We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating force of nature”
Review of Saltstraumen

Saltstraumen
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating force of nature”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A must if you're going to visit the Saltstraumen: Check the local timetable for when the tide turns! You could miss it and then it's just a body of water under the bridge. But if you get there on time (about halv hour drive from Bodø center) hten you become fascinated by the force of water going out and in and round and round. However, after about 15 minutes you might want to move on. There should be more information at the site as well as more benches. Info to be found at the parking lot, but should be at the site. Other than that, there are no lavatories, cafe or anything - just nature.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1302travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    142
    43
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oreon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good sometimes”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have viewed Saltstraumen twice. The first time we visited a few ago it was fantastic. The turmoil in the water was fascinating and well worth the drive from Bodo. This last summer (2013) we must have just missed the tide and it just swirled a bit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubborn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“RIB Safari Boat”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Four times each day the Saltstraumen tidal current forces water into and out of a narrow strait. Twice a day as the water rushes under the Saltstraumen bridge toward the sea, whirlpools form. This is an incredible sight to watch take place and is very exciting when experienced from a RIb boat "close and up front" in the water. I shared this experience with fellow passengers as I sailed with Hurtigruten from Bergen to Kirkenes and return. This is an experience I would recommend. All required equipment was furnished and I felt safe at all times. We had a marvelous driver.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hmmbirdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Salstraumen”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Definitely worth seeing if you are up in this area, but I wouldn't go too far out of my way, especially if you have seen in BC, Canada similar attractions. We got there at the right time and first of all went under the bridge , and then drove 1 km down the side of inlet. The force of water and the surging whirlpools was pretty impressive. It was raining, cold and lunchtime so the café /restaurant on the northern side provided a good spot to watch the ever changing water and tourist boats and a reasonable lunch as well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must see in Bodø!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I grew up by this fabulous attraction, fishing from my grandpa's boat in the middle of the stream. And it still amazes me whenever I go to see it or driving across the bridge over this troubled water. You can just watch or go rafting or fishing here. But you must go if you ever visit Bodø!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltstraumen also viewed

 

Been to Saltstraumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing