We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurora trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Aurora trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Centrally located hotel in Tromso good for aquarium, arctic museum, shops, bars etc. Located right on the waterfront where you can see all the fishing boats. We walked from here, across the bridge to the cathedral, exhilarating in a blizzard of snow.
Our room did not have a view and was rather cramped and lacking in space to hang/store clothes.
Access to complimentary coffee in the lounge downstairs was welcome when coming in from the cold. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and very good service from staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your review, this is always important tos us as we always work to improve our services.

Welcome back.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    232
    80
    39
    17
See reviews for
82
308
35
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

That Tromsø is called the Paris of the north is easy to confirm after a perfect weekend at Aurora!! Super staff, great food, magnificent hotel, perfect location!!!
After this weekend I will not use another hotel for my stays in Tromsø!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay!

Welcome back :-)

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in June and had a very good stay.
The room was clean and nice. The breakfast was good, but started too late on Sunday so had to miss it due to a dogshow. Very petfriendly hotel and the evening buffet was very good. Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lf-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you did not get our "early bird" upon departure on Sunday, we do have sandwiches in reception for guests leaving early in the morning :-) Please ask for this next time if we should miss to offer you this.

Welcome back!

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was our last night in northern Norway and we chose to stay in this new hotel in Tromso. Location is pretty good and the interior decor his quite minimalist and very trendy. The service corteous and efficent, a nice bar on the 12 floor with a view on the city. The rooms are quite small,but, if you just spend just a night it is ok. The breakfast is excellent, the best that we had in our norwegian trip ith a great choice of excellent and fresh food. We think it is the best place in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitfirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, but I guess this one is for our colleagues at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as we do have spacious rooms and no bar on the top-floor, but an out-door jacuzzi :-)

Welcom to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora next time you visit Tromsø!

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay there. The hotel is centrally situated and everything was within walking distance. Good breakfast buffet. The only concern we had was the room was really warm but it was an unusually warm period!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoied your stay! Sorry about the heat... but we do not often experience this problem up here.

Welcome back!

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our first trip to Norway, with Tromso our first stop, so it was great to have a quiet and comfortable room to relax and start our holiday.

The Hotel Aurora (Bryggen when we booked) was a great location to walk to local sites, including museums and the cable car. The botanical garden was a little further to go, but still doable by foot.

It really is in the heart of Tromso, with very friendly and helpful staff, clean and pleasant rooms, plus breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner all included in the very reasonable price.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Tromso. If only all hotels could be like this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed both your stay in Tromsø and in our hotel.

Welcome back and have a great summer!

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you need to sleep change hotel. The bed in the standard room is small (140 cm) and not comfortable. Only when you arrive there you know that the moderate room and some standard room have this small bed. The standard room is of very low quality. If you order a twin room they change room when you arrive and so you can get the room that you'd like to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Catello D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. As we have several categories of rooms here should be something for everyone.

Feel free to see us again and book one of our other rooms, I am sure one of them will satisfy your desires.

We wish you a great summer.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#2 of 19 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing