We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upper floor views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“upper floor views”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I used the hotel either side of a Hurtigruten Artic Highlights trip booked through Hurtigruten which worked really well . On arrival we the very large number of guests arriving all at one time were expected and check in was super fast . I had been in touch with the hotel before arrival based on previous TripAdvisor comments to request a high floor room and this is what we were allocated . The room was good quality and the view over the harbour to the bridge , Tromso's ' artic cathedral ' and he mountains beyond was superb . Rooms were not huge but adequate . In room tea and coffee was good but no milk on the second occasion we stayed .The breakfast buffet was excellent and repleished regularly . We had a couple of special requests of the hotel which were accomodated with a smile and efficiently . We found most of the staff friendly. The building does not have a lot of character but is centrally located just metres from the airport bus stop , the Hurtigruten boat terminal and the main shopping street .
For the second nights say I requested the same high floor and we were even allocated the same room .

Room Tip: go for a high floor overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    558
    281
    51
    25
See reviews for
160
538
118
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for two separate nights., before & after a hurtigruten trip. Couldnt believe no kettle or tea/coffee in room. Simple thing, but after a long trip, expect to be able to make a cup of tea, especially at the prices this hotel charges. Desk explained that they don't yet have kettles in all the rooms......!! When arrived second time, was late at night, found that there was a kettle, but no milk. Had to hunt round hotel for some. Only benefit of the hotel is its so close to the ferry. Otherwise - look elsewhere. Room was ok, but the place is really only for ferry travellers & conferences. Breakfast was good, but needs better set out of the buffet. Was a real scrum with the number of people all trying to get drinks and food from such a small poorly set out area. Overall, very disappointed at the hotel for the price it charges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only a short time; 1:30 am to 9:00 am We arrived tired and had a wonderful night followed by an excellent breakfast. The bedroom was really spacious, in pristine condition and very. clean. Perhaps I am being unduly critical in commenting that the lifts had minds of their own!! Staff were friendly. No problems

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are well appointed (we had a superior double).

However, there were a couple of irritations that knock the score down a little.

Firstly, our room was cold. The room air conditioning unit doesn't allow you set a temperature, only increase or decrease the current temperature by 1, 2 or 3 degrees. Despite putting ours on +3 for the full three days, our room never warmed up quite enough.

Secondly, a superior room includes tea and coffee facilities (the first time I've ever seen this as a premium instead of standard feature). Frankly, they were a waste of time. The kettle had to be plugged in on the other side of the room because there was no outlet near the BUILT-IN tea and coffee module. There was no proper tea - only herbal (I'm English - this is important!), and they didn't renew the used items.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoodooMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just come back from trip to Norway. Stayed in this hotel. Not a problem. Reception staff very helpful and polite. Read some reviews before going..bit sceptical. But our experience ...not a problem. The room was very clean and tidy. The bathroom passed my wife's standards (very high standard I might add). There was not a problem at breakfast time even with the hurtigruten cruise people present. Personally I think some people just like to twine.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights after finishing a Hurtigruten cruise. Can't comment on the price as it was part of a package, but prices in Norway are generally quite high. The hotel is in an ideal location about 100 metres from the quay and close to the tourist information centre. Had no problem checking in at around midnight despite the fact that a large group was arriving off the boat. There was nowhere open where you could buy food or drink at that time of night (other than the mini-bar in the room) so it's advisable to schedule your on-board meals accordingly.

The room had a side view but was quiet and nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable if slightly softer than usual. The bathroom was modern with a shower cubicle. There were just a few minor logistical irritations with the layout of the room but nothing too serious.

The first 2 floors of the hotel consist of meeting rooms. There's free wifi throughout the hotel and it works well in guest rooms. The Arctic Guide Service has an office just outside to the rear of the hotel, through a door next to reception, where you can book a variety of tours and excursions. There's also a kiosk in reception where you can book tours online.

The buffet breakfast was good but the breakfast room doesn't make very good use of space. The tables are larger than necessary and take up a lot of space, so it was difficult finding a free table at busy times. The experience seems to depend on your time of arrival. I had no problem when arriving before 8am, but the morning I had a lie-in after being out late on the northern lights tour was more of a problem as tables were either occupied or weren't being cleared quickly enough, but there's not much you can do about it if everyone decides to have breakfast at the same time.

The city centre is compact and easy to explore on foot. The streets in Tromso are very icy in winter so it's advisable to wear ice grippers on your shoes when walking outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were staying here for 2 nights after our cruise with Hurtigruten - so it was chosen for us.

It was a good standard of hotel and was very clean and well appointed. Rooms were a good size although maybe trying to be too trendy for their own good... the "artwork" left a little to be desired. Comfy beds and a nice shower room with decent sized towels and excellent shower.

Hotel was let down by a bad breakfast. It was buffet style, but most of the hot food was luke warm and had a mass produced flavour - with powered eggs etc! There were not quite enough tables and they were not being cleared quickly enough. The staff seemed to prefer hanging around in a corner chatting.

It was also let down by some refurbishment going on which started at 7am in the morning with the sound of drilling and hammering. Especially annoying having wanted a lie-in after a late arrival the night before. Called reception and they didn't seem very bothered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing