We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skagen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Skagen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Naples, Italy
1 review
“not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

lacking in pretty much every respect - service, the room and the breakfast. we were far better off staying at the Rica hotel in Bodo the week before, for much the same price. more attractive location too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xana99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
31
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
429 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

As I recall this hotel was cheaper than the other options and good considering that you are in Bodo.

Parking on the street across from the hotel.

Very adequate breakfast. Fruit bowl, coffee, and tea available in the library all day. Waffles in the evening in the library which wound up being our dinner where fast food meals start at $15.

Rooms clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I went here for a small conference. My room was rather nondescript and slightly on the outdated side. The bathroom in particular is very old-fashioned. Good bed, though, and clean room. A little noise came through from the street, but I guess that's what I get for opting to sleep with the window open...

The conference facilities, though, are spectacular in parts of the hotel. We were a small group and got to use one of the hotel's suites for our conference. Where else can you watch eagles cruise in the skies from the conference room? Incredibly service minded personnel, too - we had a slight problem with the Wi-Fi-access, and they put heaven and earth in motion to rectify the issue. Good food for lunch, too, and central location in Bodø.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
709 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel again (not my choice) and this time for a longer time, I must say that my opinion of the hotel has turned to the better. What have changed since the last time then?
* I've no stayed a couple of time in their twin bed rooms and must say that they are better than the single bed rooms. The shower is much larger and more well designed.
* Some of the twin bed rooms are still small, but they are for sure larger/person than the single bed rooms.
* The light dinner are free and served with some hot food as well from monday to thursday. This is REALLY good value!
* The parking are free on designated spots outside the hotel. Get your parking permit in the lobby.
* The personnel are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

My fiancee and I stayed in this hotel for one night 13-14 July 2007 on our way to the Lofoten Islands. We couldn't find any ratings for it here on TripAdvisor, but we took the chance anyway.

The hotel is 10 minutes cab-ride from the airport and just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Bodo. So nothing at all wrong with the location.

Check-in was quick and friendly, but we were rather confused when we were told we had to go through an underground tunnel to the other building where our room would be.

The room (119) was quite small, as was the bathroom (it had a hair dryer though). The cleanliness and state of the room was not up to scratch. We found an empty liquor bottle in one of the drawers, the curtains were not 100% working, and I found a french fry in the bed the next morning. The mini-bar was missing a few items upon our arrival as well. In addition one of the mattresses was quite uncomfortable as you could feel the springs in your back.

The highlight of the stay was the breakfast the morning after. They had a good selection of typical Norwegian breakfast toppings, nice bread and a good selection of cold and hot drinks.

We were both quite disappointed with Skagen Hotel, and would try to stay somewhere else if we are ever back in Bodo.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodo hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Havet
Scandic Havet
#2 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Nordlys
Thon Hotel Nordlys
#4 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo
0.2 mi away
Bodo Hotell
Bodo Hotell
#6 of 11 in Bodo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotell
City Hotell
#9 of 11 in Bodo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skagen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skagen Hotel

Property: Skagen Hotel
Address: Nyholmsgata 11, Bodo 8005, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skagen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome til Skagen Hotel, a unique hotel with the best service. Located near the city centre of Bodo our guests can walk to the city's wide range of coffeeshops, shopping and public transport such as bus, boat, train and plane. All of our 71 rooms has WLAN, cableTV, coffee and teamaker. Every weekday except the summerseason we serve fresh waffles in our reception, and in our diningroom we have supper for all our guests. In the reception we also have fresh fruit and coffee all days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Skagen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing