We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently stayed here for one night. The welcome at reception was very friendly, our room was spacious and well equipped, just slightly tired looking (the carpet had seen better days and some of the paintwork needed refreshing). We were on the 2nd floor (1st floor in the UK) on a corner & it was quiet enough. We were there when there was the midnight sun, the curtains were adequate to keep the light out.
What made this hotel good value was that both supper & breakfast are included in the price. There was a good buffet selection for both meals, which we enjoyed.
I would probably stay here again, although for me a sea view is part of my holiday, and we didn't have one due to the location of the hotel, there is nothing they can do about that though!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found the service and our concepts satisfactorily, although the great sea view was missing. We hope we see you again as guests with us, and wish you continued great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    184
    56
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
169
36
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Bodø is a reasonable big city, with big city problems. That is why i pick a hotel with a garage.

We have stayed here many times for the last 20 years. I am more happy with the hotel, than the Choice Nordic chain that the hotel belongs to.

They serve waffles in the afternoon from 3 PM, and a supper from 6 o'clock, both included. There is a departmentstore «Kochs» next door and we have been pestered by lorries early in the morning, not turning off the engines while unloading. This time we asked for a quiet room. We were given #111 which was nice and open to the inner court.

There are electic outlets to charge your growing number of gadgets, but to be perfect they should appear at my night table. The roof on the inner court could do with a waterhose to flush away seagull feathers and other debris.

Nothing wrong? Not really. I would give it 3 out of 5 stars. Remember; - There is no shortage of hotels naming themselves as 5 star, but «contributors to Tripadvisor» are not always that generous.

In recent years I have stayed in about 45 hotels each year. I have even been to Dubai, but that was before a certain hotel was erected.

Room Tip: #311 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear John B, thank you so much for you helpful and nice review! We are extremely pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your visit to Bodø, and hope we see you often with us in the future. We take your comment seriously, and look forward to welcoming you back again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Checkin was fast and efficient. Had requested a quiet room which I also got. Room was in good condition and renovated not long ago. However, bathroom seemed not to have been renovated.

Room had minibar with wine, beer etc + coffee/tea maker. However, only coffee cups were available. Not even the bathroom had glasses ! Very strange, had to use a coffee cup in the bathroom.

WIFI was free and worked well.

Breakfast was standard Norwegian, ok for my needs. However, did not like breakfast did not open before 7. I see not many hotels that opens so late anymore. Industry standard is 6:30 and this hotel should follow this.

All in all a good stay, but hotel should start to have glasses in the rooms + have breakfast earlier.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello, and thank you for the review! We are happy that you enjoyed our service. I'm really sorry that our procedures did not work properly during your stay. It goes without saying that there will be glass in the rooms, we deeply regret that you were not in your room. We thank you for taking you to give us this feedback, only then can we improve our practices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here while on a business trip, nice hotel. Be sure to check out the old mirror that was saved when the hotel has bombed in WWII. Stay is very nice, rooms are nice this was my first time out of the country so didm't know what to expect. Very clean hotel, it was a little loud at 3am due to the bars near by. Great local bars just ask the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember07152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokmarknes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel has a good standard, very nice and helpful persons working in the receptionarea. Its located in the middle of the city, and it was really good breakfsat and supper. I will go back there next time .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your great reply, we are happy that you enjoyed our service and hotel. You are warmly welcome til visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
544 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Yes wonderful friendly staff. Yes value in as much as a buffet supper is included in the evening. Yes the position is great, but Bodo is a big as a minute. Time needed to really look around is less than half a day.

But if you are looking for comfort and decent rooms this is not the place.

Rooms are old, dingy and have little amenities. One bed pillow which gave me a terrible back ache. One bath and one hand towel. Nothing to stand on. Liquid soap which had run out. That was it.

Not for me.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello, we are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Anyway I'm glad you found our concepts and service satisfactory, although your room was not what expected. I apologize for this and thank you nevertheless for taking you to give us feedback on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very good service and friendly staff at the front desk. Cosy and stylish rooms. Even though the hotel is old the rooms and bathrooms are very vell refurbished.
Excellent free evening buffet and good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tobo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear TOBO 1965, Thank you for your great feedback on your stay! We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and our concepts. We hope to see you soon again with us, you are warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodo hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Havet
Scandic Havet
#2 of 11 in Bodo
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Nordlys
Thon Hotel Nordlys
#4 of 11 in Bodo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bodo
Scandic Bodo
#7 of 11 in Bodo
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodo Hotell
Bodo Hotell
#6 of 11 in Bodo
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skagen Hotel
Skagen Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bodo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Address: Storgata 3, Bodo 8006, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bodo
Clarion Collection Grand Bodo
Bodø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing