We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. Nothing great about it”
Review of Enter City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enter City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is good. Polaria is about 700 mtrs, the northern most brewery is 500 mtrs. City center is just 2 blocks away.

Hotel room was average. It had a tiny kitchen, with nothing provided. No tea bags or coffee or sugar sachets. It was funny. Normally you get at least these basic items.

The best thing about this hotel I liked was the laundry ( self serviced of course !!) as I needed wash a few clothes for my lil one. And if you need a steam iron they can provide you from the reception which you have to go personally and collect.

Huge funniest thing I noticed in this hotel and no where else was the reception timing. The reception is open only from 8 am and they close in the evening I guess by 9 pm. So in case of emergency in the mid night or early morning you have to manage things on your own. There will be no one to attend to you !!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naviarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear traveller, Naviarora from Oman. We kindly thank you for your visit and review! Our rooms are all equipped with coffee and tea, and we are very sorry if this was missing in your room. We are happy you appreciated the hotels location and the laundry. The reception is open from 08 in the morning till 10 every evening. If the hotel is full, the reception is open till midnight. We also have a receptionist staying here during the night, that is after the reception is closed. Our phone is transferred to City Living Hotel in Trondheim, so there will always be someone ready to answer questions from our guests. The hotels fire alarm is connected to the fire department, and also to a security company, so there will be assistance for our guests immediately if something urgent should occur. The rooms are also equipped with phones that has direct lines to the police, ambulance, fire department and security. We are very concerned about our guests safety and it is something we are controlling daily. We wish you welcome back at anytime! Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The appartment is located in the center which made it very easy for us to visit all the attractions that we wanted it. the rooms were very clean and well equipped. We stayed there for 2 nights. their free laundary was a great perk.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Abhishri. Thank you for your visit and kind response. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Welcome back! Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks in late July/early August. The room was very good, spacious and clean. It has a small kitchen, flat screen TV and free Wifi. It's perfectly located in the middle of the city centre, close to grocery shops, restaurants, cinema and shopping malls. It's perfect for long term stays because you can cook your own meals, making the stay cheaper. I can absolutely recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129Anonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear 123Anonym from Bergen, Norway. Thank you so much for your visit and kind response. We are very happy to hear that you liked the spacious rooms we have, the kitchen and the hotels location! Welcome back! Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the clean comfortable room, the helpful staff, and the good location.Everything in Tromso is expensive, but this hotel is a good value, and you can stretch your budget by eating in the room thanks to the small but adequate kitchen (but no microwave!). The staff did the job of the tourist information office, which was closed for the weekend :-(

I also recommend the breakfast offered by their partner restaurant across the street. You can eat all the breakfast you want for 80 NOK.

One point for improvement at the hotel: The curtains should be upgraded to block out the miodnight sun in summer, but I wore an eyemask and was OK, This sould not be a problem if we can return in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear HumanFamily, France. Thank you for your visit and kind response! It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed staying here and that the room / price / staff / location lived up to your expectations. We are happy for feedback about the curtains, and it is with a smile we inform that we are going to get new curtains for all the rooms, so there should be no problem falling asleep. We hope you will return someday! Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in June.
The rooms are modern clean and tastefully and minimally furnished.. Everything works and the staff are friendly and helpful..
It is right in the middle of Tromsø, near shops and restaurants, transport etc..
It's much cheaper and better option than the listings on airbnb for Tromsø..

I heartily recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaninhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear traveller from London UK.
Thank you for your good feedback, we are very happy that you liked staying at City Living when you visited Tromsø. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were here for 5 days 4nights, and it was really great! Room was spacious, with a small kitchen and not to mention, free wifi! Staff were really helpful ; giving directions and recommendations for food and activties. There are a couple of convienient stores nearby, so you can pretty much get everything you want. There are also several restaurants and cafes too if you are feeling lazy to cook in the room. I will highly recommend this little hotel if you are planning to stay in Tromso :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear travellers from Singapore. Thank you for your kind recommandation! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at City Living when you visited Tromsø. Have a nice summer and welcome back. Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 2, 2012

city living was a great place to stay, very affordable and very clean and a very good standard of room. the staff were extremely polite, cheerful and very helpful. it really made my stay in tromso so much more enjoyable. its right in the middle of the town with a three minute walk onto the main high street and just a short walk from a supermarket. thank you city living.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Katrinawm. Thank you for your kind feedback on City Living Hotel. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and that you are recommending us on Tripadvisor. Welcome back! Best regards, Madelene S. Rydin, Manager, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter City Hotel

Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: $89 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. Enter City Hotel is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Enter City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing