We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurtigruten review -Aug 2012 - 11 days Bergen-Kirkenes-Trondheim”
Review of Tromso Fjords

Tromso Fjords
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.77*
and up
2-Hour Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Ranked #3 of 85 things to do in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hurtigruten review -Aug 2012 - 11 days Bergen-Kirkenes-Trondheim”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

PORTS: If you are doing a one way trip then i would suggest you start at Kirkenes or Tromso. That way you get the best of the Lofoten Islands as you see more of them in daylight.
In hindsight, if i was planning this trip again i would go Bergen-Tromso-Trondheim. It would mean getting off the boat in Tromso but i would use the time to get a rental car to see the most beautiful part of Norway, Lofoten Islands. Then pick up a boat from Tromso to head back south. The scenery north of Tromso is not as captivating as a few days around the Lofoten Islands.

BOAT: Finnmarken. One of the more modern boats though i Believe it is about to be commissioned to another part of the world for a couple of years.

ENTERTAINMENT: Minimal, so bring some good books to read or cards and games to play.

EXCURSIONS: Do not prebook these. You can book them on the boat the day before. They were never full. Also, if the weather isnt great you can decide closer to time. I only did one excursion which was a four hour bus ride thru Vesteralen. I enjoyed it but because we had to meet the boat, it wasnt possible to have many photo stops.

FOOD: I like fish so had no complaints about what was on the menu. Loved the salads. I didnt do the evening meal. You had to be there at an exact time and you had no choice off a menu. I use to make myself a sandwich at lunchtime to have for my dinner later in evening when i was ready. Also, you missed out on the scenery if you were stuck in the restaurant too much.
Consider doing half board. If you get peckish during the day there are a couple of cafes that can provide you with salads and sandwiches.

DRINKS: coffee, tea and water available at meal times. At other times can be bought at cafes. Bring along your own thermos coffee or tea mug. You can top up as you leave the restaurant.

STAFF: courteous, friendly and helpful.

PASSENGERS: mostly 60+. Mainly Germans and Norwegians.

TIME OF YEAR: The boat wasnt busy as summer holidays were over. The more daylight you have the more you see of the fantastic scenery. My preference would have been to travel in late spring when there was still some snow around but that was not an option for me.

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT: Passengers were allowed to smoke outside on all of the decks. So even though only about 5% of the passengers smoked, they had access to 100% of the deck space. It doesnt sound like many, but we are talking about hard core smokers who were always out there coughing and spluttering. I found this a real intrusion as when you went outside to breath in the fresh sea breeze, or take a photo, someone would light up beside you. Where i come from this would not be allowed. I will be suggesting to Hurtigruten that they should restrict the smoking to one part of one deck, preferably the highest deck so that the smoke does not effect anyone else. It is the reason i have not given this trip a five star rating.

SUMMARY: Given the cost of travelling on the Hurtigruten, select your boat carefully and time of year. My trip was very successful and the on board team all seemed happy and cheerful. Everything went like clockwork.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank KiwiDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    124
    20
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“for nature trail lovers”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

each fjord is different and can bring you new and new stunning views. prep yourself well, while weather could change and you also need good walking boots with great grip sole, while walking and stones & cliffs are not easy job!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Snowcaped mountains. Brilliant reflections.Amazing scenery. Pure air. zero pollution. Hardly any boats around. Photographer's dream landscapes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gingko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was raining almost all the time we stayed in Tromso, but luckily we got a car with which we could make trips to fjords with great view.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna65100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The drive on Senja is an absolute must. The views are breathtakingly beautifull? Do not miss the salmons jumping at Målselvfossen

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tromso Fjords also viewed

 

Been to Tromso Fjords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing