We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful view of the harbor and was clean and inviting. Many northern lights tours leave from in front of this hotel or the one across the street. The breakfast buffet included many options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    562
    286
    53
    25
See reviews for
162
544
120
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breivikbotn Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed there 2 nights, have payed for junior suite 5500 NOK(730 EURO) for 2 nights and would say that it was disappointing stay. At first you cannot regulate temperature in your room it was very hot, even with the open window and regulator was broken! I had a couch in my room I think this couch maybe 20 years old and it has few big dirty spots so we didn't want to seat on it, the bed had a simply piece of porolon dropped on the matrace, not normal overmatrace! There was a phone near bed you can see dust layer on it! They must do something with cleanliness. Next time definetly take another hotel and will not recommend to anyone.Its 3star value not more. The position of hotel is very good, its close to the centrum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darius I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I loved the location. Neat and has an excellent view. We were there during the Christmas Hols and things were shut everywhere food-wise but they whipped some nice lunches and dinners despite the holidays.

This trip was in dec-2011 (not available as an option below)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajumadeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rooms are nice and clean, up to typical Scandinavian standards. The hotel's upstairs bar sports an amazing view, but don't expect a cocktail menu. When I went, I had to show the bartender how to make a cocktail, but it was off-season. The rooms are very comfortable and you have access to all the usual things to expect in a hotel room: TV, good pressure shower, minibar and blinds and heavy curtains! The latter are essential in the area during summer as the midnight sun will keep unexpected travellers up all night. After a few nights of it, it loses its charm.....

Bed was like sleeping on a cloud. I went downstairs during the night and the staff was very nice (I asked for the wifi password as I couldn't sleep due to a bit too much caffein). Next day, the breakfast was magnificent as it always is. It gets busy and tables can take a bit to be cleared as the staff are always running around trying to make sure everyone's happy. Great coffee (if you like it black, as most Norwegians drink it like that). I recommend the pancakes!

I go here about once a year and trust me...this is the place to stay in Tromso!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view...try and get a room towards the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good location. View from room was fantastic. Family room was in fact quite spacious. Even though outside was -10 C the room was nice and warm if not bordering hot. Could not get the coffee machine going so had to do with a kettle for teas or coffees.
Breakfast was ok. Domestic toaster to use at breakfast was a joke. Breakfast rather busy with passengers from the ships that use the hotel for overnight stays. Food ok and their is a variety for everyone's taste.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water offer a magnificent view. They tend to be a bit noisy when the cruise ships b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not too much to do in Tromso. Staying in your room and enjoying the great view is an option but impractical if there is more than one person in the room. So tiny are the rooms that you can't fully open the bathroom door when you use the bag rack in front. So you decide to use the gym. There's enough space but no equipment save for a treadmill and a stepper. Not even free weights. But a sauna (again) with a view. So you finally ask the front desk what to do. You get a useful recommendation: The Polar Zoo. But a wrong information about travel time. Luckyly the sun doesn't set for a long time so you still find your way back albeit 3 hours later than you thought. At least you have a decent selection of restaurants even at that late an hour. As the hotel room is cheap compared to the dinner tab you don't mind too much to come back to your shoe box.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brotherdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

NORWAY is very expensive, and not all that welcoming. Norwegian Air very basic, no amenities available and never a smile from staff. Tromso interesting, but take LOTS of cash! Example 30 to 40 dollars for a basic bowl of pasta; and even in hotel a cup of tea or instant coffee is $8 to $10.
If you miss the Northern Lights.., Which is common, as only about 1 in 3 do see them, during "high season" (november to February) ... do go to the Science Museum at university... A very good planetarium with special film on Northern Lights. Worth the effort, but check film times... Only one show per day when we were there.
Overall? Radisson is very comfortable and clean, and very good included breakfast. Tromso, however is over-rated, and not a very good experience. Should have gone to Iceland... Or Cornwall, or somewhere (anywhere) else!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MorCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing