We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view from our hotel room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Bodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Bodo
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view from our hotel room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had a great view from our corner room. The breakfast that came included in the price was probably the best breakfast layout that I've ever seen. The room was very big compared to what we thought we may get. We were able to use the hotels bikes to bike around town some. The front desk personnel were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

The only 2 complaints I had was the shower, there wasn't a good way of not getting water on the floor because there was no shower curtain - just a glass panel that was attached to the wall and the bed was actually 2 beds just put together - they kept coming apart.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for this helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    89
    75
    34
    12
See reviews for
37
84
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had booked the superior room.Stayed one saturday night. The room no was 423,one of the best room with sea view,possible to see midnight sun from room.The frontdesk girls were very good and helpful.They were very proactive to guide about Bodø attractions.In the hotel the breakfast was ordinary .wifi connection was ok.One thing that I had not liked was toile.The location was near to the bed and there was no guard for shower,water can come out of the toilet to the room.The toilet was very old fashioned.minibar was not clean and was almost broken.The sound insulation in the room was very poor that i can not able to sleep properly due to loud sound from night club.Overall experience is ok,location is very near to central.

Room Tip: Always book superior room with sea face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel lobby, we had high expectations of our room. However, it was quite a disappointment. We stayed in a junior suite: It was dated, and had absolutely no view. Our windows faced another building, an office I think. Glad it was a weekend so we could keep our windows open for ventilation.
Breakfast spread was quite good. An elderly service staff who attended to us was extremely helpful even though she spoke no English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norhaida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your feedback. Your opinions are taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I travelled here with a co-worker on business and we ordered a Jnr Suite as the price difference for this and a supeious room were close at the time.

Room: the toom was large and had a seperate sleeping area, 2 large sofa's and a dining area. The room had a decent standard but not as good as I had expected for a jnr suite.
The barhroom was a waste of space. Although big, the large vacuum area was a complete waste. The shower was old. The whole room needed an upgrade as it was old.

The view from the room was out towards the ocean but nothing too spectacular.

Service; was very good. Very friendly and helpful receptionist.

Gym; was pathetic. I would reccommend to the hotel to just remove it. It is actually an insult to call it a gym. 1 weight machine, 1 bike (broken) and a big ball. Laughable.

Location; was good. Nice and central to everything by foot.

Food; The breakfast was good as usual for the chain. Plenty to choose from and fresh.

Conclusion; if you are looking for a average place to stay, go for it. But don't expect too much and don't bother with an upgrade. And do not expect any sort of gym.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your feedback. Your opinions are taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotel: Slightly dated but renovated bathrooms

Room: Our room was a mini-suite with double bed and extra sofabed, nice. However, no view, only backyard, not so nice. Good beds, so we slept well.

Breakfast: Excellent with a good range of cold and warm dishes, fruits, vegetables and soft drinks, but not up to the standard that many other Rica hotels now have.

Location: Central, metered street parking (free between 4pm and 8am), a Thai restaurant next door has great food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jankph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The Rica Hotel is located in one of the most noisy streets of Bodø. There is a lot of car traffic, and be aware that people in Bodø run their cars on stud tires until May. Stud tires are extremely loud. Opposite the hotel there are night clubs and pubs. People are partying, and you cant sleep. If you chose to stay at Rica, you need a room that faces the sea. If they cant give you that, you are stucked with a loud street and drunk people partying all night, and no sleep at all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We have several different room types and also quiet rooms with sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The breakfast is great as it usually is at the Rica hotels. The rooms are old but clean. The conference facilities are mediocre at best. The lunch served was a disgrace. There are many hotels in this town and I will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetRove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricahotelbodo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bodo, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for this review. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodo hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Havet
Scandic Havet
#2 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Nordlys
Thon Hotel Nordlys
#4 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotell
City Hotell
#9 of 11 in Bodo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodo Hotell
Bodo Hotell
#6 of 11 in Bodo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bodo

Property: Scandic Bodo
Address: Sjoegata 23 | PO Box 608, Bodo 8006, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Bodo)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bodo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bodo has a unique location with the sea on one side and the city centre with shops and restaurants on the other. Start your day with breakfast in our hotel restaurant Bris. The restaurant can also offer lunch and dinner on request. For guests arriving by car there is a covered car park and if you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 220 participants. Our conference lounge area is ideal for exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. As a guest you'll have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Bodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Bodø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing