We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the World”
Review of North Cape

North Cape
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Tavira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just about the furthest North you can go anywhere in the world. OK Point Barrow is just a touch further North, but much harder to get to. When you get here there is not much - just the fantastic view, and the thought that there is little but sea and ice between you and the North Pole. There is the Globe, and a monument outside, and inside the tourist centre is a café, shop and exhibitions include a Thai Museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    185
    49
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset, uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place that I have ever visited”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on the Hurtigruten voyage from Bergen to Kirkenes with the purpose of seeing the Northern Lights. We did see them several times. However the beauty of the North Cape was breathtaking.
We had a perfect sunny day and it was like being on the top of the world. The snow, the sky and the silence! I will never forget such a magical day. Our guide was superb, with lots of anecdotes
about his time growing up on the island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lyndorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“North Cape can be cold”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

North Cape, the most northerly point of the European mainland. In winter, it's cold - the batteries in my camera refused to work at -25 deg C, so don't recknon on taking photographs unless you've got a cold-proof camera.

It has the romantic feel of somewhere so remote, with nothing but cold air and ice between you and the North Pole. If you want to see the Northern Lights, go in winter but watch the calendar for moonrise and the full moon - bright moonlight overpowers the Lights, so go when there's no moon or it rises very late.
If you brave the cold, the winter light is fantastic - all muted colours, pale greens, pinks, oranges and blues, and the landscape is all the shades on grey you could imagine - from the near-white of the snow to the near-black of rocks.
Don't expect to be overwhelmed - apart from the feeling of sheer space! Just take time to soak in the colours in all their sublties. and remember, in winter, it's COLD.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank iancartwright344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Where the sky seems to meet the earth”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Our visit was during November 2012"" just days before the official start of the polar nights. The mountain drive was spectacular, overlooks of the seas, cliffs, the world. Because of the time of the year we have a magnificent midday sunset over the mountains and terrain glistening off the snow covered valleys. As we approached the visitors center at the North Cape the weather changed rapidly, one moment simply cold the next foggy with wind. Suggest one watch there step, as one our our group in her quest to reach the marker fell hard on the trail. Remaining on well marked areas important, going over the cliff physically would be terrible, but the view BEAUTIFUL. Explore the grounds, monuments, and well, stocked gift shop. The trolls were varied.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEXT STOP NORTH POLE!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A truly memorable place to visit. The snow was virgin white, the air crisp and clear and the only thing between us and the North Pole was 1300 miles - not too far considering it's the top of the world! It was in November 2012 when we visited at about 2.00 pm - the North Star highly visible as was the moon - a great trip :o) and a must do if you're in the vicinity.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angielahaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Cape also viewed

Honningsvag, Nordkapp Municipality
Nordkapp Municipality, Finnmark
 
Nordkapp Municipality, Finnmark
 

Been to North Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing