and in the middle of Tromso this budget hotel is clean comfortable and well located.
The tourist information booth is nearby with details of all the trips including Northern Lights,Snowmobiles ,sledge rides etc.A word of caution..........the northern lights trip is not cheap neither is seeing them guaranteed being of course weather and condition dependant.There are 4 levels of possibility and although the trip my collegues went on was a 2 there was still no sign as a blizzaed closed in.The trip can be 6/7 hours in duration.
The hotel itself is very good ,the breakfast extensive with cereals ,fruit,meats,and eggs among other things available.Free Tea and coffee are available from a machine in reception.
The rooms are a good size and the underfloor heating in the bathroom a pleasant and welcome surprise. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if staying in Tromso

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just as important when travelling is where you would put up for the night.

The Thon Hotel Polar is a budget hotel, but its room is very comfortable and has an attached bathroom that is comfortably sized too (even for a big guy like me). The staff were friendly and all speak English, helpful and even cracked jokes with you. A salute to your great services Mikail Kose, Lilly Mathisen and Maria Wang.

My stay in the hotel was part of the package by ChasingLights.co and I think they choose well for me - a relatively fussy, need clean linens,access to food, no hassle free Wi-Fi, peace and quiet when I sleep type person.

I was given the 9th floor so I can see out northerly, but have sufficient east and west glimpses. The hotel also has access to an attached restaurant (Egon) that serves 3 meals, but no room services or overnights.

At the lobby, the Thon serves free coffee/tea. And its vending machine is well stocked. If the budget hotel doesn't grab you, you can go opposite the road to the Thon Hotel Tromso.
But really ... I like it here.

Met a few Japanese researchers, weekend party-goers, and African visitors, and then some. Yup we all agreed, its the place we would like to be.

Kudos to the hotel and the adventure company that booked me in here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.
I hope you got to see the amazing Northern Lights during your stay in Tromsø:)

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thon Hotel Polar is an excellent hotel. The excellence started when we checked in: Kjell on Reception was awesome. We were offered a choice of room (high up, facing North was the answer), he answered all our questions and offered good, thoughtful help and advice.

Room 942 (lift to floor eight and then a few steps up to floor nine) is large, warm, clean and has all that you need. The bathroom, while not huge, is plenty big enough and has a very pleasant shower. Free wi-fi is available in the room and free coffee is available from a machine in Reception. The only downside is the very soft bed. A problem for anyone with back problems.

Breakfast is at the adjoining Egon Restaurant and offers an ample choice of hot and cold dishes.

If we return to Tromso we'll return to Thon Hotel Polar!

Room Tip: Top floor facing North for the Northern Lights (if they appear!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank digitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success.
Kjell say thank you for the feedback you have given him.

Hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

this hotel offered good clean room with nice bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic with a big variety of dishes. hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free coffee and tea in the reception area. Computer and a printer were provided free for the use of the guests near the reception so we could print our boarding passes etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norge71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Polar during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing