We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cafe For Quick Lunch”
Review of De 4 Roser - Tromso - CLOSED

De 4 Roser - Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Just like its more mature Harstad sibling (1996), this Tromsø-restaurant celebrates the French and Italian love of food, but gives it a North Norwegian character. The obvious focus for De 4 Roser is, of course, on the combination of food, wine and service. Local suppliers and local produce is an important factor in the menu. De 4 Roser can seat 60 and features a contemporary kitchen and an interior that is both simple and austere. This is an excellent venue for both small and large occasions. The first floor café is designed in a European style and the coffee and lunch menus are just as good as in Harstad. A dinner and large drinks menu is also available. Food is served daily from 10 am.
WDC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cafe For Quick Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went to the cafe portion of De 4 Roser for a quick lunch while in Tromso. They had a great, if not a wee bit small, selection of soups, sandwiches, and pastas for lunch. We went with the soups, which were amazing, and a couple of sandwiches to share. We caught a few looks at some of the other entrees, to include their pasta dishes, and they all looked fantastic. The place fills up fast, so we found it helpful to have made a reservation in advance to ensure we had a place to sit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeakerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    68
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicious Food!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This place is a cute cafe with delicious food and reasonable prices!! Best cauliflower soup we've ever had!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local stylish Cafe/Bar/Burger joint”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

While we could have had a 4 or 6 course meal in the elegant upstairs restaurant, we opted for one of a handful of burgers offered in this downstairs trendy space. There were kaffe-drinking local card players, fashionable locals meeting for drinks after work, and hungry vacationers trying not to break the budget. While the menu was limited, the burger was well seasoned and juicy, and the potato wedges were perfect with a crusty outside and fluffy center.
It was the best burger we had in Norway.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice bistro food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A local recommended this place as a 'cheaper' but good quality restaurant in Tromso. We wanted a fairly quick dinner so opted to eat from the menu downstairs instead of heading upstairs to the restaurant proper.
The prices, by Norwegian standards weren't too bad, for the two of us, we spent just shy of 70EUR - this was for two non-alcoholic beverages and two mains.
I had the fish of the day, a white fish, possibly cod with root vegetables and a very thick hollandaise sauce. Although not the best hollandaise sauce I have ever had it wasn't too bad. for my taste it was slightly oversalted, but all in all a very adequate meal. The pork cheeks were also quite nice and tender, served on a bed of the same vegetables as the fish.
It wasn't very busy the night we were there so our meals arrived quickly. It really is a no frills restaurant, order and pay at the counter, sit down and the chef brings your meal out.
The staff were friendly and happy to help translate the menu in to English for us.
If you're looking for a relatively quick, simple meal this place is worth a look-in.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lovely little cafe/bar downstairs. Staff very friendly. Meal very nice and reasonable by local standards. Lovely (somewhat studenty) atmosphere on a Saturday night. Music just a little too loud. Would visit again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De 4 Roser - Tromso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing