We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave it as you find it.”
Review of Tromso Bed & Books

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tromso Bed & Books
Ranked #1 of 5 Tromso B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Writer's House for three nights in June. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, it was wonderful. We were made to feel incredibly welcome and given a tour of the house upon arrival.

Yes, as others have mentioned there were occasionally dishes in the sink and sometimes the work surfaces needed a wipe BUT it is made clear upon arrival to leave the communal areas as you would expect to find them so that can't really be put down to the owners. That's just lazy guests.

It is fun, quirky, gorgeous and ideally located. The beds are like sleeping on marshmallows - stupendously comfortable. I can't recommend Bed and Books highly enough and will absolutely visit again.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, go for the room downstairs in The Writers' House as all of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XoseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in both writer's home and fisherman's home and both were clean and well equipped although the Writer's home was slightly better. Both are close to the town center. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the price is hard to beat in this part of Norway. Would definately stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good:

Staff very friendly
Fisherman's has a washing machine
Writer's Home has a nice atmosphere and is clean

Bad:
Toilet facilities in Fisherman awfully dirty, small and one of them right next to the kitchen with thin "paper door"
Compared to most hotels cheap, but you can get a room in Skansen for almost the same price - with your own shower, blankets and breakfast included.

For travellers who have to save money it's alright, but I would only stay in the Writer's Home in the future.

Room Tip: Chose Writer's Home, not Fisherman's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomashunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

this hostel / home is a great place to stay if you are wanting value for money and a warm friendly home from home.
the beds are comfortable, there are 2 bathrooms with piping hot water to share, everywhere is clean and comfy
great view of the snow and freezing weather from various windows - whilst sitting comfortably in the warm
staff are very friendly and helpful, people leave food they have not used for others to share - which is useful in Norway as very expensive
15 minutes walk in the snow to the town centre - depending on the amount of ice on the pavement!
they have another property down the road a bit further from town, fisherman's home, which is on the water and looks lovely too...
highly recommend this place if you want bed and breakfast without the breakfast and to be in a homely environment rather than a hotel
as the name would suggest there is a library and comfy day bed to loaf about and it is very quiet and peaceful despite being on the main drag in to town

many thanks for a lovely stay

Room Tip: make sure you are clear what you are looking for and it is confirmed as there are a few people who l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here, and arrived in a blizzard, but immediately felt warm, welcome, and comfortable. Our room wasn't huge, but was nicely decorated and had a lovely view across to the mountain (when it wasn't snowing too much to see that far). Being able to cook your own food saves a small fortune, and the kitchen is well equipped, as well as sociable when everyone is around at mealtimes. The other guests were an interesting mixture of people, which added to the fun of staying here. Nothing bad to say about this place, really: it's lovely, and great value.

Room Tip: If you have a car, there are two parking spaces outside that guests can use if you ask in advance.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were looking for a nice, affordable place in Tromso and Bed&Books did meet up to our expectations. We stayed both in Fisherman's Home (Strandvegen 84) and Writer's home (Strandvegen 45) and these are actually quite different in quality. Fisherman's home has a beautiful view over the fjord but is also a bit run-down. Writer's home at the other hand was nicely decorated and much cleaner. Both places are really thin-walled so if you're a light sleeper (like me), bring earplugs! The best feature for us was the fact that there is a well equipped kitchen so you can do your own cooking and save a lot of money that way. I also loved the big breakfast table at Writer's home and the reading room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the second hostel we stayed at (our first being Ami Hotel). It was clean and cute and the girl checking us in was very helpful. You're pretty much left alone after that. We stayed in room number 1 which is next to the bathroom (not a good idea as you can hear people coming in and out, and when chasing northern lights, they come in at around 0300) It's about a 10 min walk max to the city center. Value for money, you can't beat it. Breakfast is not included. I would recommend the Ami as they provide breakfast, it's off the main road so no traffic noise, and a closer walk to the city center. If you're looking to save some money while staying in Tromso, both these places are lovely, clean, and a good way to meet other travelers.

Room Tip: Anything but room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ggeewwllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.7 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.5 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tromso Bed & Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tromso Bed & Books

Address: Strandvegen 45, Tromso 9007, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tromso
Price Range: $128 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tromsø Bed & Books you are staying at home, while being away from home. We are NOT a regular hotel, B&B or hostel. We are a Bed and Breakfast WITHOUT the breakfast, we are an ever changing community of tourists, or simply: a house with bedrooms. But more than that, we are a home. Your home - in Tromsø. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tromso Bed & Books reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing