We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Grand Royal
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We couldn’t recommend this hotel. While it is located within a reasonable walking distance from the train station, it had little going for it.

Renovations were being carried out, although we got the impression these had been going on for some years. The front had not been completed and there was only a dirt track to wheel up our cases. The desk staff were friendly and helpful, but the room was tatty and run down, even though it appeared to have been recently renovated (the workmanship was very poor). The room was of an adequate size - clean, but extremely hot. It was difficult to get fresh air or cool the room down. The bathroom was dark and not very clean and had the shower over the bath, a problem for people with mobility difficulties.

We ate at the hotel restaurant. This was all dark wood with little light and looked like it hadn't been changed from the 70s. The paper menu was tatty and dirty and the service was slow. Even though pork was on the menu the restaurant didn’t have any! The offered fish was OK but just. The food was expensive and for what we ate did not justify the price. IMHO a 1 star establishment, and overpriced at that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is undergoing a huge building programme. The front steps would not pass English health and safety requirements, I am not disabled just have an arthritic knee but I needed help up and down. Our room though clean was obviously a victim of 'let's leave it until after the refurb'. The handle had been ripped off one of our windows which wouldn't open. the airconditioning wasn't adjustable, the bath plug had no chain and was almost impossible to remove, we gave up trying the day we left. The towels, although clean, were threadbare.
My advice is to keep away until the renovations are finished.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed one night on a cosmos tour. Good sized room. Comfortable beds. Extra pillows. Jug in room. Wireless Internet in room. Great view of lake and mountains. Breakfast quite good range.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

But nice staff and a good brekfast. The restaurant "rallarn" serve you a great meal..i liked the staff at rallaren too :)

The hotel rom was to hot in the summer and noisy in room facing the street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69grNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

a sentral place. Looks like from the outside to be from eastern europa. Inside a litle bit better. I shall not say something more about about how it looks. But tell you about the resturant "rallarn" at the hotel. Here you will find narvik worst hamburger called "narvik burger" i woud rate it 1 of 6 point. And it is the towns most exspensive. The meat used in this burger can not contain more than 70 %meat. What the rest is ?only the chef knows. Salat ok. Bread a joke. What about the rest of the food? Well a litle bit better ofcourse. Dont get fouled that the hotel has to place to eat at night. It only one kitchen. John the traveller

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnthetravelernarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This hotel has a name that makes your expectations a bit high... but hold your horses; it is a quite ok hotel centrally located in Narvik, nothing more. My room was small, but had what I needed; bed, desk, sitting chair, tv, window that could open, sufficient bathroom. Extra pillow in the closet, free internet. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of food. The staff was very friendly and nice. The restaurant next door (Rallaren) had great fish, and is recommended. A bit pricy, but nice food. (The Scandinavian tapas were good, but portions were very small. Main course great.) All in all, an ok place to stay when you're in Narvik.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We were undertaking an independent tour of Norway by public transport, and needed somewhere to stay overnight in Narvik after a lunchtime arrival on the overnight train from Stockholm and prior to catching the 7am bus the next morning for Fauske and then the train to Trondheim. This hotel seemed to meet the bill because of its location, and the shortage of suitable alternatives, so we booked it despite the price, and some not altogether complimentary reviews on Trip Advisor!

I consider that the price was extortionate for a room without breakfast in a hotel that on the outside was totally lacking in charm and character, and on the inside could at best and charitably be described as faded elegance, or perhaps more accurately, tatty.

On arrival in a somewhat bedraggled state (having walked the short distance from the railway station in pouring rain) and probably looking like back-packers without a tent. we were greeted as though we had no right to be there when I indicated that we had a reservation in our name (as Mr & Mrs).

For some reason which I have never fathomed, for this reservation through Expedia it had been recorded in my wife's name as the lead booking, despite a number of others being in my name. Accordingly it appears that the receptionist (who was quite officious) had expected 2 women or a woman and younger family member. Once it was established that the booking was for us and my wife was the lead booking she suddenly switched to automatic mode and welcomed us to the hotel!!!!

We did not sample the delights of the restaurant, as again the prices were astronomical for an evening meal with a very limited menu, and we had to leave before breakfast. For our evening meal we instead had a pizza at the nearby Peppe's Pizza in the store centre.

If I were to return to Narvik and could avoid staying the night in the town, I would. There is nothing wrong with the town as such despite the iron ore trade, but I would not stay here again and I didn't establish anywhere better and available for our particular circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvik
0.3 mi away
Scandic Narvik
Scandic Narvik
#1 of 10 in Narvik
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breidablikk Gjestehus
Breidablikk Gjestehus
#3 of 10 in Narvik
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Narvik
Thon Hotel Narvik
#4 of 10 in Narvik
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Narvik Hotel
Narvik Hotel
#6 of 10 in Narvik
15 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bjerkvik Hotell
Bjerkvik Hotell
#1 of 1 in Bjerkvik
39 reviews
12.7 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Royal

Address: Kongens gate 64 | PO Box 304, Narvik 8514, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Narvik Municipality > Narvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Price Range: $128 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Grand Royal er en av Nord-Norges største kurs- og konferansehotell beliggende nord i Narvik. Kun ett minutt fra togstasjonen og tre minutter fra Narvikfjellet alpinanlegg. Hotellets fleksible konferanseavdeling har kapasitet på inntil 600 personer fordelt på 11 møtelokaler med kongresshallen "Royal Hall" som den største. Hotellet har to restauranter. Ved siden av resepsjonen finner du Rallar'n Pub og Kro. En utmerket restaurant hvor du kan nyte enkle og gode retter. Vårt nyeste tilskudd til hotellet er Linken Restaurant & Bar. Linken er plassert på taket av hotellet og omtales som vår skybar. I restauranten vil du få eksklusive matretter i tillegg til byens beste utsikt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Narvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing