We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extrememly beautiful location and very friendly & helpful staff”
Review of Thon Hotel Harstad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Harstad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have been staying at Thon since 2012 on my quarterly visits to Harstad and have always had a very nice and comfortable stay. The desk staff and other attendants are very friendly & helpful.
The morning sunrise & evening sunset views from the window are very beautiful. The location of the hotel is walking distance from all the amenities like the bus terminal, supermarket etc.
I recall last year when my wife had also accompanied me in January trip, she accidentally broke her wrist when she slipped on the sidewalk. Unfortunately I was away at work so didnt know of the accident, but the staff at Thon took her to the hospital & even stayed to help her till I returned in the afternoon.
The fitness room is a basic sort but I guess most guests stay for short duration so it is not a big issue. Overall the hotel is good value for the money and very comfortable. If you are coming to Harstad then Thon is the place you should consider for staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed one night at this easy to find hotel. Rooms were clean and comfy, staff friendly and helpful. Parked in the courtyard. The food in Egon's was very good and breakfast was more than adequate, especially the nicest porridge I have ever tasted. The only thing stopping me from giving the highest rating was that the bed was a little on the narrow side, only a minor niggle!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night before taking the Hurtigruten ship to Tromso.
The reception welcome was friendly and warm. The room was very spacious and clean. The Egon pub style restaurant was also welcoming and efficiently run. Our meal was well presented and tasty at a price to be expected in Norway.
We had a comfortable night's sleep before enjoying a plentiful continental breakfast of all the usual selection of cold meats, cheese, eggs, breads etc. overall an excellent stay at this hotel, which I would recommend and would certainly use again.
It's a short walk from the port so no taxi required

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannewales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We based ourselves in Thon for our New Year trip to Harstad and it was the perfect spot to strike out from into the surrounding area. Every member of staff we met was helpful, friendly and interested in what we were doing during our stay. Ingvild from the Tourist office (just along the road from Thon) was a dream, organising awesome trips for us including a tour of the local waters with BB Touring (brilliant fun and an excellent lunch in their fjord-side cabin) a scuba dive with Harstad Diving Club (possibly the friendliest diving club ever!) and a morning spent with Pekka from Aktiv Events throwing ourselves down the mountains on various different modes of transport. We met some of the loveliest, nuttiest Norwegians ever on this trip and didn't stop smiling once and are really looking forward to the opportunity to return and do it all over again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel give brilliant views of the waterfront and the small upgrade cost of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived here quite late after travelling via train and two buses from Abisko, but got a warm welcome regardless. I really liked the room we got. It was decorated in a nautical style which was very fitting and not something you’d often see in the usual monotonous hotel rooms. We had a view over the waterfront (unfortunately we couldn’t see a thing due to the snowstorms) which would be great on a clear day. We ate in the Egon restaurant attached to the hotel and were very happy with the service and quality. Breakfast was also served here and was very good. We had a short easy walk to catch the Hurtigruten boat the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Slept two nights in the hotel. Nice basic hotel. Ok rooms and good breakfast. The cleaning of the rooms was not satisfactory. The hotel has a perfect location in the centre of the city. We can not recommend Egon restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were greeted in impeccable English by the very helpful, friendly Julian, who helped us with parking and appeared genuinely interested in our trip. The room was fantastic, excellent facilities and amazing view of the beautiful harbour.
We went on a trip with Aktiv Events to catch fish in the harbour and then cook it for our dinner on one of the many islands in the area. Our host Pekka was great fun and we had amazing day, the weather was beautiful and to barbecue the fish caught only an hour or so before, on the deserted beach was a fantastic experience. Pekka included some history in the trip and we were thwarted in our efforts to visit a historic viking area and bird island by a rather thick mist in that part of the harbour. No matter, we saw DOLPHINS in the harbour on our way to the island - amazing. We returned to the hotel at about 2100 ish after a fantastic day.
The hotel room was really comfy and the breakfast of the standard norwegian fare was above average.
The friendly, helpful Julian was on duty as we left who had remembered the activity we had planned and asked all about it.
I would love to go back to this hotel and explore more of Harstad which appeared a really beautiful town plus to do more of the activities Aktiv Events offer.

Room Tip: Our twin room was at the front of the hotel and had an amazing view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole F, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you for taking your time to review Thon Hotel Harstad after your visit.

Feedback from our guests is very important for us, and very much appriciated.
Your opinion are important, and gives us the chanche to further develop the hotel in terms of service and quality.

I am really glad to see that you had a good stay with us, and in particular the fact that our staff made a difference during your stay.

We thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon in Harstad!

Kind Regards
Ole Fiske Eidslott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
0.1 mi away
Scandic Harstad
Scandic Harstad
#3 of 4 in Harstad
175 reviews
17.9 mi away
Valhall
Valhall
#1 of 1 in Krottoya
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#1 of 2 in Harstad
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Harstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Harstad

Address: Sjoegata 11, Harstad 9405, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip Rainbow)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range: $144 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Harstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thon Hotel Harstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing