We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Kragero Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for one week for business. Fancy hotel, really nice rooms. Big comfortable bed, clean large bathroom. Friendly staff all over, excellent breakfast with delicious icecold drinks. Wonderful view over the harbour, Tromsø bridge and Ishavskatedralen. One minute walk to all bus stations. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aricept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    307
    107
    53
    23
See reviews for
112
411
41
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

First time to Tromso, and this was a perfect spot on the harbour front. It's close to the shops and restaurants, and the trips to see the Northern lights or huskie dog sledding picked up in the next street. The bus to the Gondola/ice cathedral is at the end of the street or a comfortable 20-30min walk. It was still quiet though and the rooms were comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Not having tea/coffee facilities in the room wasn't great but having free access in the lobby was ok- except it wasn't always topped up and we had to ask them to do this. Breakfast was really good with an excellent choice. It would have been nice to see the evening menu displayed somewhere, as they did food in the evening but no evidence of this unless you knew in advance. The hot tub on the roof is a nice idea but very small area and the steps up to it are lethal in the ice/snow. Overall would definately stay there again if returned to Tromso.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My first time in Norway, and having spent an age looking into the various accommodations, I decided to spend the extra on what is supposedly the 2nd most expensive hotel in Tromso. I stayed for 5 nights as it fitted in with a cheaper and timely flight schedule to return home. Firstly, Tromso IS expensive. We calculated that most purchases are approximately THREE times the cost of back home in the UK, ie a pint of lager on the first night was £9 each. That was the only time we drank out.

Getting to the hotel is easy. A flybussen is situated directly outside the airport main entrance and costs 60KN each. This drops you off right outside the front doors of whichever hotel you are staying at. For a large party a taxi may be a preferred option as this costs 120KN.

The hotel provides a breakfast which is included in the hotel cost, and has quite a variety of essentials to choose from in a buffet setting. Stock up well with as much as want, as paying for other meals during the day will impact on your budget. We ate out once per day, as the excursions we went on also included a snack/meal and drinks.

Excursions can be booked online prior to arrival or by visiting the tourist information centre. Be warned there are long queues. All pick ups for excursions are a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and have a mini bar, and despite the lack of wardrobe space we just lived out of the suitcase, which was acceptable. The bathroom has undertile heating which is a great comfort and any wet clothing can be draped along the floor to dry.

There is a dial on the bathroom wall which allows you to adjust the water temperature. This does not adjust the floor temp. Should your shower be cold then turn the dial up. I wish i'd known that before I went.

Tromso has loads of restaurants to choose from. We ate at the pizzeria overlooking the harbour which made some perfect, but pricey, pizzas. For a more relaxed meal, Steakers is recommended with main courses between £20-£30. There are also Spar supermarkets in the town, although the food wasn't the UK norm, and again seemed pricey.

Overall, a great location, made better by seeing the Northern Lights despite the cloudy skies. Don't be dispondent if the forecast is poor as the tours travel up to 2 hours away to avoid the clouds, if they can.

Highly recommended is the Full On Northern Lights Chase which leaves in a luxury coach, and has an informative guide along the way, and includes a digital photo of you and the Northern Lights behind, with cookies and hot chocolate included, yum yum.

Not sure if Norway is a tipping country. The only time we felt inclined to tip was at the Steakers restaurant as there was an option on the bill. Despite being a person who always tips I was surprised at how few opportunities came by to leave a gratuity, maybe I just ate out at the wrong places, or right places as the case may be.

I'll certainly be returning to Tromso again next year, and this hotel would be high on the list of places to stay at, with friendly and helpful staff, good amenities (includes free WiFi) and a great location.

P.S If the cleaner had put the clock forward by one hour in the room then we wouldn't have missed one of the tours, lol. But we forgot and with few clocks to observe walked around an hour behind. They were however, kind enough to rebook us on the tour the following evening.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms tend to face away from the office block wall, with a more pleasing view of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveC808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great location in the middle of the city centre on the pier. Small rooms, but with delicate interior and big bathroom. Minibar, flat screen tv, comfortable bed with big pillows. Noisy ticking clock on the wall, had to unplug the battery. Friendly staff. Breakfast could have been better, unfortunately they have refurbished the breakfast hall for the worse, but selection is ok. Nice relaxing "spa" with sauna and outdoor jacuzzi with a great view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent three nights and two action-packed days at this hotel and it was very enjoyable. The staff are helpful and friendly, and they are the reason this hotel gets four rather than three points. The breakfast is excellent and a good foundation to long days in the Arctic outdoors. The location is also ideal, a beautiful setting by the harbour (make sure you ask for a good view) and close to both the shuttle/tour buses and the local shopping area. Lastly there was free wireless Internet access, requiring you merely to collect the daily password each morning, which was a most welcome inclusion that we didn't expect.

There were a couple of weirdnesses though. We were booked for a Superior Double and were placed in a twin. The staff tried to correct this straight away but had no superior double available, so put us in an ordinary double with a promise to move us the next day. This was the best solution for this situation but it was annoying that we couldn't unpack properly the first night. We don't know who made the mistake (our agent or the hotel) and won't now, however the very subtle inflection that it was our fault was not welcome. I therefore had to prove the point by showing our booking information which clearly listed what we had asked for, after which the staff were apologetic and more 'accommodating.'

We left our baggage packed up when we left the next morning and on our return were relocated to a very nice room overlooking the harbour with plenty of space to spread out. This was clearly supposed to be one of the best rooms in the hotel and yet it missed the mark. I wonder whether it was normally not in service but had been opened up for us. The bed was placed between two small wardrobes which made you feel like you were sleeping in a cabin. There was nowhere to put anything that doesn't hang in a wardrobe - undies, socks etc. There was no bedside table to put your phone, medications, spectacles etc. It was not possible to use the floor beside the bed because the bed was (pleasantly) high and the wardrobe took up the first 2 feet - so to check your phone in the night, for example, you would need to get out of bed. There was a shelf above the bed but it was set so high I had to kneel on the bed to reach it, mainly because the placement of the wardrobe meant I couldn't sit near the head of the bed.

Most of the rooms do not appear to have coffee and tea making facilities, that is, the first two rooms we saw (the twin and the first double) did not have any. This was OK as coffee and tea are available 24 hours in the foyer and I can vouch that the coffee was very good and always fresh. The superior room we moved to had coffee and tea making in the room, BUT no spoon or stirrer, and only one sugar and milk/creamer.

The shower-room was a well-designed wetroom with powerful shower with a good range of water temperature. The floor was heated (almost too high) and drainage was good meaning the floor was almost always dry. Unfortunately the shower head exploded out of its bracket each time I used it. Just once each time, but enough to give you a shock :) There were no tissues in the tissue box till the last day. There was no plug for the basin. The loo-roll holder was broken. The loo itself had a vertical crack in the rim that naturally collected goodness-knows-what and was impossible to keep perfectly clean. These things gave me the impression that this room was not normally in use. We did not feel like asking for these things to be corrected as we had already been moved twice and were clearly expected to like this room! Which we did, on the whole.

All these things are comparatively trivial and did not spoil our stay at all, and indeed we would come back to this hotel, which is the ultimate test!

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. The front desk were so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to speak with them. When we arrived very late having come off the Hurtigruten ship the room was ready and the extra bed was present and made, together with enough towels!! ;-)
This hotel is in a fantastic spot. You really can walk everywhere. There is a day spa litereally outside the hotel which you can book if you fancy pampering.
Another highlight is the jaccuzzi on the roof. To sit in the lovely hot bubbling tub whilst catching snowflakes on your tongue can not be overestimated as a joyful experience. The sauna was hot enough whenever we went to use it.
Down side was lack of wardrobe,literally enough space for one outfit complete with one hanger! Rather an odd picture on the ceiling over bed of a sea anemonie not sure why

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tams_tours_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - this is really appreciated. We are working on the lack of wardrobe these days:-) Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by Hurtigruten - we stayed 1 night before our Northern Lights trip and 2 nights after.
Hotel is very easy to get to from Tromso airport - get the Flybussen from outside the airport front doors (runs every 20 mins, cost 60 NOK - payable either on the bus or at ticket machines in the airport) to the Radisson Blu and the Bryggen is quite literally across the road and round the corner, 2 minutes walk. The hotel is situated on the harbour front and if you are getting a Hurtigruten boat it is about 5 minutes walk from the terminal.
Front desk staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much bother. We were offered a late checkout of 2pm both times we left the hotel and there is the facility to leave luggage while you are away if you don't want to take everything with you.
There is also tea and coffee available in the lobby.
We had 2 different rooms in the hotel and they were both very clean with nice decor. Neither room had a view of the harbour but that didn't bother us as we were not there to spend time in the room. First room had a double bed which was extremely comfortable, second room was a twin - I was fine but my husband thought the bed was too small and felt as though he was going to fall out. (Hurtigruten policy is to book twins apparently). The shower/wet room was roomy and shower nice and hot.
Breakfast was a great selection of hot food - bacon, eggs, sausages, potatoes etc and cold cut meats, cheeses, fish, cereals, yogurts, bread and jams etc. Much of the food had organic labels and certainly tasted fresh. My only criticism would be the size of the cups for tea/coffee - they were on the small size but this seemed typical for everywhere we went in Norway.
We ate out at Steakers on the harbour front just along from the Bryggen both nights in Tromso and really enjoyed the food and ambience. However, there are plenty of other places to eat within a short walking distance of the hotel which also looked OK.
There is a hot tub on the top floor which overlooks the harbour, the bridge, cathedral and parts of Tromso. You are not alowed to take your own drinks in but you can order a drink through room service if you want. There is also a sauna in the same area. Although there is no fitness room/gym in the hotel, they have an arrangement where you can be given access to nearby facilities.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and if going to Tromso again would stay there out of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor, this is important to us! Welcome back :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing