We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
58
98
37
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
98
37
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread the bus yogurt northern lights the hotel staff city centre boiled eggs minute walk basic hotel beautiful location aurora borealis bring your own self service hot food twin room staff were friendly and helpful fjord
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 203 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is situated just outside of the town. It is clean and comfortable with lovely warm rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet included in the price. The dining room is open throughout the day for tea and coffee and to warm up food purchased in the town. The staff are friendly and helpful no matter the time of day.

Despite heavy rain and cloud during the time we stayed here, we saw the aurora from the grounds of the hotel.

It was a home away fro home.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visited Tromso in mid-March. We had stayed in a downtown hotel for a night after we arrived by a Hurtigruten ship. Then we moved to Sydspissen mainly because we heard that it's possible to see the Northern Lights from the hotel room. We asked for a room facing the fjord, and did see a weak display in the second night, a nice addition to our beautiful memory from a light chasing tour in the previous night.

This hotel is clean and quiet. It is not new or luxury, but all facilities are conveniently set for tourists like us, and the restaurant has a great view. The location is indeed not in downtown, but that's exactly what we wanted. With a bus day-pass (70 NOK per person), we moved around the town without a problem. The bus needed like 10~15 minutes wait each time. When we left it snowed and we took a taxi for 220 NOK to the airport. One last point I wish to emphasize is that the staffs are helpful and friendly, really friendly, not "professionally friendly".

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 25/2/14 - 1/3 /14 myself husband and 12 yo daughter. The hotel was exactly as we expected , its not luxury , but its clean and warm and for Norway prices is quite a bargain. 3 single beds, small table and 3 chairs , TV ,some storage space ( not loads) shower room - powerful and hot shower. Breakfast was cereal , breads, jam , meats , salads and boiled eggs, fresh fruit juices , teas /coffees etc. You have access to the hot drinks machine all day till 11pm ish and there is also a microwave and toaster - we did make use of this on one day before an aurora trip. The co op is about a 10 min walk - they have ready meals etc and crampons ! We took our own duty free as alcohol is at a premium. We saw the lights from the small beach area on our second night. Hotel staff helpful , cleaning of the room was more of a tidy than a thorough clean but it didn't cleaning as such a a short trip. Ladies you can borrow a hairdryer. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here , we did have a hire car which I think would be useful if staying here.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Sydspissen Hotel hoping for the Northern Lights. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town and requires one to catch a bus to get to it.

The room itself is a little rundown and basic but has an amazing view of the seafront.
The breakfast buffet is continental style and has a good choice, try the freshly baked bread.
Request a hairdryer from the reception.

Room tip: Ask for a room round the back of the hotel... you'll be amazed when the sunrises :)
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icequeenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel similar to a Premier Inn (UK). Our room was large, 3 beds, a couple of chairs and tables, flat screen TV. A good walk in shower. Reception is 24 hours with helpful staff, free hot drinks from the breakfast drinks machine, excellent benefit as Norway is expensive, approximately 3x more expensive.Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice cereals, breads, cold meats and cheese, yogurt, preserves, eggs, - do not expect cooked breakfasts!

The location is also superb with wonderful views of the lakes and mountains, a 20 minute walk from town centre, or 10 minutes on the bus, regular service. It is only 5 minutes from the university with the Tromso museum a must for a visit, also there is a good student cafe with cheaper food and drinks. A large supermarket is 5 minutes walk away as is a pizza and burger bar.

I would definitely select this hotel as an excellent base for exploring Tromso, it is considerably cheaper than Hotels in town, our room was approximately £95 a night for 3 of us including breakfast.

See my Tromso review for what to see and do.

Room tip: Second floor overlooking the water for amazing views.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews