We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Northern lights and friendly people”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ARCTIC CABINS Bodo

The Arctic Cabins
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Arctic Cabins
Winter November 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The Arctic Cabins
Winter
November 2015
Restaurant
Meeting facilities
The Sauna
The Sauna from the outside
Dog sledding in the winter night
Fun for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bodo, Nordland, Northern Norway

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jamielyn...
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Northern lights and friendly people”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We almost didn't make it here because of it is a little off of the train station and Bodo airport. I had contacted Tor via TripAdvisor and he helped to coordinate pickup from the train station in Rognan and ride from the cabins to the airport on our way out. I was traveling with my husband, parents, and my 4-year old; so for a fee he coordinated a large enough transport for the 5 of us with a car seat for the little one. Once he did that, I was quick to jump on booking the cabins as I feel like it was exactly the type of experience I wanted in trying to view the northern lights. We saw lights above our cabin both nights we were there, and it was amazing. Make sure to have a tripod and a good camera because you won't be able to catch it on your phone. Our days were some of the most relaxing in Scandinavia, because we just had time to kill before staying up for the lights again. We also did the dog sledding with Lise and family, which was a highlight to our vacation. They are an amazing family and we all really enjoyed spending time with them. The rest of the time we took short hikes up to the ridge line or around the small lake there. It's a beautiful property. The cabins were clean and warm. The cabin had a toilet and sink, but since we were 5 we also used the shared bathrooms in the cabin across. The public bathrooms were also warm and clean, and had a washer and showers inside. The restaurant is not open off season or for small groups, but one of the hosts took us to the grocery to pick up food for our time there. The local grocery is a short drive away, but pretty well stocked- we were able to find Norwegian fare like moose and elk sausages, bruonst (brown cheese), fresh baked breads, instant ramen noodles (perfect for cold nights) and even a Daim cake that I brought back to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our last night, the friendly hosts Stanislaus and Yuri started a fire in the restaurant cabin and opened the bar for us. We drank and shared stories of life and travel over some birthday cake, and kept checking outside for the northern lights. It was a great night with all of them. Tor was great with corresponding to any question or concern I may have, and was quick with his responses. The wi-fi can be a little slow at times in our cabin, but I had better reception in front of the restaurant cabin. In our Scandinavian vacation to 4 countries, this was my favorite part of the trip. People were so friendly and the atmosphere was so amazing. I'm so glad that we ended up booking this and would love to come back again and spend more time in northern Norway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendliness of everyone involved
Liked least: The restaurant not being open was inconvenient because we didn't come with enough groceries
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
548jr
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful base for hiking, fishing, etc.”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

These cabins are perfect as a base camp for hiking and fishing in the summer. They would be even more fun in the winter as there are nordic and alpine hills within walking distance as well as sled dog options. I'm guessing the northern lights would be perfect. Moose wonder the area at dusk and there are a few cute towns within 10 min driving (make sure you have cash as Misvær doesn't have a cash machine or easy credit card use). We especially loved the sauna and fire pit. We loved Tor and his wonderful nordic cabins!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thanks Julie! Hope to see you and Mike again. Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larissaka...
Belem, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cabins and great host!”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

It was an excellent experience! We stayed for a week with no car and it was still great! The host helped us with everything! With his help, we went to the market, we did dog sledding, hunt the northern lights and even saw it from the cabins! It was an unforgettable week! I miss it!

Traveling group: Com amigos
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah b
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed during uk half term couple with 6 yr and 11 year the most exciting and yet relaxing holiday we have ever had. Kitch warm cabins with lovely comfortable beds and bedding good selecting of cooking equipment for 2 ring hob toilet with sink in and a central large dinning table just perfect we all slept well. They do selected meals when busy which not only were delicious but served in a wonderful restaurant with a big open fire which they cook or keep food hot . There is only 1 choice but seconds are readily available we had lamb and beef both of which were Devine. The bonus was an excellent ski resort only 8 mins walk away £18 to hire everything per day no fees for the nursery slope we were taught how to cross country ski by the owner and his family what a wonderful experience we borrowed their skis and practiced for 2 days the highlight - husky sledging and pony riding in the snow one will have have booked again next year we saw the northern lights from a friends cabin in the hill top which we reach by snow mobiles in the dark my brother who's an astronomer would have loved it. We saw wild rabbits moose reign deer eagles and many other birds. Every day more toboggans sledges appeared which we all took great delight in using. There is also a sauna available when the cabins are busy . Would we go again ? Already booked for next year with family a fantastic winter destination the year after we are going during the Summer to make the most of the wildlife canoeing hiking and the Norwegians kind helpful fun and very welcoming what a holiday ticked lots on all of our bucket list go now before others spoil it wouldn't change anything except for the car hire we are getting a 4x4 and staying longer as ski slope only open weekends except for Norwegian school holidays when it's open all week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you Sarah. We enjoyed you and your familys company and already looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Best regards, Tor Olav
Co-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanieri
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaCan...
Arezzo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing