We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from our trip to Tromsø, and we were quite happy that we stayed at the Clarion Bryggen! GREAT location in middle of everything, and just about everything we wanted to see in town is within five minutes walking time. The staff was so very friendly and helpful with all of our silly tourist questions, and really went out of their way to help us get around the area. (Surprisingly, for a tourist destination, Tromsø doesn't do a very good job of pointing out their information center, posting street signs, or offering English on restaurant menus). I am not one of those people that thinks everything needs to be in English to cater to me, but there are a LOT of Brits, Americans and Canadians traveling to this area for holiday...just sayin).
Anyway, the room was a very good size, decent view, and allowed you to set your own temperature. Big bathroom, with a nice deep tub / shower combo. The included breakfast was very tasty and offered a diverse selection. Coffee and tea could be had for free throughout the day, and was much appreciated with our wacky schedule. Fast and free WiFi always puts a smile on my face, and the signal was good throughout the hotel. The only small items that keep me from awarding a top score.... The cleaning staff didn't do an awesome job, and our toilet area had a bit of a funk throughout our stay (I think a previous lodger may have peed back behind the toilet), and although nice (and keeping in mind that it IS Norway), I still found it to be a bit spendy. That all said, I would definitely stay here again unless I'm going back for a lengthy stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Buzzerfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for rating us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. I am so sorry the cleaning was not at your expectations, but we are handeling this at this moment by changing from outsourcing to in-house services. We hope you will come and see us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 957 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here twice (briefly) on a Norweigen tour.
Its perfectly situated in the middle of Tromso, about 200m from the last flybus stop and the Hurtigruten mooring.
The rooms are standard city fare with a few nice features (like looking up from your bed to a picture taken from underneath the sea!), plenty of space and very warm.
Rooms at the back (odd numbers) can get some noise in the morning from the service area behind but we were not badly disturbed.
Breakfast is fantastic, lots of choice with local items as well as everything else you expect. Fill yourself up to minimise the expense of eaing out.The breakfast area is light and airy.
Although the hotel is on the harbour front dont expect sea views as it is built side on. Some rooms get a bit of a view but thats as good as it gets from what I could see. This also means that the main entrance is not on the main street and so is not very obvious when you first arrive.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevTheClotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a single night stop off after a cruise and it was perfectly comfortable.

Nice location, next to the ferry port as well as a handful of restaurants, although the room we had faced another building.

The room itself was very clean and well equipped, nice bathroom and a very comfy bed.

A large thumbs up for the internet connection, fast and reliable, really annoys me in British hotels when that isn't provided.

Breakfast was a little limited, but over all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfyManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent location close to the town centre and vey accessible to all the tourist sites.
Room small, comfortable, clean and everything in good working order. Room was warm and cosy in winter. Amazing jacuzzi on roof top. Close to some of the top restaurants in Tromso. The reception was top rate and did things efficiently by booking our taxi and give us early breakfast before our early morning flight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlawrencesoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel from the 13th to 15th of February for a business meeting (not at the hotel). Rooms were spacious enough for my needs but for a longer stay, the "more-or-less" lack of storage for clothes/luggage would probably be a nuisence. Rooms were clean and tidy.

NB!!:Bathrooms are equipped for those who are disabled with handlebars at the door, next to the toilet and a fold down chair in the shower. Very nice for those who need it!

Breakfast was delicious with a broad variety ( meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, hot food etc) and tables were cleaned swiftly. Also it maintained delicate throughout the morning (from 7-10 AM). Furthermore there is a stunning view out to the fjord with the bridge and mountain to accompany your morning meal.
Receptionists were polite and friendly. The lounge area around the reception isn't very large but modern and comfortable.

The surrounding area have many nice restaurants such as Fiskekompaniet (fresh, tasty, "chic" seafood) and Lotus (Sushi/asian - with many aquariums in the walls), both less than 3 minutes walk away.

All in all a great experience!
P.S: They have an outdoor Jaccuzzi free for guests to use. There is a gym close to the hotel where guests can exercise for a charge of 100,- per "session"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlend D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a brilliant hotel, but what really makes it is how friendly and helpfull the staff are. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff. We told them we were there to see the northern lights at which point the checked us in gave us info on trips. We decided which one we wanted and told them, to which they quickly advised us of a cheaper more intimate tour, they were all full but they percerveered and got us on one which was also cheap!!! brilliant service, very tidy hotel, views of Tromso bridge and harbour are breathtaking. 10/10

Room Tip: This hotel has rooms overlooking the harbour and bridge, not sure of the price but I would definetel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleybear1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice during Norwegian holiday. Can't think of anything I disliked about it. It's very clean. Rooms are a bit sparse, but that's not a problem. Shower rooms are spotless and warm. Breakfast very good. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $143 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing