We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Tromso
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed November 16, 2011

An hotel that will not impress you, and will not disappoint you. Rooms are in the average, staff is kind, the breakfast was very good. Of course, in a remote place like Tromso, you can rate it as "good": Tromso is a beautiful city, with beautiful surroundings. The Nature and the northern lights are its best. You don't go there for a hotel with spa and beauty farm.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroudthewoooorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay in Tromsoe, and hope
you will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 478 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

We arrived late at night and one bed was undone, we found an open beer bottle on the table (unbelievable) we made no complaints. The staff was absolutely friendly, great location in the middle of Tromsø. Not bad if you're planning on staying for a week or so..beware the rooms are definitely not king-size and i've seen better cleaning service, we had to make our beds quite a few times. Apart from that, i would recommend this hotel. 3/5

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _TheBlueKey_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about your roomstandard. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Tromsø in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights to chase the Northern Lights in March 2011. I loved the hotel....the rooms were spacious, quiet and clean; the bed was really comfy; the people at the front desk were always eager to assist and very helpful. Breakfast is very adequate. The only gripe I had was the lack of hot water kettle in the room but I got used to hauling cups of hot water from the coffee machine downstairs to my room. Wi Fi works great and there are 2 computers you could use in the lobby, with printer. I read the reviews for all of the other hotels in Tromso and decided on the Thom Tromso - it's walking distance to most things you'd want to see in the city. The airport bus drops off in front and picks up around the corner. I'd stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushiwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Your positive review has been shared with everyone here. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Tromsø in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights this February and can highly recommend the Thon Tromsö hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was great! The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfy and even if the hotel is located right in the city center there is no noise and you'll get a good night sleep. There is an other Thon hotel (Thon Polar hotel) right across the street. I don't know what the difference between these two is. The Thon Tromsö hotel is quite new and it shows. This is a beautiful, modernly decorated hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Your positive review has been shared with everyone here. The difference between Thon Hotel Tromsø an the hotel across the street is that Thon Hotel Polar is an Budget-consept in Thon Hotels. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Tromsø in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The rooms are fairly compact but comfortable and the fittings in both bedroom and shower room are of a high standard. Everything worked and was immaculately clean. The service was unobtrusive and efficient. There is no kettle in the bedroom but a comfortable sitting area near the foyer has a machine offering free drinks. Unfortunately chocolate was not included and there was no milk available for tea. However, the friendly staff always fetched some from the kitchen when I wanted some. The hotel is very central which is convenient and our room, which overlooked overlooked a courtyard, was very quiet. It was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Hotel Thon is situated very centrally in Tromso (though to be honest all the hotels are apart from the Scandic as Tromso is very compact).
The room was very neat and tidy, with a very well thought out layout. Didn't hear anything from the other rooms at all, which was nice. The room wasn't massive, but was about what I'd expect from other Scandinavian hotels in this price bracket.
The hotel is opposite it's budget neighbour the Thon Polar, which seems to be more aimed at the student and has smaller rooms, so if you can afford the extra I would, plus you can get breakfast included. Given the cost of food in Norway being able to fill up with a breakfast buffet makes a lot of sense as you can survive the day with just a cheap snack.
The Flybussen from the airport (55NOK 1 way, but ask for a return at 80 NOK)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The Thon City Hotel in Tromsø has quite a lot going for it, but it's not for every traveler. The front desk is helpful and friendly and made the stay very pleasant.

I booked a double room for one person. My first room was the type with two single beds pushed together. I decided to trade it for a room with one big bed, which I was very glad I did because the bed was very comfortable! Light, fluffy duvet, selection of pillows, flat screen tv - these to me are the makings of a good room.

This hotel serves up micro rooms, however. The good part is they are laid out with very obvious attention to detail. From the placement of the bed, to the positioning of the small closet, to the integration of a desk/workspace area (it is remarkable how they managed to fit it all in such a small space) makes the space work. The outlets for plugging in computer, etc... are well placed, there are counter surfaces for placing personal items - these details make a difference!

There are no amenities in the room, such as toiletries (well, there is a little bar of soap and a soap dispenser in the shower) so bring your own! The mini bar is comprised of very highly priced items (a bottle of mini-wine for $50, depending on the exchange rate of course!) and nothing healthful, i.e. potato crisps) so it was not tempting to me. The hotel is right next to the vinmonopolet (wine store) so head over there if you're needing a bottle of something.

There is no in-room coffee or room service, (the former being fairly rare in Norway) but there is a machine at the reception that makes surprisingly good coffee. You can pop down, grab several mugs of coffee, and go back up to your room if you're a coffee-in-room person like me. Alternately, the breakfast (large range of items, from eggs to meats to yogurt and muesli) has a machine serving up a variety of coffee-beverages.

The location is convenient - walk to everything - but not striking, i.e. no view. That may not be a problem for visitors in the winter months (no sun). But if you're coming in the summer, you might prefer a hotel on the fjord.

All-in-all I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erin-norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0 mi away
Thon Hotel Polar
Thon Hotel Polar
#12 of 18 in Tromso
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing