We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business like hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel of good standard on the quay near the ferry terminal. Friendly and helpful staff at reception. Spacious and clean room. A bit dark as our small window looked out on a covered inner courtyard, which offered extremely boring views.
Sauna is very good with great views of the port through the one way windows (!) Gym was ok.
Hotel serves a light evening meal, which is included in the room rate. Nothing fancy, but it is free!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddy-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear guest!

Thank for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are depending on feedback from guests to improve our product.
The hotel is located by the harbor, but unfortunately some of our rooms don’t have sea view.

Nice to hear that you liked our sauna that is very popular as well as the gym.

Welcome back next time you visit Harstad!

Best regards
Benny Jakobsen
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel one night with my family in a family room. The room was ok but nothing special. What I did enjoy with the hotel was that it included an evening meal. The service in the reception was however not so good when we stayed there. We moved to Thon hotel Harstad afterwards, and I prefered staying there. Rooms were bigger and service better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnicornBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear UnicornBergen.

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. This gives us the opportunity to improve our product as well as the service.

We offer four different room types at our hotel from 16 square meters up to 60. Standard, Superior, Deluxe and Suites.

Nice to hear that you enjoyed the evening meal.
In addition to breakfast and evening buffet, tee/coffee and fresh fruits are available for free 24/7.
From 15:00 to 18:00 all guests can make their own norwegian waffles or there will be homemade pastry.
Every day in all Clarion Collection Hotels.

Unfortunately we were not able to suit your needs this time, but we hope that you enjoyed your stay in Harstad.
Maybe you will give us a second chance next time.

Kind regards

Benny Jakobsen
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Clarion Collection Hotel in Harstadt is a good and decent hotel.

We had a double room with view to the sea. The room was nice and clean, and it is well designed, but a little bit on the darker side. For Norway standards, the room was larger big, but we booked a superior room, so this was to be expected. Rooms have carpet (I like rooms with wooden floor much better).

The bath room is up to date and has a walk in shower.

The reception was nice. Breakfast was good. We did not try dinner which is included in the room price, but went to the 4 Roser instead, because that was more cosy.

Overall, this is a rather simpler hotel, nothing fancy, but what they have is good and well done. The price includes room, breakfast, a light dinner and coffee all day. This hotel provides a very good value for its price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfoegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just a short walk from downtown Harstad is this hotel located in the same building as Harstad cultural center. The rooms are well planned and well-maintained, easy to thrive in. The hotel price includes afternoon coffee with waffles and an evening menu. So, despite the somewhat higher price point it is worth preferred.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrplotswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel, mainly for business trips, many times over the last 5 years. I have always been very pleased with both the rooms (clean, very comfortable beds, fantastic sea view if you get one of those rooms), the breakfast (fresh and tasty), the facilities (nice little gym, evening meal included) and the service (always friendly and helpful, unusually so). But may last stay, from July 1 to July 2, 2012, topped the experience. I recieved an email that I needed to respond to just during breakfast and checked out late for my important meeting. When the taxi announced it would take at least 10 minutes to arrive, I knew I was in trouble, would have to arrive 10-15 minutes late for the meeting. I sighed deeply. Then the manager of the hotel promptly offered to drive me to my meeting (appr 8 km away) in his personal car! I gladly accepted and arrived on time. Simply fantastic service. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArneC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A nice hotel by the seaside in Harstad.

Very good breakfast and evening meals.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As frequent traveller in business I see a lot of hotels and staff as well. Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus demonstrated a really warm welcome and stay. Late arrival and no restaurants open, but the staff had set aside a late evening dish to take to the hotel room. And of course great facilities that covered all I needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harstad
0.3 mi away
Scandic Harstad
Scandic Harstad
#3 of 4 in Harstad
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 4 in Harstad
328 reviews
0 mi away
Hamn in Senja
Hamn in Senja
#1 of 1 in Hamn
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
271 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Harstad
44 reviews
23.2 mi away
Bogen Hostel
Bogen Hostel
#1 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Address: Havnegata 3, Harstad 9404, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range: $145 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See you soon at this unique hotel gem in central Harstad. Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus is located by the old harbour, with sea and mountain views. And if you're hungry, we serve a complimentary mid-afternoon snack and evening meal. Our treat! (Limited # of rooms for pets available, please contact the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Harstad
Harstad Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing