We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Sydspissen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sydspissen Hotel
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Troms
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in Sydspissen Hotel, perfect location to watch Northern Lights and fjord, the room was basic but clean and helpful staff.

The breakfast had no any choice and the services time finished at 09:30am which is too early.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    81
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
57
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights two weeks ago. We were on a mission to see the Northern lights and we were not dissapointed. Saw them from hotel window the first night (2am) and ran to the beautiful beach to watch and take photos!
Our room was twin bedded, basic but functional. Fridge, tv. clean bathroom and plenty of towels. Housekeeping came after 2nd day. Window overlooked the fjord and mountains...Beautiful!
The walk into town took about 25 mins. Right outside the hotel however is a bus stop, one direction to town the other takes you to the airport. perfect!
The staff are second to none!! Helpful, friendly nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast included in our room rate was lovely.Typical Norweigen fayre! I got to love the brown cheese!!
Would definatly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Absolutely loved my stay in this hotel. Its location is perfect for seeing the Northern Lights. Out of the 3 nights we stayed, we successfully saw them on two nights. The morning scenery was also great, as it is located just on the side of a beautiful fjord. The hotel rooms were basic, dont expect much but functional. Beds were good and showers was ok too. The hotel staff were also very friendly. Recommended for anyone seeking a good and relatively cheap hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaeNyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sydspissen last week and it's fairly basic but great value for money....excellent breakfast, very friendly staff and the whole place very clean. warm and a joy to stay at.

When we go back to Tromso this hotel will be the one we stay at.......and yes we have stayed in the town in named hotels but the Sydspissen beats them all.....!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmdgwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice location with a splendid view... if you have a good time you can see the Northern Lights directly from your room window. You can quietly enjoy your coffee or breakfast while watching through the dining hall windows. The staff very friendly and helpful, and food is good. The rooms are clean and confortable. We were satisfied by our stay here and we will recomend it. If you book here ask for a room with a fjord view. The hotel is situated about 20 -30 meters on the shores of the fjord, 10 min. from the airport, 5 min from the old center. If you arrive there without any idea to what to do in Tromso or nearby, you will find enough informations on reception, about place to visit, excursions, things to do in your spare time.

Room Tip: ask for a room with fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, good value for money for Norway. The room was good, clean, warm and cosy. There is wifi everywhere and view is beautiful, you can see the fjords and mountains. That is really nuce. The breakfast was ok, not perfect but this is ok for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troms hotels
1.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
449 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.6 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
4.0 mi away
Pingvinhotellet UNN Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydspissen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydspissen Hotel

Property: Sydspissen Hotel
Address: Strandvegen 166, 9006, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Troms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydspissen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sydspissen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing