We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Like others, we stayed here for one night at each end of a Hurtigruten cruise. rooms seem to be allocated on an ad hoc basis. The first night our room was huge although the view was limited.On our return we had a top floor disabled bedroom with an enormous wetroom. Neither of us is disabled but the room was a joy and should anyone need this type of facility then I can recommend it.
The only meal we ate there was breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Pavement outside the hotel were a bit icy, take a set of the ice grippers for your shoes.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Expensive, (Norway!!) but excellent location, especially for the Tourist Office, Bus station, various tour pick up points and the ferries as well as the museums and shopping.

We stayed 3 nights, and had a 5th floor room with views over the harbour to the Arctic Cathedral. The room was a good size, with hanging wardrobe, and armchair to relax in. We were out chasing the Aurora many nights and weren't back until 3 a.m., but found the beds very comfortable.

Breakfast was a reasonable self service buffet, although some options seemed to disappear faster than they could be replaced (bacon & eggs), and staff were not very attentive. The fitness suite was nice on the top floor, with the saunas having a great view over the water front. We dimmed the lights and reckoned it could be a good viewing lounge for the Aurora!

We found the desk staff to be very helpful. Anne Lise took a lot of trouble to help us find transport out to our next stay in Sommeroy at the Arctic Hotel (All Tromso's hire cars were booked out!), and then helped store our luggage when we took an overnight trip on the Hurtigruten ferry.

The hotel's pub is like a traditional fishing shack with obligatory Polar Bear, serving a good range of beers in a rustic ambience.

Room Tip: the waterfront views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here one night before, and one night after, a Hurtigruten cruise. Check in was brilliant, just gave our name and got our key. Standard room was very small, but you may be lucky and get a business room as allocation seems random. Take your own English tea bags as they only have Earl Grey and fruit ones. Shower was hot, but not that powerful. Didn't use the hairdryer. Only liquid soap, and no face cloths. Beds comfy. Breakfast was good, and there was soya milk and gluten free bread etc. Plenty of seating, even Sunday morning. Tip: go up to the 'relaxing' room on the 10th floor for a spectacular view of the harbor and mountains (use room key to get in). Turn off the light at night to get a better view. Sauna and gym in this room as well. Found reception staff helpful, but not smiley. Close to bus stop for cable car, and close to other attractions by foot.

Room Tip: Might be worth emailing to get a room with a view. We didn't and both couples did not get a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After spending a few days on the wonderous Hurtigruten we landed in Tromso and headed to the Radisson Blu for a couple of nights. We had a room overlooking the harbour so saw a steady stream of Hurtigruten boats heading through the harbour on the way north and south. Also a fabulous view of the cable car and arctic cathedral and sunrise. Not quite the right angle for northern lights but sadly due to lack of sun spot activity it wasn't an issue. Do load the northern lights app so you are on top on when it is worth trying to see something.
The conceirge put us on to a great seafood place on the water and we enjoyed more of the wonderful Norwegian cod and various other seafood options. The town is easy to access from the hotel as are two options for getting a bus to the airport.
The room was a nice size and all the usual things available. Breakfast was lovely and a chance to catch up with others travelling through. The sauna on the top floor is wonderful, try to schedule some time to spend there.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the view do ask for a higher floor with harbour views. If you want to watch for northe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tozc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hurtigruten book you into this hotel if you are starting/leaving from Tromso. It is clean, adequate, small towels and no bath mat, no "extras" in the room apart from dreadful coffee sachets [bring your own if you like decent coffee] but OK for a short stay. It is central and easy to walk to the ship/shops/sights and has a coffee shop in reception which is useful for meeting people. As other travellers have commented, breakfast is a bit of a scrum but the food is plentiful and OK. The staff can be helpful even when checking in at midnight but best to go to the information centre which is just a few minutes walk away for tourist information etc.

Room Tip: Book a business room to get best views or a room on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Expensive, (like everywhere in Norway), but a high standard of facilities.
Excellent breakfast choices.
Busy public areas and very busy breakfast area at peak times.
Very well located for attractions with most within walking distance, 10 minutes walk to the Polar museum; 25 minutes to the Arctic Cathedral plus another 10 minutes to the Cable Car.
Just a couple of hundred (walkable) metres from the boarding point for the Hurtigruten ship.
For arrivals of the southbound Hurtigruten ship, when there is a concert at the Cathedral of the North (normally the end of the week) luggage from ALL disembarking passengers is delivered to the lobby of this hotel regardless of where you are staying.

Room Tip: Email in advance to ask for a harbour view. Won't be guaranteed but will be held on your file.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had two nights at this hotel as part of our Hurtigruten Arctic cruise. It ia right by the quay where the ships dock and you can walk to all tbe main sights of Tromso easily as they are near. The hotel is generally what you expect of a four star hotel. However the room was small such that my wife hit her head on the wall mounted television every time she got out of bed. There was no stand on which to put your open case. For English people no proper milk was provided to make tea in your room - just dried milk sachets with Earl Grey tea bags and a kettle. Breakfast was excellent and cooked food was available so you could fill up for the day. The reception staff were very efficient allocating our rooms and answering all our questions in English.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#5 of 18 in Tromso
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $139 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Radisson Tromsø
Tromsø Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing