We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

In the always expensive Scandinavia, the great food that you can have bundled with the room will save you. It is not only a great bargain, but creates a friendly living room environment to relax outside of your room.

The staff was excellent and the rooms were nice. Not very high end, but efficient and clean. I cannot think of another place to stay in the city after living there for 5 days.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel With is a really nice hotel, when you stay there you need nothing else, everything is provided.
Free water, fruit and coffee and tea during the whole day. A gigantic breakfast buffet is served every morning , midday waffles and a tasteful evening meal.
Beds are very comfortable and the view from our room was amazing.
The only problem we found was that the room was not especially clean upon arrival, hair in bathroom and kind of dusty, we got extra housekeeping the next day after we had reported it.
The staff was wonderful, very helpful and serviceminded.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water. Beautiful view over the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

In expensive Norway, this hotel was an absolute gem! Not only was it neat and clean, it was in an awesome location and the staff were fantastic! The jewel in the crown though was the included breakfast ("sure you can make some rolls and take them with you for lunch!") followed by free waffles from 3-6pm followed by... yes, seriously... free dinner from 6-10pm! Can you believe it?!?! Not only this, but the staff did a whole bag of washing for us for free too!! Awesome, awesome, awesome. The money we saved on food, we spent on a dog sled tour which is one of the most amazing things I have ever done. All I can say is, go to Tromso, go dog sledding, see the northern lights, stay at the CCH With.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_Humphries80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay. The food, staff and accomodation were all great. Couldn't fault the buffet with fresh fruit available all day The heated floors in the bathrooms a real bonus to dry your boots out after a day in the snow.

Room Tip: Higher floors give good views over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddiesMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent 3 days in this hotel and was surprised at the quality of it. It is probably the fifth ranked hotel in tromso yet, in view of it's price and the fact that during the day hot drinks and food is supplied, it ranks number 1 in my book.
All hotels in Norway are more than normal prices, and, in addition, if you want anything beyond their breakfast then you pay for it.
No such rule in this hotel. Hot drinks, waffles and biscuits appear during the day and are all complimentary.
The staff obviously feel the feedback of thankful guests because they, in turn, are kind, considerate and helpful.
One useful thing to remember in Norway is that pensioner discounts on boats and museums begin at 68 - the age Norwegian State pensions start.
So, if you're travelling on Hurtigruten, for example, when asked your age, you'll get no reduction if you smile and say 65 or 67 !!

Room Tip: You could try asking for a front view, but to be honest, we spent little time in our rooms and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsborneViewpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is an excellent find in the beautiful town of Tromso. The staff are helfpful and friendly, whilst the food included as a sort of bonus is fantastic - and very much appreciated in rather expensive Norway. This homely hotel really made our trip to Norway.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we came back. Staying in a hotel where you never go hungry, especially in a country as expensive as Norway really does make the difference. It also has a gym and sauna and a lounge where you can spend time with the rest of your group. Every hotel should do waffles - yum!

Room Tip: Choose a harbour rooms - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM_Carter_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $129 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing