We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory, but convenient and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located, right next to Hurtigruta and just a few steps away from the airport bus. The front desk staff is amazing: friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast is great; I always order egg and bacon when I stay here, and the kitchen prepares this nicely. If you get a business class room at a good price, the hotel is a great place to stay. Nespresso coffee maker in your room, bathrobe, great view, comfortable bed and good sound insulation.

The hotel was redone a few years ago, but unfortunately, the rooms are not well maintained. Our first room had a constant high-pitched noise, and we were moved to a different room. However, in both rooms there were stains on the wall in the shower and holes and stains on the curtains. Our second room also had chewing gum on the floor. My daughter stepped on it and found it pretty gross. There were stains on several of the pillows and the lamps, and the plastic tube of the showerhead was broken (and clearly has been so for a while). Obviously, the hotel does not have any routines for maintenance and checking and insuring quality of cleaning. Part of the business room deal is a newspaper delivered to your room in the morning, which didn’t happen for our first morning their. When I asked housekeeping why I hadn’t got a newspaper, the reply I got was that she never had heard of such an arrangement. To top it all, the air conditioning didn’t work, but fortunately the window could be opened. a

Conclusion: ok place to stay if you get a good price. Good breakfast, friendly staff and comfy bed, but rather worne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aila_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Room/breakfast/service all fine. Good location in the city.
Even though it is in the Arctic, parking is an issue. The lot across the street from the entrance ended up costing what I considered and exhorbitant amount. I was not informed of this when I checked in. That was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel has good location in the town centre. Airport bus leaves just outside the hotel, taxi journey took about 10 minutes. When I arrived the person at the reception desk did not give me any information such as what time is breakfast and how the wifi works, nor was there any information leaflet at the room – that was strange. My single room was quite small and cramped with all the furniture. Easy chair was a strange modern thing that was very low and uncomfortable to sit in. TV was on the side wall high up and it was difficult to watch it anywhere else other than sitting in the easy chair. Queen bed was terribly soft, I literally felt like sinking when in the bed and that was not good for my back. Only good thing with the room was that it was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sininen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Being on a cruise its nice to get off and get a larger bed and place to stay. A standard but good hotel. Great location with good views over the bay and old and new town. Would recommend it. (I stayed 2011 not 2013 as it says below).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A regular good quality hotel.
Pros:
Located next to airport bus stop and Hurtigruten Ferries.
Short 2min walk to main street of old Tromso town
Quiet rooms - opening windows.
Sauna with fabulous view.
But the real bonus for travellers is the heated bathroom floor, which makes dry clothes really easy. Also if you get the breakfast included in your deal, you can purchase a lunch box for NOK50 which you can fill up with whatever you want from the breakfast selection - you can fit in enough for a good lunch for two at a price you can't beat.
Cons:
Like so much in Norway, there are things that don't work, like the plug in our sink, which despite reporting on day one was still not working when we left on day 4.
Room made up for one - not two as booked.
The early checkout breakfast is a rip off - one sandwich (made the night before) self serve coffee and a piece fo fruit and chocolate bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great view overlooking the bay of Tromso, nice rooms. Service is on the average, actually a little cold and unfriendly compared to other hotels in Norway (4th in 4 days). Good location, certainly to recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank opocaj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a weekend in this hotel, trough hotels.com in june 2013. We had a business room, that had a good size, clean, good beds, Nespressom maschine. We also had a front desk staff called Lill that were very helpful and friendly. She was the only one. We had a rather experience with the other staff, they could not give us a parking in the hotel, couse the staff had parked in guest parking, they insisted that we should by this place, but after a while, they "let us" buy the cheaper and easier parking ticket for Tromsø parking. The breakfast personell did not even see you, and had much better breakfast around the world. Next trip is booked, and is choosing Rica that is just beside this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Choose a business room and the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stian Hagemann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $144 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing