We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Couldn't be more helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
London, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Does this hotel have the most helpful staff? Possibly the answer is "Yes".

From front desk to chambermaid and restaurant staff, everyone was truly engaged and eager to assist with making the stay in Tromso memorable. We didn't have to ask for a city map or recommendations. It was simply given in the most friendly and hospitable way.

The hotel can be reached by bus from the airport and if you arrive with a small-ish ship by foot. Town centre is only a few steps.

My recommendation is to try the fish selection for breakfast. It doen't come better or fresher. I think we overindulged on smoked salmon. Very good. Have the standard Radisson breakfast elsewhere, the local selection is far superior.

Room was clean and had a decent view. Only draw back: the rooms could do with updating. Bathroom smelled a bit and décor passed its best.

Apart from the room, there is nothing that could be done better.

Thanks for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    453
    218
    37
    22
See reviews for
125
437
95
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Radisson is right in the centre and quite a number of the Northern Lights tours pick up and drop off from outside the hotel which is REALLY convenient, especially at drop-off.
The rooms themselves were fairly standard Scandi design - rather on the small side, but we didn't pay for any type of upgrade.
We spent a lot of time in the "Top Relax" room that has lovely views across the harbour. It was a great place to laze and recover from late nights chasing the lights.
The breakfast buffet was ok. There was an excellent fruit and cold meat selection. You had to be quick to get the pastries which were amazing.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back of the hotel was a long walk but had a great view over the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Radisson Blu in Tromso is an excellent choice! My reservation was made by American Express, and all was in order at check in. Presented my Club Carlson Gold Card as requested by the receptionist who upgraded my room to a beautiful Harbour facing suite (Room 1055). Requested a 3pm check out and informed that would be fine. Really spectacular view of the bridge and the Harbour.

Good space for working and good connectivity for wifi. Bed was comfortable and the room had a nice bath tub in which to unwind. The suite came with a very nice private verandah as this was the top floor of the hotel - furnished so you could relax outside and enjoy the view. Sitting room had a nice comfortable sofa and large television. Air conditioning worked well.

Reception staff friendly and helpful and gave good practical advice for things to see and economically get around. Breakfast was standard Scandinavian which I very much enjoyed. Excellent stay!!!

I previously stayed at this hotel some years ago and stayed in the Mack Suit - named after the locally brewery the room was stacked full of artifacts from the brewery and looked more like a museum than a room, I loved it - I asked for it at check in again but unfortunately it was occupied. If your staying a few days n want some nostalgia - that certainly is a great room - as indeed is Mack beer come to that!! Skoll!!

Great hotel, great location and great staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
550 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 782 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was booked for us by Hurtigrouten and it is very conveniently located adjacent to the embarkation point for the ships. Let us say that the rooms are smaller than a typical college dorm or enlisted barracks on military bases. There is not enough room for our luggage or for anything we unpacked.
This hotel has many harbor side view rooms, even some with balconies, ours had neither view nor balcony. We had a drab view of other rooftops.
There was no help with luggage when arriving so we had to schlep our bags from bus to front desk, then up to our rooms. We asked if we could get help with our luggage when boarding our midnight ferry. The answer was "no".
Beds are European skinny singles, smaller than dorm beds. They are low to the ground and soft as mush. The firm back support we needed was not there and getting out of this was difficult.
Clean bathrooms are OK but again no place to put your stuff.
The positive report is that their complimentary breakfast buffet is excellent and has lots of variety of warm and cold dishes. Excellent selection of traditional Scandinavian Smorgasbord dishes like herring, lox, variety of cheeses and fresh breads. They also offer a chance to carry out a box lunch from the buffet for a minimal service fee. A real good idea for travelers.
It is short walk to shopping street and museums and most restaurants. Also adjacent to bus stop for airport and city buses.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice hotel close by the city center that you can visit walking. the sightseeing trips are having pick up just from the parking just next to the hotel. top floor has a great view over the city especially during new year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misiaLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
423 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed in two other Tromso hotels since my last visit over two years ago. Save for the unending construction project going on at the nearby hotel, this was a great stay. The hotel is well-maintained, the staff very friendly, and the service excellent. Most of the rooms have great views and the location (one the waterfront and easy walking distance to everything in the downtown core) is perfect. It is expensive, but very nice. The breakfast lay out is large and expansive -- eat hearty! The exercise room is way too small but the location is unbelievable -- with a stunning view of the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

this hotel was in a nice location near city center. It had easy access from the airport on the airport hotel bus so you didn't have to take a taxi. The room had view of the harbor. Accommodations were clean and acceptable but nothing fancy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#2 of 19 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#5 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjogata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9259, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing