We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Medium rated hotel in Harstad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Harstad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Harstad
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
272 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Medium rated hotel in Harstad”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Grand hotel in Harstad was medium rated before joining the Rica group, and is still just a place to stay one night. Nothing special, just a plain 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    50
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
39
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been in Norway for 3 months...the frokost at RicaGNH Harstad "was" the best I have had at around 10 hotels. The view from my room ( I had a choice of view or quieter ), was 95% and just great for NordLyser. The heating is by hot water radiators not dry electricity...noticed by a Brit!....but there was a problem with hot water in the bathroom, which I reported , and "was dealt with". The price was a Little expensive...especially the minibar.
But still Good Value...the standards were far higher than a UK hotel, even at the same price.
The staff were more than pleasant, and wanted people to come back to Harstad....which is rather a quiet place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel has a very good location; however city is small, so everything is in walking distance. I was struggling if I shouldn’t give an “Average” evaluation but I liked the breakfast…

Advantages:
1. Breakfast – I really liked it! Very intimate atmosphere, good food for every taste.
2. Location.

Disadvantages:
1. No hair dryer in the room.
2. Room heating was working very good – too good. Even if I was trying to decrease the heating power, the radiator was just no cooling down.
3. I have experienced some flooding in the bathroom when taking the short and not intensive shower… Apparently the water outlet (the round grid) on the floor was blocked a little bit and it let out water to get onto bathroom tiles.

I will stay here again or in Thon (~50meters away) – it is so close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a hairdryer. If you want to travel to the airport take a flybuss or take a fly taxi (Harstad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_Januszkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Property is a bit aged (renovated in the late 1980s?) but acceptable. Conveniently located in downtown Harstad. Very good breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The stay started with a friendly hello from reception. She was happy to give us tips on how to get a glimpse of the Northern Lights. We drove to the hotel and she gave us advice on where to park the car a very short distance away. Our room was easily reached by elevator. We found the room to be nice and clean and the bed was comfy. There was no view from the room which was little disappointing but it was not something the hotel had promised either. We were about to walk to a nice restaurant for dinner called Mona Lisa's. They has a computer with free internet use in the lobby. The internet connection was not great and we had to abandon our efforts and try again later. The next morning when we went to the car there was a ticket on it. We went back in to the hotel and spoke with reception. The attendant made some calls and got it taken care of for us since to was a police mistake for it being issued. I would definitely suggest this hotel to others...not that many people are going to Harstad. The harbor was beautiful and we got some of the best pics there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleyB1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The hotel has a perfect location, we could not have asked for a better geographical location than the one we got. Close to the coastal steamer's stop, close to the bus central and the historic downtown of Harstad. The hotel service was fantastic, the reception and house keeping staff were very welcoming.

However, a few notes. The room was -very- run down. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, but they should re-decorate them, the 80's are long gone. There was loud music playing throughout the night from the night club / bar at the hotel, so we found sleep not to be the easiest thing in the world, and the night club is on the 2nd floor, and our room was on the 6th, yet we still heard it as clear as if it was down the hall.
The breakfast was great, you could make fresh waffles, and they had more or less everything that one would need for a good breakfast.
I would stay here again, but I would perhaps demand a more quiet room if going in the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArneKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The location is great in terms of the city center. The hotel seems old with some unthoughtful refurbishing been done some places. Our room was in wath seem to be a refurbished section (though not quite finished?). The room was spacious and fitted with the cheapest possible furniture, everything done halfway. A lot of noise outside when sleeping with an poen window.The double bed had a split mattress, but otherwise good. Bathroom had bathtub with shower, this is not connected to the wall and with just a small piece of glass between the shower and room it is bound to get wet. Breakfast was great though. Just had one night so I cant say much about the service. All in all very poor value for 1200,- kr!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank knabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harstad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harstad
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 5 in Harstad
263 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
#1 of 1 in Evenskjer
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
248 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#2 of 3 in Harstad
40 reviews
12.0 mi away
Tjeldsundbrua Camping
Tjeldsundbrua Camping
#1 of 1 in Evenskjer
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Harstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Harstad

Property: Scandic Harstad
Address: Strandgata 9, Harstad 9405, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Harstad)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Harstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Harstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing