We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

From the Airport get the bus to the city centre, which is expensive at £10 each return for 15 minute travel (but most things are expensive in Norway)
Excellent hotel and very close to one of the bus stops (walking time less than 5 minutes)
Rooms comfortable, clean and superb shower rooms. Hot tub on the outside is lovely and you get amazing view of the harbour and mountains beyond
Superb food in the hotel and very friendly staff, superb varied choice for lunch and plenty of it and caters for all dietary requirements (lactose free options, gluten free options, and others)
Other staff also friendly and helpful,
Definitely worth checking out if you get a chance and if you book via tromsoadventures if you do any sledding / snow mobile trekking you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    301
    106
    51
    22
See reviews for
108
404
41
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel has a great location , its within walking distance from the attractions, public transport , shopping and restaurants. I like the rooms , they were the largest we got during our lapland tour! They are functional and tidy. They have a nice restaurant serving a great breakfast buffet overlooking the harbour. The sauna and gym is good , with a outdoor hot tub!!I also liked the tea / coffee counter in the reception Reception staff was helpful. The airport bus stops just behind the hotel. The have a good car park , if you have a car but beware they make for a full day even if you park for 10 mins!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Excellent location by the harbour with excellent views, and walking distance to the the town centre.
Very few rooms however have a harbour view, so if this is important to you, then book on the hotel's website or by phone.
Our room was clean and warm and we were not bothered that we had no harbour view as we were out and about all the time.
Staff are friendly, efficient and very professional. There is complimentary tea and coffee 24hrs in the lobby and breakfast was really good.
I do agree with other reviewers that the 'wet style' shower rooms are not ideal, but this was not an issue for us... We would stay here again if we go back to Tromso...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_19London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for four great nights. The rooms are comfortable but not large. The bathroom is small and the shower area very small, but the glass shower door works okay. Not a bathroom to luxuriate in. The breakfast is very good and much easier than trying to go out for food. Not sure if the cost is the same as breakfast restaurants, but everything is very expensive so it really doesn't matter much. The hotel staff are great and friendly. And the location is great, right down at the harbor and near just about everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Telletdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Hope to welcome you back sometime!

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Oddly we weren't actually supposed to have a room here in the first place. We were in Tromso with a scheduled 10 hour break between disembarking from the northbound Hurtigruten ferry and embarking on the southbound ferry at midnight. As we got off the (late) northbound ferry, in sleet and walking through slush, we were very glad that we had booked a room for our use during the evening, even though we weren't going to spend the night in it.

Our booking was at the Clarion Collection's Hotel With, across a very small car park from the Hotel Bryggen. The extremely charming young lady at Hotel With (speaking perfect idiomatic English) apologetically explained that there was a leak in our room at the With, so we would be accommodated at the Hotel Bryggen. She said that this was a more expensive hotel, but obviously we would pay only the booked rate at the With and would be welcome back at the With for the free buffet supper.

The man at reception in the Bryggen was obviously under pressure, with a number of rooms not yet ready and (we thought) others waiting for their rooms, even though it was now 1630. We were allocated a room quickly, however.

Our first surprise was the way in which every noise from other rooms, reception and the corridor outside was audible in our room (and my hearing is far from perfect). Even though we were not going to unpack, we were also surprised by the lack of any drawers or storage facility except for three poor quality coat hangers in a tiny recess (with three hangers obviously missing).

The hotel can't really help its bland and characterless design, but it could do something about the shabby and filthy condition of the stairs (which we often use in preference to a lift). The way that the hotel snakes away from the harbour means that not many rooms can have a harbour view (although there is an excellent spot for photographs by the popular jacuzzi).

A digression - if I spoke Norwegian I would have learned a lot about the family in the next door room in the last couple of minutes as I've heard every word through the wall.

I don't understand how Clarion distinguishes between those of its hotels which get a free buffet - an absolute boon in the most expensive country in the world for tourists - and those which don't; Hotel With does, Hotel Bryggen doesn't. Interestingly With offers those staying at Bryggen their buffet for the very reasonable price of NOK150 (which of course we weren't asked to pay).

The buffet at Hotel With was, as in Trondheim, not a gourmet meal, but was perfectly adequate especially as it was free. We then looked around part of the Hotel With, thinking that character had been introduced into what I took (in the dark) to be a modern building.

Both hotels are only a few minutes walk from the Hurtigruten landing stage and in the centre of Tromso.

From what we saw we liked Hotel With (and I shall try to copy this review to their entry), but really were very unimpressed by Hotel Bryggen. We were very glad that we weren't actually spending a night in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

I am sorry about the noice from other rooms, we are in a dialogue with the owners of the building about this. We are rebranding our hotel to be Clarion Collection (Like With) from May so we are going to do some reconstructions and we will also serve a free evening meal, coffe and wafles from May 1st. We do hope to see you back here sometime.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake district, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a moderate room which we found to be more than adequate for our 5 night stay here. The room temperature was just right and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a really powerful shower in the bathroom, which did flood the floor, but as there was underfloor heating it didn't take long to dry out. The only niggle was a lack of storage space in the bedroom.
All the staff were encountered were friendly, helpful and professional.
Breakfast here was fantastic - a great selection of hot and cold choices - more than enough to set you up for the day.
The hotel is located right by the harbour in the centre of Tromso and ideal for exploring the city and using the bus network.
A very comfortable stay and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed our hotel and services. Regarding the storage space we are trying to find good solutions for those of our moderate rooms (as they are not very spacious).

We do hope to welcome you back sometime.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was part of the Hurtigruten package so not sure how much it would cost if booked separately. Quick and helpful check-in. Room was of a very good size, modern decor with everything that we required. Breakfast had a very good selection of fish, cold meats, cooked items and bread. Hotel is situated near the waterfront in the centre of town and very handy for the buses. Free coffee and tea in the lobby and wifi in the room which made it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Hope to welcome you back sometime.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing