We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just where the city turns to the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just where the city turns to the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just a short walk from downtown Harstad is this hotel located in the same building as Harstad cultural center. The rooms are well planned and well-maintained, easy to thrive in. The hotel price includes afternoon coffee with waffles and an evening menu. So, despite the somewhat higher price point it is worth preferred.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrplotswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    112
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
92
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel, mainly for business trips, many times over the last 5 years. I have always been very pleased with both the rooms (clean, very comfortable beds, fantastic sea view if you get one of those rooms), the breakfast (fresh and tasty), the facilities (nice little gym, evening meal included) and the service (always friendly and helpful, unusually so). But may last stay, from July 1 to July 2, 2012, topped the experience. I recieved an email that I needed to respond to just during breakfast and checked out late for my important meeting. When the taxi announced it would take at least 10 minutes to arrive, I knew I was in trouble, would have to arrive 10-15 minutes late for the meeting. I sighed deeply. Then the manager of the hotel promptly offered to drive me to my meeting (appr 8 km away) in his personal car! I gladly accepted and arrived on time. Simply fantastic service. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArneC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A nice hotel by the seaside in Harstad.

Very good breakfast and evening meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

As frequent traveller in business I see a lot of hotels and staff as well. Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus demonstrated a really warm welcome and stay. Late arrival and no restaurants open, but the staff had set aside a late evening dish to take to the hotel room. And of course great facilities that covered all I needed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed there for one night in May.

Not easy to find the hotel, in a very quiet area of Harstad (at least when not visited during shop opening hours). But great location along the shore and nice view on the sea.

The hotel has been renovated in 2007-08 and it was quite nice. The sauna was really great with a fantastic view as well.

Rooms were small but very clean and nice. We had free buffet in the evening and the quality of food was good. Breakfast was very good as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake130381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel is located in the outskirts of the Harstad town centre, in the same building as the "Kulturhuset" (cultural venue). Parking is available in the streets (max 3 daytime hours) or in the adjacent garage (not owned by the hotel - NOK 18/daytime hour, free in evenings and on Sundays). Walking to the town centre along the harbour is pleasant if the weather is not too bad.

The reception staff was very friendly, but seemed to lack routine - they were not sure how to handle my award stay, but this did not cause any major delays.

While the lobby looks very fresh, the corridors and bathrooms have a 1990s look - nothing bad, though. Very few rooms have scenic views, most face the courtyard or the streets.

The room itself was decorated in a black-purple fashion seemingly from 2005 or so. The room had a desk, a couple of chairs, a comfortable bed and a wardrobe. All rooms have DVD players attached to the TV, DVDs can be borrowed from the reception for free (or bring your own). The TV had a good selection of channels.

The bathroom was clean and fresh. No toiletries apart from multi-purpose dispenser soap. Shower behind a glass partition - we did not use it as we visited the "Grottebadet" swimming pools.

A major bonus for this hotel is the evening buffet - eat as much as you like from a rich selection, included in your room rate. I find this a very good option both when on a business stay and when going with my family - a restaurant meal could often cost as much as your room! Also, there's the convenience of not leaving the hotel, and the delight for children of being able to design their meal themselves.

Breakfast was very good as well.

I'll be happy to use this hotel again. Less expensive options do exist, but do consider the value of the free evening meal before deciding.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Hotel is located on the waterfront about 4 blocks from the center business district. It has been recently refurbished in a modern motif. The lounge and dining room overlook the harbor, as do some of the rooms. Staff was very accommodating. Our room had hardwood floor and lacked toiletries (as do many Norway hotels), but did have a small refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Room lighting was good; windows open. Bathroom was nice size, with walk-in shower. Room rate includes an evening meal (bountiful--easy to make a full dinner from the wide selection), plus an adequate breakfast, both served in the dining room. The only noise encountered was from the gulls outside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harstad
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 5 in Harstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Harstad
Scandic Harstad
#3 of 5 in Harstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.3 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Bogen Hostel
Bogen Hostel
#1 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#2 of 3 in Harstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tjeldsundbrua Camping
Tjeldsundbrua Camping
#1 of 1 in Evenskjer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Address: Havnegata 3, Harstad 9404, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See you soon at this unique hotel gem in central Harstad. Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus is located by the old harbour, with sea and mountain views. And if you're hungry, we serve a complimentary mid-afternoon snack and evening meal. Our treat! (Limited # of rooms for pets available, please contact the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Harstad
Harstad Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing