We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, nice stay”
Review of Sydspissen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sydspissen Hotel
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Troms
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a great 5 day stay in this hotel. It is true it is not in the city centre, but the buses are good and reliable (bus stop is at a two-minute walking, buses passes very 20 minutes until midnight and it is a 15 min ride to city center).
The location of the hotel, beside the lake, is incredible. Walking by the side of the beach was mavellous. Plus, the hotel has free coffe and tea for guests, and though the do not serve lunch or dinner, we could use the dinning room for having sandwiches and even ordering pizzas.
there is a huge supermarket really close where to buy things to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is situated just outside of the town. It is clean and comfortable with lovely warm rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet included in the price. The dining room is open throughout the day for tea and coffee and to warm up food purchased in the town. The staff are friendly and helpful no matter the time of day.

Despite heavy rain and cloud during the time we stayed here, we saw the aurora from the grounds of the hotel.

It was a home away fro home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visited Tromso in mid-March. We had stayed in a downtown hotel for a night after we arrived by a Hurtigruten ship. Then we moved to Sydspissen mainly because we heard that it's possible to see the Northern Lights from the hotel room. We asked for a room facing the fjord, and did see a weak display in the second night, a nice addition to our beautiful memory from a light chasing tour in the previous night.

This hotel is clean and quiet. It is not new or luxury, but all facilities are conveniently set for tourists like us, and the restaurant has a great view. The location is indeed not in downtown, but that's exactly what we wanted. With a bus day-pass (70 NOK per person), we moved around the town without a problem. The bus needed like 10~15 minutes wait each time. When we left it snowed and we took a taxi for 220 NOK to the airport. One last point I wish to emphasize is that the staffs are helpful and friendly, really friendly, not "professionally friendly".

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 25/2/14 - 1/3 /14 myself husband and 12 yo daughter. The hotel was exactly as we expected , its not luxury , but its clean and warm and for Norway prices is quite a bargain. 3 single beds, small table and 3 chairs , TV ,some storage space ( not loads) shower room - powerful and hot shower. Breakfast was cereal , breads, jam , meats , salads and boiled eggs, fresh fruit juices , teas /coffees etc. You have access to the hot drinks machine all day till 11pm ish and there is also a microwave and toaster - we did make use of this on one day before an aurora trip. The co op is about a 10 min walk - they have ready meals etc and crampons ! We took our own duty free as alcohol is at a premium. We saw the lights from the small beach area on our second night. Hotel staff helpful , cleaning of the room was more of a tidy than a thorough clean but it didn't cleaning as such a a short trip. Ladies you can borrow a hairdryer. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here , we did have a hire car which I think would be useful if staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Sydspissen Hotel hoping for the Northern Lights. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town and requires one to catch a bus to get to it.

The room itself is a little rundown and basic but has an amazing view of the seafront.
The breakfast buffet is continental style and has a good choice, try the freshly baked bread.
Request a hairdryer from the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room round the back of the hotel... you'll be amazed when the sunrises :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icequeenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel similar to a Premier Inn (UK). Our room was large, 3 beds, a couple of chairs and tables, flat screen TV. A good walk in shower. Reception is 24 hours with helpful staff, free hot drinks from the breakfast drinks machine, excellent benefit as Norway is expensive, approximately 3x more expensive.Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice cereals, breads, cold meats and cheese, yogurt, preserves, eggs, - do not expect cooked breakfasts!

The location is also superb with wonderful views of the lakes and mountains, a 20 minute walk from town centre, or 10 minutes on the bus, regular service. It is only 5 minutes from the university with the Tromso museum a must for a visit, also there is a good student cafe with cheaper food and drinks. A large supermarket is 5 minutes walk away as is a pizza and burger bar.

I would definitely select this hotel as an excellent base for exploring Tromso, it is considerably cheaper than Hotels in town, our room was approximately £95 a night for 3 of us including breakfast.

See my Tromso review for what to see and do.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the water for amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Seeing the northern lights was a long term goal achieved after a seven night stay in the Sydspissen Hotel. I had stayed in Iceland for seven nights and went on three bus trips chasing the northern lights without success a couple of years ago. The information I seen on Tripadvisor from tourists helped me decide on visiting Tromso and staying at the Sydspissen Hotel. Firstly getting to the hotel, as previous tourists have said, getting the bus from airport - if using regular bus, there is no. 40 or 42. If the 42, it will go into a tunnel within minutes of leaving airport for around 3 -4 kilometres. At first stop after tunnel get off (Polaria stop) and cross road to get bus in opposite direction, No. 34. on this bus for around 10 minutes. When you see a large shop - COOP - on your right, get off. Sydspissen is 5 minute walk up from this store and clearly signposted on same side of the road. Can get 24 hour bus ticket for 100 Kr from bus driver, or in town centre in Narvesteen shop you can get a 2,4, or 7 day bus ticket. I got the seven day one for 250 Kr on the next day. The tourist information centre in the town centre will advise on where this shop is located (near Peppe Pizza in main square). The terminus for No. 34 bus is outside the tourist office. Sydspissen Hotel is very warm inside, staff friendly and helpful and room was basic but comfortable with ensuite, phone, tv and fridge. Room was cleaned every day and dining room spotless. Breakfast was good and plentiful - fresh breads and rolls, hard and soft boiled eggs, selection of cold meats and cheeses, chopped fruit, cereals, apple and orange juice, selection of teas, coffees. Toaster and microwave available all day along with coffee selection / teas. Guests could use dining room with own food later in the day, local Coop store good for frozen meals, breads, meats etc. On day one I was very tired after travelling, check in at Gatwick at 4am, but went down town to get 7pm mass in Our Lady's church off Storgata street. on return to hotel around 8.30pm I got first view of the northern lights a display that went on for almost three hours. It was amazing, everything I had read about and then even better. Later around midweek I seen them briefly again shortly after midnight for around 30 minutes. On the last night of my stay I again went to 7pm mass and then went to walk on beach, for a couple of hours and for the third time saw the lights. This display was the best one by far, from around 9pm for 45 minutes and later I looked out of hotel window at 11.30pm and watched another 2 hours of brilliant display in the sky. As there was a couple of armchairs in room and pushed beside radiator under window made for perfect viewing in a warm room. This location is excellent for viewing the lights, as I seen them 3 out of the 7 nights I stayed there. At the back of the hotel there is a coastal walk in each direction which is very pleasant during the day time, but you would need a torch at night time. The lack of street lighting makes it easier to see the northern light due to lack of light pollution. The mainland of Norway with snow capped mountains, across the water makes for beautiful scenery from back of hotel. In Tromso there are several good museums to visit, a large shopping centre near the airport (bus no 34 outside hotel goes to this shopping centre - Jekka shopping centre in opposite direction to town centre) also just travelling on the local busses around the island and onto the next island via the no. 42 bus - beyond airport created photographic opportunities. Local ferry between islands for 177Kr round trip from 7am to 9am, information from tourist information office allows for more great photographs but you will miss your breakfast and it is quite cold but worth it. Hope the above is helpful,

Room Tip: When booking request a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troms hotels
19.9 mi away
Malangen Resort
Malangen Resort
#1 of 1 in Nordby
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#5 of 18 in Tromso
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.8 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydspissen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydspissen Hotel

Address: Strandvegen 166, 9006, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Troms
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydspissen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sydspissen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing