We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”
Review of Quality Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Saga
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for money”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We spent three nights here, and found it to be good value for our money. The bathroom is a bit small with no place to leave your things. Found the internet code reseting every day to be a small annoyance, but at least it was complimentary.

The staff were in general very friendly, but one of the kitchen staff was quite rude, and they were slow to refill the breakfast buffet.

Location is great, and we wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plymmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    147
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
41
99
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located in Tromsø. Airport buses stops nearby, and the boat and bus terminals are just outside. Some rooms have great views, while others look into the walls of adjacent buildings.

The hotel consists of two buildings, one from the 1960s (or so) and one a few years old. The new part has the reception area, most of the communal areas and the restaurant. Rooms seem to ble split evenly between the two parts. The conference facilities are in the older building.

With exception from the conference facilities, the communal areas are very nice. There was an evening buffet for hotel guests. The conference rooms was quite outdated and 1970ish, with exception of the two larger conference rooms themselves. My guest room was in the new part, modern, but nice. Desk was somewhat small. Bed was comfortable. Small, but good bathroom with a real shower partition that kept the other parts of the room dry.

Staff was friendly and effective.

I had most of my meals at the hotel, and got tired of it very soon. Missed some more variety. Portions (for dinner) were quite small.

I would be happy to stay here agin, but would go somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: The od part seems to have better views, while the new part has more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very modern and almost stylish hotel right on the church square in central Tromso, a lovely and lively city with plenty of diversions for a couple of days. About ten minutes uphill walk from the Hurtigruten stop and two minutes from the bus "station" so good for travellers. I was given a long and narrow single room with a nice dormer overlooking the station. As noemal in Norway the room was immaculate and the bathroom was well outfitted. It is hard to say good value for money, but this is Norway and Tromso is a popular business and tourist stop. Breakfast was plentiful and wireless free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Modern and clean Hotel, though a bit expensive as all hotels in norway. Stayed for four nights. The wifi was a bit annoying with telenor codes, free though. Breakfast was the same everyday with too much fish.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed three nights in Tromsø after four great days on a Hurtigruten ship, so we wondered if a moderate hotel north of the Arctic Circle would be as comfortable/enjoyable. It was! Our top-floor Superior room was large, with two single beds and a sofa bed (already made up, as requested online), desk and chair, coffee table and upholstered chair with footstool - and a rocking chair! Blackout curtains allowed us to sleep at night when the sun didn't set till midnight. Large bathroom with tub/ shower, and the floor heat that we didn't need to switch on. Breakfast had all the Norwegian varied fish, cold cuts, wonderful brown breads, the expected eggs, cereals, juices, and loads of fresh fruit. Coffee, of course. Helpful desk clerks answered in English our many questions as first-time visitors. Location a mere 10-minute stroll from Hurtigruten pier, Tourist Information center, and one of the many art museums. Across the street is a terrific souvenir store; across the square, the Protestant cathedral; half-block away, Emma's fabulous restaurant; other direction, the world's northernmost 7-11 store with its ATM and mouth-watering sandwiches. Public transport only a couple of blocks away. Keeping in mind that everything in Norway is very expensive, this is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hi All

After reading the reviews of this hotel i decided to book the hotel through the choicehotel website as they had an internet discount.

I tried with my credit card but was rejected because of Billing information, i tried with another card and got the same, i tried this on a different PC and got it again. My wife (separate account) tried with 3 credit cards and got the same. So after several attempts i tried calling the hotel to tell them there website isnt working and to book the hotel over the phone only to be told i couldnt have the room at the internet rate. Now why on earth would i pay extra because of there faulty website? I have emailed them to complain but had no reply so to me it sounds like a scam.

I did try calling the Choice hotel customer service number but again thats a joke, press 9 for English but its still Norweigan, how am i suppose to press 1, 2 or 3 if i dont understand the language.

Ive given up on this hotel and thought it would be best to share this experience with everyone on Tripadvisor so your not caught with the same scam and pay extra for the room

Shocking and i havent even stayed there yet!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fencer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Just home from Tromsø I cannot say that the hotel gave me much pleasure. Minimalistic in shape and in service. Tromsø is full of nice people, a pity that no on cared to hire them at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Saga

Property: Quality Hotel Saga
Address: Richard Withs Plass 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Saga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing