We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Northern Horizon
from $162.99
More Info
from $112.41
More Info
from $162.99
More Info
from $112.41
More Info
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
658
19
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
658
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature tour guide nicola great guide small group northern lights tour sausage cookies hot chocolate fire pit aurora borealis clear sky wonderful tour whole evening picked up from our hotel safe driver the perfect spot within hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In total is was a very interesting and well organized trip. Very nice guide (George) and
a good driver (Michael). We made 3 stops and could take photos each time of the northern lights. Wonderful. They made a bonfire, offered sausages and bread and hot drinks. All was very well prepared and very kind. In any case we would do this trip again with these 2 nice guys.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 173clausb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted by Harry and Carolyna and jumped on the bus ready for our journey. Harry told us what the plans were for finding the Northern Lights and we drove over the border into Finland. Along the way Harry was great with telling us all about the Lights and answered all of our questions. When we stopped we all sat around a campfire and ate sausages and drank tea. It was great timing because the sky opened up and we could see the beautiful Lights - and Harry took lots of professional photos of us (which he sent to us first thing after we returned).
On the ride home we stopped a few more times to see the magical lights again.
Thanks to our hosts who were so passionate in what they do and for striving to make a memorable experience for us!! An amazing once in a lifetime event for us Aussies!

Thank Burnsyohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful experience with Harry and Carolina who did a great job picking the location, taking the pictures and answering all our questions

Thank 286PaulS286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Together with our guide Nicola we tried to escape the bad weather by heading towards the Finnish boarder. Although our expectations were limited due to the constant snow fall and the poor visibility, Nicola convinced us, that if there were some lights that evening, he would do everything to catch them for us – which pretty much described Nicolas overall attitude: he always showed great engagement and dedication paired with a sound sense of humour and highest flexibility regarding the group’s individual wishes. In summary: Nicola was a great guide.
However, seeing beautiful northern lights also requires some a luck. A god thanks we were! Over nearly 2 hours we were able to view spectacular, bright and beautifully shaped northern lights. While we were watching, Nicola took photos. As he had the experience and technical equipment, these pictures – including individualized portraits – caught the lights in their full colour spectrum, exceeding the abilities of the human eye by far and resulting in unique souvenirs. Afterwards, we could access these pictures via a cloud link.
After watching the lights we had a nice bonfire, grilled sausages (pork/ reindeer/ vegetarian) and drank hot chocolate or tee. Thanks to Nicola’s special snow suits, the cold wind and low temperatures never became a problem.
The peak of the events was finally reached when we stopped about 45 min before Tromso on our way back. Due to strong solar activity and perfect conditions, we saw extremely strong lights, culminating in a corona, which is as spectacular and beautiful as it is rare.

In a nutshell: this trip was undoubtedly the very best of our Tromso holiday!

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank PaulGordonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all we would like to say big thank you to Northern Horizon Company! Their professionalism and dedication to work is absolutley incredible! We took the tour to see Northern Lights in Tromso but weather wasn't promising that day. Our lovely tour guide Maximilian would not let us to not see this incredible lights so we drove to a border to Finland which was magnificent! Once we arrived to the spot to see Northern Lights ,everyone was excited and couldn't wait to experience this amazing view. Surrounded by nature and outdoor activity(Maximilian arranged amazing bonfire with sausages and biscuits to eat, we had as well hot chocolate and tea) It was second time in my life that I have experienced such an amazing sky full of stars!We have seen amazing Aurora, got beautiful pics and this view will stay with us forever! Dorota and Antonio

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank dorotam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews