We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Tromso”
Review of Enter City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enter City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked 4 nights from the 4th January. Our trip to Norway was entirely based on seeing the Northern Lights. We chose this accommodation due to reviews but also we thought it would be nice to try an apartment rather than a hotel. It was easy to reach from the airport via the airport bus service and the stop was only a few metres away.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. For our first night we stayed in room 206 but had problems sleeping due to the brightly lit City Living sign on the building next to our room. The curtain was not thick enough to stop an excessive amount of light getting in. We asked if we could move to another room and they had another on the 4th floor.
This was much better. Both rooms were very clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable. The kitchenettes were well equipped with fridge, cooker, pots, crockery and cutlery etc. The rooms are serviced once a week so after a late night northern light chasing it is nice to sleep in and have breakfast in ones own time without a maid knocking on the door wanting to clean the room.
Both bathrooms were quite large and were very clean too. On checking out they told us they had replaced the curtain in 206 with a heavier duty material to help with the light problem. All in all this was a great place to stay and it felt like the staff cared about your stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear blackdog400, UK. Thank you for your kind feedback! We are happy that you told us about the curtains of the first room you had, in that way we could improve immediately. We are replacing all curtains of all the rooms this period, so there will not enter any light either in the summer or the winter time. Our guests opinions and experiences with City Living is very important to us as we want every guest to have a great room and a great stay. Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø v/ Madelene S.R, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 571 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived around 8pm in the evening and unfortunately there was no-one on the front desk to let us in! It wasn't a great start! We didn't wait too long - about 10 minutes - before a member of staff appeared and made us welcome. However, we were advised that the only rooms they had available were standard rooms - not what we had booked! Upon seeing the confirmation that we had printed and brought with us the receptionist said the only rooms they had available were suites and they would have to ring their boss to see if we could have one. This they did and we got the larger room right at the front of the hotel on an upper floor. The room consisted of a living area with tv (only 1 english speaking channel) a small bedroom, a well set out kitchenette and a large bathroom with underfloor heating. As it didn't get above -6 or so the heating was fantastic. The bed was quite solid, but thats the luck fo the draw! The hotel is really well situated very close to the harbour and close to a few supermarkets. As other reviewers have mentioned, Norway is extremely expensive - nealy £10 for a pint of local beer. This hotel was very clean and the staff that we seen were very nice and helpful. You can also buy breakfast from the hotel to eat at a Thon hotel opposite - this was the only good value meal we had. Buffet style, including cold and hot food, costs about £8 per person. There are some lovely restaurants in Tromso and the food was good but you are really paying an awful lot
of money. The trip overall however was fantastic! Really strange to be in pitch darkness at one in the afternoon. Overall we woudl go back and stay in the City Living Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Something-Different!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Something-Different!, Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay despite some waiting to start with and that you were given the wrong room type by check in. Welcome back by a later occasion :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø, v/ Madelene S.R, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at city living. The location was great, only a very short walk to the airport bus stop and shops. The room was a good size and the kitchenette although basic was great and reduced our costs significantly as eating out is very expensive. The under floor heating in the bathroom was a bit of a treat. Room was clean and although wasnt cleaned during our stay was not a problem for us.
Bed wasnt particularly comfortable but ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TayMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Piggle1, London. Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at City Living Hotel Tromsø. As all of our beds are of high quality and new of age, I would be very happy if you would send me an email with which room you had so we can check if the bed needs to be replaced or fixed, that would be very kind of you. (madelene@cityliving.no) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø, v/ Madelene S.R, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We, a group of 4 adults, came to Tromso, hopping to see the Northern Lights. As part of an airfare (2 ways) + hotel package that cost us US$921 per person, we had 3 nights' stay at City Living Hotel. After our flight from Bergen via Budo (hope I got the name right) and a short taxi ride from Tromso airport, we arrived at City Living Hotel at about noon on 15th Dec 2012. It is situated right in the city. We discovered later that the hotel was close to the post office, supermarket, harbour, shops, church, etc, etc. In short, it was a very convenient location.

City was freezing cold when we stepped into the welcoming warmth of the hotel reception, which was manned by a sweet young lady named Marianne (shown on her name tag). She was very efficient, friendly and very helpful with useful information for folks like us who were new to the city. She was one of 4 girls (3 at the reception and the other who cleaned the room) we met during our entire 3 days' stay at the hotel. Strangely, we didn't see any other guy. The hotel seemed to be run by the girls. I've no complaint here though. All 4 girls were very pleasant and professional. They knew their jobs well. Marianne stood out with her sunshine smile and friendliness.

We had a family room (# 304) for 4 adults. It was just right for us. The room, though small, was clean and nicely laid out. Beds & pillows were comfortable for our weary bodies. It had a small and well-equipped kitchen where we did our own cooking; a little dining area where all 4 of us could sit down comfortably for a wonderful meal, drink and a chat; and a clean bathroom. Note: eating out is expensive in Norway - a simple meal for 4 could cost about 800 to 1000 krones.

We had free WIFI for the 3 days' stay. Hotel guests could have free use of the washing machines and dryers in the basement. Washing detergent was also provided free of charge.

Overall, City Living Hotel met our needs very nicely - cozy & clean room, friendly staff and good location. Although we did not try other hotels in Tromso, City Living Hotel is very good enough for me. I would gladly come back to this same hotel again, but it would be in summer months - winter is just tooooo.. cold for me.

Room Tip: Corner rooms should be good as they have wider view of the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hongchep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Hongchep, Singapore. Thank you very much for your visit and for your good feedback. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at City Living, and that you found the staff helpful. It is also good that you found what you needed in town, and that the room was covering your needs. Let us know if you should return in the summer months - you are always welcome! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year with our two children (6 & 10). The rooms are warm, clean and cosy, and we liked the fact that maid service was optional as we could have lazy mornings during polar night. There are three supermarkets close by ( eating out especially with kids) is pricey! We stocked up on tea, coffee, milk and breakfast things which was a fraction of the cost.
If you are travelling with children, our room was open plan / studio style so if you have sleep talkers or snorers in the family (we have both) ear plugs might be in order.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, we called ahead of arrival to check what the check in procedure would be as we were arriving in the evening with children. The lady on the phone was really helpful, and the security man was there when we arrived on a snowy December night.
Only recommendations for improvement would be thicker towels and curtains but this is common throughout Scandinavia unless you are going for luxury accommodation. We would highly recommend City Living if you are travelling as a family.
We booked direct through booking.com but going direct through the website would have been slightly cheaper

Room Tip: Book direct through the website and call ahead if you are travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqnfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Jacqnfra, Welwyn Garden City, UK. Thank you very much for your visit and kind review. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at City Living and that you found the hotel child-friendly. Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a unique hotel, equipped with a kitchenette and tasteful modern furniture, a good-sized room and bathroom, and everything comes at reasonable prices (for Norway anyway). Because Tromsø is a small city, most hotels are centrally located, with easy access to all touristy places and transport links, and I read they organize excursions as well.

You may want to know that there is no daily maid services for less than 7 days, but one can order the service at an additional fee, but a change of towels can be ordered for free. This actually works for some, for me, the daily maid service sometimes feels like I opened my windows, applications and unsaved documents, only for someone to reboot my laptop.

This is the perfect spot for long stays. Besides that food is a little expensive in Norway, one may not always want to eat out in restaurants everyday, and having a well-equipped kitchenette in the hotel is priceless. Additionally, they also offer free laundry facilities.

What this hotel does not offer directly, it offers through other service providers within a few meters like a gym or restaurant, for example. I guess this makes the hotel more affordable, while those that need the extra services can easily get them at additional costs.

On the downside, the quality (or lack thereof) of the towels was less than satisfactory, they do not match the ultra-modern bathroom, or perhaps that was just my economy room option.

The staff are polite and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I got the best rate on the hotel website itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taridzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Taridzo, Tromsø. Thank you for your kind response! We are very happy that you liked your stay and that the City Living concept suited your needs. We are able to offer lower prices as you said, when the service is a little reduced. Thank you again and welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spotlessly clean room and extremely helpful and friendly receptionist.
I opted for apartment style accommodation as I didn't not want to be disturbed by cleaners in the morning after late nights on Northern Light hunts.
The rooms are only cleaned once a week, however, the lovely cleaning lady showed me where the bedding and towels were kept and said to help myself and that if I wanted my room cleaned, she would do so.
I wish there were places like this in all tourist destinations.
One good point, which is very important to me, is that the room's heating was able to be regulated, even turned off and windows were easily opened to let in some of that lovely fresh arctic air!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Wendy G, Cape Town Central, South Africa. Thank you for sharing your opinion of City Living Hotel Tromsø. It makes us very happy to see that you found both the room, front desk and the cleaning staff helpfull, that is our wisk for our guests. Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter City Hotel

Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $105 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. Enter City Hotel is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Enter City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing