We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very central, clean with all amenaties. Nice views of the harbour and very central. A stones throw from some great waterside restuarants. Many of the tours kleave from the hotel (or next to it). There are also tour guides in the hotel to help with tours and its aound the corner from the tourist centre (which is a must to visit).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    557
    280
    51
    25
See reviews for
160
537
117
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
252 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is indeed very good. The bus from the airport stops just in front of it, and almost all activities in the nature starts from there as well. There is to say that 3 out of 4 of the main hotels in the city are there. So it would be the same with the other ones. From outside the hotel you can also enjoy a great view of the mountains, the water and the cathedral just in front of you. Tromso is a really small town, so you will reach each place in max 10 minutes walk. The hotel seems to be recently renovated, very nice bathrooms. The quality of the beds was so and so, especially the pillow was really bad, there were no others and I had problem in sleeping. The breakfast was good, included in the price, with a lot of nice selection and food. Very appreciated also the free wi-fi. If back in Tromso I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel and there were a lot of things that disappointed us. Maybe I had a lot of expectations because the hotel website promises that it is a first class full service hotel. Unfortunately, I disagree with this statement. I would begin with a few positives. The hotel has a great location, located right in the city centre and opposite to Rica Ishavshotel, which is the meeting point for most of the excursions. Upon arrival at the hotel, we asked for a room with a good view and the lady at the reception did manage to find a room as per our request. The room was on 8th floor but the internet connection never worked properly during our entire stay probably because our room was the corner-most. Whatever the reason, it is the hotel's responsibility to provide a good connection throughout the hotel, irrespective of the room's location. We had to run down to the lobby everytime we wanted to access the internet. There was also some problem in the servers because of bad weather due to which the internet was down on one day, but we faced the same problem everyday. My biggest disappointment came in the form of poor service from the staff. The staff at the reception was completely unaware of the booking machine installed in the reception area and also unaware about what services were offered at the hospitality desk located opposite the reception. We wanted to book a tour for snowmobiling and the receptionist directed us to the hospitality desk without even knowing that the desk was set up by a group organizing Aurora Chase Excursions. The least I expect from the staff is to be knowledgeable about the area they are working in, if not the entire hotel. I am a hotelier myself and having worked in luxury hotels, I don't think that I am expecting too much from a reputed hotel. Let alone the cracked mirror in the room, a crack in the washbasin and a nonfunctional reading lamp. Of course it isn't a pleasing site to find all this in your room. And I wonder if it costs to smile. Also, when we first reached the hotel the revolving door at the entrance stopped working for reasons unknown. There were other guests too who were waiting outside and wondering how to get in. Even the reception being just 4-5 metres away from the entrance, nobody bothered to help the guests waiting outside. Really disappointed with the service.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on a higher floor, you get a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cestlevie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

HIghly recommend this hotel as it is in such a great location in Tromso. Lots of the tours go from either the Radison or the Rica Ivashotel opposite, so very convenient. The breakfast has a great selection and starts at 8 am to 11 am, which is great when you've been out aurora searching late into the night! Rooms are large and we had a fantastic view across the sea to the cathedral, beautiful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel and the view from our room to the harbour was fantastic. Nice desk and couple of comfortable lounge chairs. Convenient for walking around. Breakfast was good. We booked a superior room so had a safe and tea making equipment. We didn't use it but the gym had sauna rooms with views out to the harbour which looked pretty cool. We were in the new part of the hotel which was closer to the harbour so I think these rooms are newer than the other part of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location - Central Tromso beside Hurtigruten terminal. Ideal for shopping or if you're going on to the Hurtigruten Cruise. Plus most tours pickup outside the hotel.

Check-in, check-out - Very efficient and friendly.

Room - Huge double-aspect room with beautiful views across the harbour (which were a pleasure to wake up to), but it was an Exec room, so larger than normal. Bed ok comfort-wise. Curtains didn't cover window which let light in. Very clean. Dated decor though and TV located at right-angle to bed so difficult to watch.

Facilities - Gym, sauna, coffee bar, restaurant, lovely 10th floor viewing platform for remarkable sunsets.

Negatives - Nothing major.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour.... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and found it to be excellent. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the harbour, our room was the most spacious of any during this trip and we had the added bonus of tea and coffee facilities The bathroom was also a decent size. We found the reception staff particularly friendly and helpful no matter what the query. The hotel is in a great location for exploring central Tromso, just round the corner from the Tourist Information and the bus terminal and across the road from the Hurtigruten berth. Breakfast was also good - pretty similar to what we had at all the other hotels we stayed at in Norway.

Special recommendations - dog sledding with Tromso Villmarksenter and Aurora chasing with Green Fox Guiding.

Room Tip: We had room 508 which was first class with magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing