We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, clean room but no soul”
Review of Scandic Narvik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Narvik
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

You cannot miss the hotel driving into Narvik. Unfortunately, we arrived on a weekend/eve of a public holiday and all the stores around the area were closed.
Check-in was fuss-free, efficient. Room was clean, modern.Breakfast spread was ok, but when we had to clear dirty plates on our table, get our own cutlery, etc. It looked like a big group just left and the tables were not cleared and cleaned promptly. No one greeted us, so warm smiles, no hellos, no good mornings. The front desk operated pretty much the same way -- we never felt welcome. Thankfully, we only stayed for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norhaida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

You won't have any trouble finding this place, it's a landmark and a modern architectural highlight in the centre of the town. The lobby and dining room are very bright and open, and the breakfast selection is really good and includes a nice ginger-flavoured drink in small cups marked 'Gud morgen.'
Our room (no.903) was very clean and had a panoramic view of the town and the snow-capped mountain behind. We had a superbly comfortable bed with pillow menu and bedside reading lights as we have come to expect from Rica hotels, a bar fridge, TV (the only English news channel was BBC World), very good free wifi and a kettle, but no safe. The curtains made the room dark enough for us to sleep through the midnight sun.
The bathroom was really nice and had good quality soap (as well as soap and shampoo dispensers), fluffy towels and almost instant hot water, but one of the two lights above the hand basin appeared not to work.
We had some difficulty getting the lift to work with our magnetic card key, and some other guests had the same problem.
The location is really central, and there is a supermarket about 250m away across the railway bridge. There is a Chinese restaurant diagonally across the road from the hotel, but it was closed on Mondays so we couldn't try it. The War Museum is less than 100m past the restaurant, and is worth a visit; it will move into a new building under construction in front of the hotel in 2015.
This hotel is as good as it gets in its price class, and we would look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the town, mountain and fjord (like room 903). Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a very modern looking hotel near the centre of Narvik and close to a large shopping centre. The rooms are a good size. There is a great view from the 16th floor. Excellent free wi-fi and very friendly staff make you feel welcome.
The Buffet brreakfast is excellent

Room Tip: Get one up high as the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Reception check in good and friendly staff .We managed to get a room on the top floor Views were amazing Bed very comfortable .Bathroom with all amenities. Good Restaurant with fine food.Shopping centre around the corner What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a new hotel in the very city center of Narvik.

The walls in rooms are made of huge panoramic windows which offer all the guests an awesome view no matter which room they are given.

Good and varied complimentary breakfast. Excellent and friendly service in both the restaurant and the lobby.

Free Wi-Fi in rooms.

Panorama bar in the very top of the hotel.

A public parking house in connection of the hotel. The parking fee was 100 NOK for 24 hours.

A warm recommendation!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sigurd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Actually stayed there July 2012 when they just opened 2 Month earlier. Not disappointed, everything was fresh and really worth it (other older hotel in Narvik is in same price range). Room is spacious and bathroom very clean, the color scheme of the room makes you feel extra welcoming.

The breakfast,, yes the wide selection of salmons, this is the highlight in our stay.

The hotel is not near the train station (15 minute walk) but the shuttle bus station is just around the corner as well as the main shopping mall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel has a charming interior decor, modern and very cozy. We like the big poster hung inside the room.
Situated in the heart of Narvik town centre, bus and train station is within walking distance.
The Bar located at the top floor with a panoramic view is the best thing this hotel could offer.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Siumun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvik
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Royal
0.2 mi away
Breidablikk Gjestehus
Breidablikk Gjestehus
#3 of 10 in Narvik
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Narvik Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Narvik Hotel
Narvik Hotel
#6 of 10 in Narvik
14 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bjerkvik Hotell
Bjerkvik Hotell
#1 of 1 in Bjerkvik
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astrup Gjestegard
Astrup Gjestegard
#1 of 2 in Narvik
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Narvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Narvik

Address: Kongens gate 33, Narvik 8514, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Narvik)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Narvik Municipality > Narvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Narvik 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Narvik is the city's most modern hotel. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in northern Norway and has an exciting exterior of sloping glass supported by two towers. Our sky bar, Totta Bar on the 16th floor has a panoramic view over Narvik and Ofotfjorden and our Tind restaurant, which is one of the top restaurant in Narvik, serves breakfast and an exclusive dinner menu. With 8 meeting rooms, the largest of which can accommodate up to 175 participants, our hotel is great for business travelers. Parking is available just next door for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Narvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing